We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant

9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
+44 1624 612355
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good23%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (59 reviews)
“fish fingers” (20 reviews)
“sea bass” (23 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 120 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

We've eaten in many a fish restaurant in many parts of the world- but our meal this evening was outstanding - one of the best we've ever eaten. Excellent fresh local seafood cooked with skill and flair - attentive and friendly service - great wine...More

Thank westonjane
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this excellent meal. Good menu and good specials. Really nice staff. Recommend booking as it is busy.

Thank peter m
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We were on holiday mid August and went for a birthday meal one evening and found the food to be of good quality but not as nice as it was exactly two years ago. My Husband had Surf and Turf (steak and lobster) and the...More

1  Thank Shirley S
Robin M, Manager at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hello Thank you for visiting us on your travels to the Island and providing feedback. The Sparkling Cucumber cocktail is very refreshing and one of my personal favourites. Certainly an enjoyable way to consume one of the 5 a day. I will pass on your...More

Reviewed 15 August 2016

I had seen the review on trip advisor and so Tanroagan was on my list, and we were not dissapointed. We were greeted warmly and this small establishment has welcoming decor without being to formal. We opted for the monkfish and tempura prawns with mango...More

Thank Redshaz23
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hello Thank you for your kind review. Even the way you describe the dish here makes me hungry. Glad you enjoyed the mini pudding. We found many people like to finish with something sweet after a meal but sometimes a full pudding is just impossible...More

Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Always visit here when at our daughters and usually pleased. Arrived at 8 to find specials board with all wiped out. So disappointed as look forward to plaice or skate. Meal we had was good but feel not up to usual standardMore

Thank Suzanne W
Robin M, Owner at Tanroagan Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback. From the review its a little difficult to know when you visited. If it was this Saturday as given by the date then I can assure you our specials board was still fairly plentiful up to the last booking at...More

Reviewed 11 August 2016

One of my favourite restaurants. Never fails on food or service our friends that come to visit from England always ask to eat there. 5*

Thank 543christopher
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

After visiting the sister restaurant in Peel we had high hopes. I'm pleased to say it did not disappoint. I had lobster and queenies the other half had Plaice. We both loved our dishes, both were really well executed. Squeezed in a desert each too,...More

Thank Paul H
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Plenty of good meals here? Try the fish, Fish fingers and chips are a treat! Always had a good experience, couples, family or friends

3  Thank JulianCheetham
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Delightful restaurant. Lots of choice featuring the freshest seafood on an interesting menu with several extra 'dishes of the day'. Service was friendly and efficient. Complimentary bread rolls (offered in a choice of delicious flavours) with dipping oil, balsamic and butter was a nice touch...More

1  Thank gregoryscat
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Fabulous seafood restaurant at the heart of Douglas. Booked a table for 3 on a busy Saturday night and was not disappointed. Food was to die for. Also asked for a carry out (which they don't usually do) but were only too happy to oblige....More

1  Thank Linda559
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Little Fish Cafe
475 reviews
.04 km away
14 North
514 reviews
.15 km away
Macfarlanes
236 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Manx Museum
687 reviews
.69 km away
The Tynwald Library
8 reviews
.31 km away
Guided Tours of Mann
29 reviews
1.07 km away
Exit Strategy
27 reviews
1.19 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lisawinterburn
14 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Campbell K | Reviewed this property |
Not that I'm aware of although they like you to be smartly dressed at weekends.
1
Vote
JEMURPH
Sir - having chosen to besmirch my character on this website and lied about our correspondence (my letter to you was dated and sent 13 Sep - accept I got the date wrong in my posting) - so please provide details of your advocate to allow my solicitor to pursue your perverse statements through the courts. I am neither 'rude' nor 'condescending' and what you describe as a 'tirade' was a fair report of the food that your team/suppliers provided - I still shudder at the memory of at least 3 instances of approx 2.5 inch long by 1/2 inch wide pieces of crab shell in the 'coriander' soup - life-threatening to be sure. Your mother's misaddressed e-mail was OK by me and whilst some of the points were unusual (e.g. to engage with your suppliers directly) it offered a £50 voucher which if we determined we'd ever revisit the IoM and your restaurant we would have taken up (neither of these appeals to us). Judging from your responses to other 'negative' reviews on this site you are a rude and uncaring provender that deserves no happy clients. Your suggestion that we should have returned to discuss our 'niggles' was absurd - we were on holiday and not minded to return/waste time on Tanroagan engagement. John
7 October 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RWM82 | Property representative |
Noted. I really hope you would reconsider returning to the Isle of Man one day as it truly is a beautiful island and certainly worth a second visit. There is so much to do, see and explore and plenty of other dining... More
0
Votes
Margaret T
13 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Robin M | Property representative |
Hello Margaret and Nick, thank you for your kind comments about our website. Tanroagan is situated in Douglas which is approximately 10 minutes drive from Ballasalla (driving) or 20 minutes by bus. Friday and Saturday... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$68
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Digital Payments
Good for
Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Open Hours
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 9 Ridgeway Street, Off North Quay Harbour, Douglas IM1 1EW
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Isle of Man  >  Douglas
  • Phone Number: +44 1624 612355
  • E-mail
Description
Family owned Seafood restaurant for over 10 years in the heart of Douglas just off North Quay. Tanroagan's dining room boasts an open plan kitchen giving diners a great view of the chefs at work. Our a la carte menu and black board specials offer guests a delicious choice of seafood as well as meaty options with a strong emphasis on local Manx produce. You can book online via our website or facebook page. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing