We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market Tavern

) #52 of 249 Restaurants in Durham $$ - $$$ , British,
27 Market Place, Durham DH1 3NJ, England
+44 191 386 2069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent34%
  • Very good43%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pie” (7 reviews)
“mash” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
27 Market Place, Durham DH1 3NJ, England
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Called in for lunch during a day out in Durham. Excellent steak & ale pie with chips and fresh veg (carrots, peas, broccoli & leeks). Good selection of cask ales. Very friendly staff. A very nice touch, while we were being served at the bar,...More

Thank Exburtonians
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Situated smack down inte the city center this pub has great ale and great service. It is nice inside and offers several diffrent kind of seats. In short, a good pub with good beer, situated in a nice location. Did not try the dishes but...More

Thank Björn S
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We're glad you're enjoyed your visit to our last little pub.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice cosy pub with good atmosphere in the middle of Durham, would of been 5 stars if my partners "fresh seasonal vegetables" was more than few slices of carrots and tablespoon of garden peas very disappointing with costing £13.99

Thank lorna m
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and thank you for highlighting the veg issue. We always hope that our guests get value for money and in this occasion we fell short of the mark. Please accept our apology and we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here today for lunch was really nice service great will be back I had the gammon was a little salty but that's just me my daughter had the louisana burrito and this was nice

Thank Helen R
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for review. Glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a 6 hour drive up from Surrey we needed a sit down & a pint, called in here and what a find, full of character & characters, watching the Scottish cup final. All very friendly with a great selection of beer and some really...More

Thank james c
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a bite to eat. Beef sunday lunch was delicious, the pub has just been invested and look fantastic. Great team definitely recommend the market tavern if your in durham.

Thank Sharon B
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your lunch and our new look Tavern!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This establishment just opened today so me and bro decided to check it out. Wet paint signage still up and the smell of paint still prevalent but it all looks very nice. I ordered a half for bro and a pint for me. Double Maxim...More

Thank Mitchsan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This isn’t on our route through Durham’s hostelries which will become clear shortly. When the bar isn’t full, it is a good bar with a decent range of cold beers. The lack of updating is no bad thing as there are many bars that have...More

Thank collavfc
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Firstly, thank you for your review. As you appreciate, Saturday is the busiest time and for that reason we never have only two on. I can only imagine that something was happening elsewhere, whether that was in the cellar or floor. Unfortunately these things happen;...More

Reviewed 3 May 2017

We visited on a Tuesday lunch time. I'm a local to Durham and I've been to the Market Tavern many times. Its right in the Market Square and can get very busy on a weekend. They do a great selection of real ales (all though...More

Thank Danny_Boy_TKO
MTavernDurham, General Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Thanks for your review. Sorry your food took so long, we only have a small kitchen and try to advise of any delay as accurately as this will allow. However, we're glad you enjoyed your visit and appreciate the points you have highlighted.

Reviewed 27 April 2017

This is a lovely 'proper' pub serving great guest ales. The staff are friendly and the food is nice with some lunchtime offers. Well situated in the town square, it makes for a lovely place to have a few drinks.

Thank 413gailg
MTavernDurham, Manager at Market Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thanks for your review! Glad you like our proper little pub!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bells Fish Restaurant
779 reviews
.03 km away
Akarsu Turkish Restaurant & Grill
121 reviews
.09 km away
Vennel's Cafe
535 reviews
.09 km away
Treats Tea Room
637 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Attractions
Durham Cathedral
4,835 reviews
.35 km away
Durham Castle
870 reviews
.29 km away
Gala Theatre Durham
250 reviews
.11 km away
Durham City Indoor Market Hall
177 reviews
.05 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Market Tavern staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 01:00
Saturday
11:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 27 Market Place, Durham DH1 3NJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Durham
  • Phone Number: +44 191 386 2069
Description
Durhams second oldest pub and the only pub in the market place. We pride ourselves in having a range of local and national cask ales, craft beers in draught and bottle and great traditional food. Open 11am-11pm Sunday- Thursday 11am-1am Friday & Saturday Food served from 12pm Daily
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing