We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Inn

St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
+44 15394 43731
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“kebab” (107 reviews)
“mussels” (52 reviews)
“steak” (74 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Grill, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,771)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,741 - 1,750 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2011

Ate here and drank here many times. A very popular pub in the heart of bowness recently refurbished with rattan chairs and tables on a large terrace to the front of the pub. A good selection of real ales with a large selection of pub...More

Thank tomturbo
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I used to frequent the village in at least once a week. I have spent the last few months recommending this pub to everyone I spoke to....but never again. We ordered food, after an HOUR we get told there is a problem in the kitchen...More

Thank honestbunny
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

I cannot understand why this happened and I will be investigating the problem with the manager immediately. They did have a grill fire, which did cause some panic and confusion, but this was resolved as quickly as possible in the middle of a busy service....More

Reviewed 23 July 2011

Asked for 2 bag of crisps and was given 2 small boxes of crisps and charged £1.95 EACH. I was told by staff they were really nice ! they were no different to any other crisps apart from the ridiculous price....They might of made a...More

Thank stemicgav
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

We buy Boxercrisps directly from Ireland so they do cost more than other brands but we chose them because of their uniqueness. I have instructed the staff to ensure that they inform the customer of the price of them before selling them. We do make...More

Reviewed 6 July 2011

As a local I hadn't eaten in The Village Inn for ages, but having heard good reviews since it reopened under new ownership I decided to give it a go. Lovely freshly cooked food with fantastic steaks and great service. The fish and chips were...More

Thank DeborahWindermere
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The exterior signage doesn't particularly sell the restaurant (inn ?) to you as it looks a bit cheap and chavvy but the interior is actually pretty nice and modern. We hadn't booked a table and couldn't get into the part of the restaurant / inn...More

Thank iamtripper
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We ate here twice at the end of June 2011. While it was a little more expensive it was well worth it. The quality of the food was excellent. For the first time in a long while, we both had a meal that had a...More

Thank stockport1965
Reviewed 22 June 2011

A credit to Bowness and to the owners and staff,my wife had Mussels best she's had!staff really made an effort and were very attentive to our needs,indeed the head waiter seems to keep a keen eye on his staff and is a credit to the...More

Thank mario187069
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had an early evening meal here and the place is really nicely done out with cool modern decor. The food was good, but portions are too big! It was quiet at the time we were in and the service was good, we didnt wait...More

Thank Tezgeo
queensheadtroutbeck, Owner at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Thank you for your review, as a newly refurbished restaurant we were still coming to grips with our portion control, and we appreciate the feedback so we can continue to improve on our service. Thank you once again, and I am glad you enjoyed the...More

Reviewed 13 June 2011

It might be an unusual low rating mainly for the fact that it was too much! while the taste was good and the presentation was stylish contemporary, we all concluded that the portions were so much too much that it put us off when the...More

Thank XisF
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thank you very much for your review. We cook everything from fresh including the pasta. We are still getting place right, correct portion sizes aswell. We have only been opened a few weeks and are still improving our service.

Reviewed 6 June 2011

We visited the Village Inn on Thursday the 2nd of June 2011 and ordered a starter of olives with bread and three main meals. The olives were very enjoyable - although they arrived without the mayonnaise! After waiting 30 minutes for our main meals another...More

Thank cymru1231
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2011

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to us. I can assure you that our meat is always top quality and comes from a local supplier so we are very shocked to hear your comments but will certainly pass them...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Porto Restaurant
1,724 reviews
.08 km away
Jackson's Bistro
1,516 reviews
.03 km away
Villa Positano
1,349 reviews
.05 km away
Hyltons
1,117 reviews
.07 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Windermere
3,081 reviews
.38 km away
The World of Beatrix Potter
1,979 reviews
.18 km away
Brant Fell Above the Bustle
100 reviews
.98 km away
The Fun Factory Bowness
125 reviews
.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kev W
18 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Coutts99 | Reviewed this property |
I don't
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: St Martin's Hill | Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Bowness-on-Windermere
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 43731
  • E-mail
Description
The Village Inn is one of Bowness-on-Windermere's most popular bars, situated just seconds from the shores of Lake Windermere and is open daily from 10am until late, serving fresh, locally sourced produce, with homemade pasta dishes and creations from the grill, a speciality. The bar offers a wide range of real ales and an excellent selection of vodkas, beers, brandies, and an extensive wine list with 50 wines from around the globe. In the summer, the Village Inn also launched a new range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails, which have proved especially popular, in addition to new outside furniture and heaters. The Village Inn Bar and Grill is in the heart of Bowness-on-Windermere, its busy restaurant and bar make it a great place for locals and tourists a like. Come and see for yourself!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing