We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slug & Lettuce

$$ - $$$, , British
Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond TW9 1TJ, England
+44 20 8948 7733
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent20%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible22%
Travellers talk about
“fish cakes” (3 reviews)
“the river” (38 reviews)
“sunny day” (9 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond TW9 1TJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stopped at the Slug and Lettuce yesterday for a drink at the end of a walk. There appeared to be two serving points at the bar both of which had one member of staff visible. I selected the one where the queue appeared smaller...More

Thank Barny T
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Barny, Thank you very much for the time you've taken to write feedback for us. We appreciate all forms of feedback as it helps us grow as a business and improve. We apologize for the experience you received recently at our venue. I apologize...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for a run along the Thames path. Took a tumble scratching my arms and legs. The kind barman allowed me to use their toilets to wash my hands and knees and also gave me a plaster. Thanks!

Thank Paul M
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Paul, Thank you for your kind words and great review, I'm glad that our staff could help you out and i hope the tumble wasn't too bad. We hope to see you return soon. Kind regards, Kristian and the team

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Toast was just bread..... had to send it back. No yoghurt and grenola, advised of this ten minutes after ordering it. Was short changed by £1 on the refund. Complete lack of customer service and won't be coming back again. :-(More

Thank leepO4575OO
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi. Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent visit to our venue. I apologize for the level of service you feel you received on the day, this is not our normal level of service. Unfortunately due to the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Busy day so staff had there work cut out. Drinks and food ordered quickly but took a long time to gets the drinks served. Bar staff were very stressed and everything seemed hard work just to get 4 soft drinks. Food eventually came after a...More

Thank Elaine C
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Elaine, Thank you for your review of our venue, we appreciate all feedback given. I apologise for the wait for your drinks and food, we were hit pretty hard by the bank holiday and had several staff members call in sick, leaving us quite...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for drinks on a sunny day, service behind the bar was good but tje waitinf service of our food order waa excellent. I think we were served by Christian he was informative and ver accomodating. Excellent ustomer service. The food was also...More

Thank Ladyjester1983
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you very much for the great review, I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself at our venue. We hope to see you return in future, Kristian and the team

Reviewed 15 August 2017

We really originally wanted to go to White Cross nearby - atmosphere seemed so much better - but it was really more tipsier crowd and that place smelled really strongly of beer (unpleasantly so). So we went for The Slug and Lettuce which was almost...More

Thank JaWestPalmBeach
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi, Thank you for taking your time to write a review and give us feedback. We've been a lot quieter than we have expected recently so we apologize that you feel we lacked a nice atmosphere. We hope to see you again, Kristian and the...More

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Great location on the river and good outdoor seating Indoor TV but a fun ambience Poor to average 'pub food' Would not return since my chip and pin was copied here Average service/ rude Known locally as the 'snog & pick me up'

Thank minnieinrichmond
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Minnie, Would you be able to contact the site on 020 8948 7733 so we can discuss the issues you may have had here? Kind regards Management

Reviewed 6 August 2017

whilst having a drink outside taking in the lovely view and atmosphere we decided to order some food; however several of the things we would have liked were off the menu so we had to leave and find somewhere else. Otherwise ir was perfectly pleasant...More

Thank Jerry G
Slug_Richmond, Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi Jerry, Thank you for taking the time ti give us a review and your feedback. We apologize for the lack of several dishes on the menu recently, we've had a few issues with supply at the moment due to unforeseen circumstances. We hope you...More

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We were fortunate with the weather & to get a table outside to eat our lunch at. Food orders are taken at the bar & the food arrived quickly enough although we were happy sitting watching the world go by. The food was ok. I...More

Thank amanda40671
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Amanda Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our spot by the river is certainly a nice place to be when the sun does come out! Hope to see you again? Andrew and the team

Reviewed 31 July 2017

Usual slug and lettuce pub. A few tables outside, overlooking the river. Good food at reasonable prices, just what's expected from this unpretentious chain, Same food next door costs close to twice as much so not a difficult choice. The pub was quite busy at...More

Thank rick.ferries
Slug_Richmond, General Manager at Slug & Lettuce, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Hi Rick, I am very glad you enjoyed your visit to us. It is always great to get positive feedback about what we are doing here. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Andrew and the team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Richmond Vault Beer Cellar & Restaurant
411 reviews
.16 km away
Bill's Richmond
567 reviews
.19 km away
The Ivy Cafe Richmond
225 reviews
.14 km away
Revolution
332 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
So Bar Richmond
122 reviews
.32 km away
The Poppy Factory
22 reviews
.50 km away
Richmond Theatre
223 reviews
.48 km away
Museum of Richmond
56 reviews
.13 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Slug & Lettuce staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Cuisine
Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 23:00
Monday
10:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:00 - 00:00
Saturday
10:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Riverside House Water Lane | Water Lane, Richmond TW9 1TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater London  >  Richmond
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8948 7733
  • E-mail
Description
A perfect riverside location, The Slug & Lettuce is a very popular destination venue, especially during the summer months. The venue is family friendly allowing children from opening until 8pm daily, over 21's thereafter. Breakfast, lunch, dinner & take-away available. Parties are welcome. Great deals on cocktails, wine & food throughout the week. Our friendly staff will look after all your needs when visiting!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing