We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portofino

The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
+44 1429 266166
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good17%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (63 reviews)
“potato skins” (40 reviews)
“greek salad” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Soups, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Never disappointed. Reasonable prices great service lovely staff. Lovely food. What more could you want. Oh! N great chips.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Christine W
Reviewed 5 days ago

Consistently good food, pleasant surroundings and nothing too much trouble for the staff. My go to place after a long day at work.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Vegas1973
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Vegas1973. Thank you very much for a lovely review. I am really delighted that Portofino is your Fave Restaurant. See you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 5 days ago

The kids insist on visiting whenever we head home for the weekend, always had fantastic food and great service.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank apearson1973
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear apearson1973, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am really pleased that the kids insist on visiting Portofino. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 6 days ago

i have never had a bad meal in this restaurant, they have a happy hour which is great value. this service is first class and the food is cooked to order we started with potato skins and is a full meal in its self then...More

Thank Geordiejock2014
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Geordiejock2014, Thank you very much for a great review. I am delighted that you and your wife enjoyed a lovely meal at Portofino. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very god Italian food with fast, friendly service at very reasonable prices and within walking distance of our Premier Inn so I didn't need to drive and could enjoy the wine. What more could you ask for.

Thank Greysword
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Greysword, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Portofino. We look forward to seeing you again if you're in the area. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

I love this place. I'm away on work a lot for long periods of time but when I'm home this is my go to place. After arriving home last week me and the wife came straight here for tea. We arrived to the usual lovely...More

Thank Nlr1986
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Nlr1986, Thank you very much for another tremendous review. I really appreciate you taking the time to write them. I have read many of your reviews over the years and can assure you that they act like a barometer to our business. I am...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

i have been twice now when visting friends that live in hartlpool both times fantasic food hot tasty was well stuffed didnt have pudding staff really friendly place its self was lovley and clean i shall be calling again next time i vist my friends...More

Thank Carol O
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Carol O, Thank you very much for writing a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed both visits to Portofino. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 1 week ago

After a chilly walkaround the Tall Ship and HArtlepool Marina, we stopped off next door for lunch at Portofin Restaurant. We were welcomed , given a proper, ie huge pot of tea, as it should be, and had an excellent lunch, from a choice of...More

Thank Keighley321
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Keighley321, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another great visit to Portofinos, The staff are always helpful, Good quick Service, The food is Beautiful and hot as always and the atmosphere is always welcoming.

Thank Poolie2017
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Poolie2017, Thank you very much for a lovely review. I am delighted that you have enjoyed another visit to Portofino. See you again very soon. Krimo

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall, the experience was amazing. The food was incredible and the service was friendly but the waiting time was quite long ; to be seated and to be served. The kitchen is tiny and slow but the food produced was delicious and worth the wait.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank milliehayes2004
Krimos, Owner at Portofino, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear milliehayes2004, Thank you very much for a lovely review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the food despite the service being a little slow for your liking. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Krimo

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Sambuca
615 reviews
.46 km away
Portals Place
295 reviews
.56 km away
The Conservatory
370 reviews
.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
HMS Trincomalee
605 reviews
.03 km away
National Museum of the Royal Navy Hartlepool
411 reviews
.04 km away
Museum of Hartlepool
244 reviews
.24 km away
Seaton Carew Beach
275 reviews
.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jackslater1
13 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Noel_Stamp | Property representative |
Unfortunately dogs are not allowed unless they are guide dogs. Kind regards Noel
0
Votes
brendaoxtoby
26 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Krimos | Property representative |
Yes, we do. Happy hour from 5 to 6.30. Check our website.
0
Votes
Bowlswidow
15 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Krimos | Property representative |
No, there isn't one, I'm afraid. Krimo
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$33
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 1:45 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Historic Quay Maritime Avenue | Maritime Avenue, Hartlepool TS24 0XF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Hartlepool
  • Phone Number: +44 1429 266166
  • E-mail
Description
Portofino is a bistro-pizzeria on the Historic Quay. It overlooks Hartlepool's most famous attraction, HMS Trincomalee. Surrounded by free car parks, it is the ideal venue for lazy lunchtimes, fast teatime treats and party nights.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing