We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The City Walls

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6a Back Walk, Stirling FK8 2QA, Scotland
+44 1786 451063
Website
Today
11:59 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:59 - 21:00
Fri - Sat 11:59 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here with a group of friends before a night out, it was mid week and quite busy. It is lovely inside and surprisingly big. The food was of a good pub standard, and reasonably priced with various offers on the menu. Worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank 121HoneyBee
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I ordered the haggis pie. The same size as a macintosh micro meal. Came with 2 cold baby carrots and 2 small pieces of broccoli. Smallest portion I've ever had. No where near value for money.

Helpful?
Thank CMcNeish
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good pub grub. My man loves the battered fish. I'm fussy n always ask for food without something and I'm always accommodated happy pub

Helpful?
Thank kirstymacmay83
Stirling
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

If you want decent, reasonably priced pub food that will fill you up then this is your place. menu has got a bit smaller but still ok. Good bar/drinks choice. pleanty big screens for watching sport. Nice wee roof terrace if the suns out...

Helpful?
1 Thank Archie F
East Kilbride Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016

Great pub and great food. Lovely décor and really friendly staff. Has a great menu that will suit all tastes. In a good location. Be aware of the steep hill.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly F
Stirling Scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Came on 14th Dec as a party of 8 for our Xmas meal. As per usual standards of food and services were very good, it never disappoints.

Helpful?
2 Thank Redundancy-holiday
Level Contributor
265 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

I had lunch with some friends at this place as we were looking for Sunday roast and we liked the place from outside... Bad decision! The place was nice and there were a nice atmosphere but the roast wasn't really good as the meat was so dry... Shame 👎🏼

Helpful?
Thank Angielondonct
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

My work colleagues and friends booked a table for 7 of us to come for Christmas lunch. We were asked to pay a deposit (£5.00 each) plus the remainder of the full cost of the lunch which totalled £17.99 each. We were told this was 'policy'. I think it's out of order on several counts: 1). What on earth do... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Vazbo
smogmonster1, General Manager at The City Walls, responded to this review

Dear Vazbo, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Christmas visit with us. Obviously I am sorry that you felt there were certain issues that meant you did not get the experience you were expecting and as the General Manager I shall certainly feed back to the Company some of the matters you have raised re the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2016

The City Walls has excellent food in a lovely atmosphere and is a friendly, comfortable place to dine. Good, friendly staff and great service.

Helpful?
2 Thank Sam P
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Took my mum here for lunch whilst doing our Xmas shopping..I ordered a chicken and bacon sandwich on brown bread no dressing on salad and mum asked for same but on white..and got what was ordered no fuss.. thank you for a good lunch.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jasey2234

Travellers who viewed The City Walls also viewed

Stirling, Stirling
Stirling, Stirling
 

Been to The City Walls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$9 - US$15
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:59 - 21:00
Monday
11:59 - 21:00
Tuesday
11:59 - 21:00
Wednesday
11:59 - 21:00
Thursday
11:59 - 21:00
Friday
11:59 - 22:00
Saturday
11:59 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6a Back Walk, Stirling FK8 2QA, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Stirling  >  Stirling
  • Phone Number: +44 1786 451063
Description
Typical Scottish Pub feel, full table service for those who are dining. Live sports on our 11 TV's

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The City Walls staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?