We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Caulkheads

$$ - $$$, British,
42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
+44 1983 405080
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good34%
  • Average17%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (15 reviews)
“steak” (19 reviews)
“sunday roast” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 405 reviews

Reviewed today

We went there for a meal for my missus birthday as we didnt have much time that day and we live on the same street - the two of us and our two daughters. The kids menu was a typical one for any pub but...More

Thank Jarek M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

More a family pub restaurant than for couples. Food was nice enough and the service was friendly, but it didn't excel or excite. A pub chain, better than some, and won't disappoint, just go there expecting a good pub meal and that is what you...More

Thank Mark T
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub. We're glad you received friendly service and good meals and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited several times for Sunday lunch now. The waitresses are fast and efficient. The quality of the roast is first class. 2 courses with a drink works out about £32. The cauliflower cheese is outstanding. Now one of my favourites. Only slight complaint...More

Thank Puzzler16
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your review. We pride ourselves on good quality food and we're glad you agree! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

My family and I booked here as it advertised an indoor play area. This was pretty poor as the ‘ball pool’ area was lacking balls! The area is quite small and not great. Positives are the films that kiddies can watch when wearing headphones. The...More

Thank suzitsangari
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear suzitsangari, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, following your most recent visit. In regards to the "ball pool", this is an error in signage, however we hope the activities we had to offer compensated for this mistake. We look forward...More

Reviewed 8 April 2018

Good food, well cooked and quick. Very good. Friendly staff and good service. Would recommend. Lots of choice on the menu.

Thank Lolaandrews
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Lolaandrews, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, following your most recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Regards,

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Staff were unhelpful, coffee was cold, asked for hot water for my twin boys bottles gave me to cups of hot water. I asked if there was a jug of hot water and the staff said no it was ridiculous so unhelpfulMore

Thank Alison M
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Alison M, I am sorry to hear that you received poor customer service when visiting our pub. This is not how our team are trained and I am disappointed to hear this has happened. We do offer facilities in house for customers to use,...More

Reviewed 1 March 2018

Well worth a visit. Good food nice family atmosphere. Big variety and. You can tag your dog along! Value for money. I don't know what it is but why is it that the lighting in the restaurant is poor could've should've move to a table...More

1  Thank g0ingn0wheresl0wly
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Dear g0ingn0wheresl0wly, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to us. I am pleased to hear you had a good experience and enjoyed the food on offer. I am sorry to hear that the lighting let us down...More

Reviewed 28 February 2018

This place was one of several recommended by our National Holidays driver so Diane & I looked it up (it's close by our hotel). We declined to eat having reviewed the very expensive menu and seen the fare offered to other Customers which we felt...More

Thank Bruce H
Adam H, Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Bruce H, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. I am sorry to hear that you found our prices high on our menu. We often have great feedback on our meals, so I am sorry you didn't experience this...More

Reviewed 20 February 2018

Had a short weekend break and ate here twice, both times I was impressed with the staff and food, nice atmosphere and clean and tidy. Would eat here again with no reservation.

Thank joeski39
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your kind review of our pub. I am glad we lived up to expectations on both of your visits and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I visited this place for dinner with our 6-month old daughter. We were nicely seated not far from the fireplace. It was cosy and enjoyable. Food was freshly and well cooked. Good value for money. We recommend this place.

Thank Kathie750
Adam H, General Manager at The Caulkheads, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 hotels in Isle of Wight
The Wight
764 reviews
.15 km away
The Burlington Hotel
389 reviews
.19 km away
Marina Bay Hotel
322 reviews
.20 km away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
259 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Bellamy's Bistro
624 reviews
.43 km away
The Bandstand
533 reviews
.30 km away
The Reef
759 reviews
.38 km away
Legends
362 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Yaverland Beach
185 reviews
1.13 km away
Steve's Beach
72 reviews
.31 km away
Isle of Wight Zoo
2,213 reviews
.79 km away
Dinosaur Isle
786 reviews
.48 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RhinoKellie
15 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mic L | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about inside the pub/restaurant as we didn't have a dog with us or indeed remember seeing a dog in the pub whilst we were there. They have a very big garden where I am sure well behaved dogs would be allowed but if... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8AY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Sandown
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 405080
  • E-mail
Description
PLEASE NOTE – On Sunday 14th January 2018 we shall be closing for a short time whilst we carry out some improvements. Don't worry, we’ll be returning on Friday 26th January at 5pm. Watch this space for information… Open 7 days a week for great home cooked food and drink. With great facilities for children including indoor ball pit and outdoor play area including a pirate ship and bouncy castle (weather permitting). Lots of space for large parties and buffets catered for.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;