We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cock and Pheasant

Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
+44 1625 573289
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“ham hock” (5 reviews)
“trifle” (3 reviews)
“roast dinner” (5 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across this restaurant looking for somewhere to have an evening meal. The pub itself has a lovely relaxed feel, a wide selection of drinks (even for my teetotal partner, who often has to resort to coke or water, but was delighted to find...More

Thank Jennifer D
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jennifer, I am very pleased to receive such a great review - thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and that we had something to suit you and your partner - we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Just a brief visit but the soup was delicious Lovely older world atmosphere The armchairs were so comfortable we would have loved to have taken one home Owner away but girls doing a good job .

Thank Trisha128
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi Trisha, Thank you for the great review, Glad to hear the team were doing a great job and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We booked a table for a Saturday evening last minute for 5 of us. We were greeted promptly and as we were celebrating a birthday we had a voucher for a free bottle of prosecco! Which went down a treat! We have signed up to...More

Thank sportywoman123
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi There, Many thanks for your lovely 5 star review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your most recent visit to the Cock & Pheasant and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Well it started off really well. We were asked whether we'd like to sit somewhere quiet or with atmosphere, which was lovely. The guy who seated us was lovely and very welcoming but unfortunately he must have left or been busy and then it went...More

2  Thank sassyNorthWest
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi There We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Cock & Pheasant. It sounds like your visit has fallen way below our usual standards as we pride ourselves on guest service. I hope you will give us a...More

Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

New to the area and came across this pub in bollington. Set in a lovely location and the menu sounded lovely. However the food and service was a disappointed. We had the roast and the sirloin steak. The roast dinner was tiny (two small thin...More

1  Thank Cathaycox
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Hi there, We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent visit to the Cock & Pheasant. It sounds like your visit has fallen way below our usual standards as we pride ourselves on guest service - I can assure you that if...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I regularly come here to meet with friends before going on to local attractions and walks. The food is always tasty, well presented and good portions. The pub itself is spacious and has lots of different seating areas. The staff are very friendly and always...More

Thank Lindsey B
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Lindsey Thanks for the 5 star review - it's great to know you are a regular customer and we hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Called here a number of times over one day owing to a nearby wedding. The car park and pub are spacious, the food was good and the staff helpful. We would call there again if we are in the area.

Thank Rod J
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Hi Rod Many thanks for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you if you visit the area again. Many thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Lovely pub, plenty of parking to the rear of the property. We had lunch which was very tasty and good value.

Thank Joan W
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi Joan, Thank you for the lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you again soon. Thanks Bruce General Manager

Reviewed 11 August 2017

Large family pub nicely refurbished and plenty of outside seating. a good range of pump beers well kept. A bust day and the service a bit on the slow side but the food was good nice piece of roast rump but this is part of...More

Thank Walb0
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Hi There Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food and our range of beers on your recent visit. I'm pleased to hear that whilst we were busy, our staff remained polite and welcoming and I take on board your...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Met here yesterday for a business meeting. Lovely characterful pub lots of exposed bricks, fire[places and quirky types of seating areas. Nice and light, just had coffees and cold drinks, pleasant waitress service would meet here againMore

Thank ajgater
General Manager A, Manager at The Cock and Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hi There Thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. If you would like food for any future meetings we can take a pre-order and have your meals ready on arrival or we can provide a selection of...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lord Clyde
271 reviews
.79 km away
The Vale Inn
218 reviews
1.45 km away
Butley Ash
496 reviews
1.27 km away
Olivae Pizza
8 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
White Nancy
58 reviews
1.91 km away
St Peter's Church
19 reviews
2.05 km away
The Poachers Inn
23 reviews
2.34 km away
Clarence Mill & Adelphi Mill Canalside
15 reviews
1.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
honestyrules
13 September 2015|
Answer
Response from General Manager D | Property representative |
Yes we do cater for intolerance and allergies. We have extensive allergen menu's, just ask one of our friendly team.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bollington Cross 15 Bollington Road, Macclesfield SK10 5EJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cheshire  >  Macclesfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1625 573289
  • E-mail
Description
Cock & Pheasant in Macclesfield is a country pub oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing