We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good24%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (60 reviews)
“fish fingers” (19 reviews)
“sea bass” (24 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 487 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was my second visit to this restaurant & again I was not disappointed. This visit was on a snowy freezing evening, which meant that many people had cancelled their reservations. There was also an issue with the water supply, so they could not use...More

Thank Gastromanc
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great fish and seafood restaurant. The soy glazed hake was out of this world! Lovely cosy atmosphere at the restaurant and great service.Highly recommended

Thank CindyThompson15
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good crepes and I would come back for these. The wine was also good as was the service, because it came out on time for the group. I think that the desserts need working on.

Thank newgallowaygirl
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Very accomplished cooking - great fish - Chef was very interactive and understands his fish - we enjoyed it here.

Thank Tom29bobby
Reviewed 24 October 2017

We were a party of 14 on a very busy Friday night. Our orders were taken and the food arrived all at the same time. Our wine and drinks orders also arrived at the time. The food was very good and the staff were excellent.

Thank Jacm35
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful pancake starter with scallops topped with cheese followed by lobster. The cheese soufflé was also. Ugh enjoyed.

Thank DS2210
Reviewed 21 October 2017

We had dinner here and found it a pleasant restaurant with a good menu. We had a whole lobster which was very fresh and tasty and we thought reasonably priced at £37. Also had the fish soup and smoked fish selection. Enjoyed the meal and...More

Thank Peter W
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday, so although service was not quite as speedy as on our previous two visits, the food was excellent again. Everything is prepared to order in the small open kitchen. We had a lobster main, which was perfect.

Thank SuzygirlMacclesfield
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Booked this for a special birthday treat, so glad I did, the food was lovely and it was great watching the chefs work. For starters I has the seafood platter and my partner had the Queenie pancake, both we're just the right amount and lovely....More

1  Thank Julia B
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We went there for dinner - we both had the fish soup not bad and not good I felt it had a taste of canned tomato soup behind it - we ordered mains of Whole Sea Bass which was good and the side order of...More

Thank jacquigsmith27
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Little Fish Cafe
487 reviews
.04 km away
14 North
523 reviews
.15 km away
Just Pizza & Pasta
182 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Manx Museum
711 reviews
.69 km away
Isle of Man Welcome Centre
170 reviews
.40 km away
The Tynwald Library
10 reviews
.31 km away
Guided Tours of Mann
32 reviews
1.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
7 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
13 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$67
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing