We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Sailors

Pwllgwaelod, Dinas Cross, Newport SA42 0SE, Wales
+44 1348 811491
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“lobster” (30 reviews)
“prawns” (15 reviews)
“dover sole” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Pwllgwaelod, Dinas Cross, Newport SA42 0SE, Wales
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Called in there after doing a six mile circular walk around dinas island with friends so had a few drinks and a lovely meal.one of the best fish and chips i have had for a long time and very friendly staff well worth a visit.

Thank 831jdav
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited with my family early in September on the last night of a week-long stay in Wales and we couldn't have been happier with the restaurant. Every dish we ordered was prepared relatively quickly and was incredibly good quality. We booked in advance to...More

Thank TJ_Wheatley
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A fabulous meal we had here. It was very busy mid August but that didn't delay our food at all. A lot of places we have been waiting ages for our pudding or someone to take our order. Friendly staff with a beautiful setting. We...More

Thank Lolly221
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed yourselves, look forward to seeing you again

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Called in here without booking and the only table available was tiny but we were moved when a larger table became free. I had hake in a Thai mussel and clam broth and partner had salmon in butter sauce. Both were delicious. Well done chef!

1  Thank Lynne E
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks I'm glad you enjoyed it

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Old Sailors with family for some lunch, live locally and have been here numerous times before. However, it seems in the last year or so, the prices have increased hugely and the quality of the food produce used is poor. We were really...More

Thank dp0316
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi I would have rather had this conversation personally and then I could have done something about it, the prices are what they are and are in range with everywhere else around us, as for low quality food I'm actually quite offended by that, none...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nestled away on Pwllgwaellod Beach not many people know of its existence. Situated off the main Fishguard to Cardigan road it is easy to miss, accessed from Dinas Cross and down a steep narrow road it is well worth a visit. It nestles by a...More

1  Thank Sandra L
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sorry, but my lunch experience was a fairly average one. A crab sandwich with very little crab in it and a prawn sandwich that was in a tasteless Marie Rose sauce half a dozen crisps and some lettuce and red onion. Help yourself to glasses,...More

Thank Jane B
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi thanks for leaving a review, I can't comment on the amount of crab on your sandwich other than we use pre measured scoops and you get 2oz of both white and brown crab meat in a sandwich, so that's 100grams of crab meat,that alone...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pub is set in a lovely location, however it was a bit of a disappointment. The food is overpriced, £8 for a jacket potato that was as dry as anything, is ridiculous!! The evening food might be different but wouldn't bother having lunch here. The...More

1  Thank kathfletch
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Wow your obviously one of them sent you, if you think 8£ for a jacket potato with a homemade filling with a large salad and coleslaw is expensive then you obviously spend a lot of time in chain establishments such as wetherspoons where yes you...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked table in restaurant area for our wedding anniversary and when we arrived we were told our table had changed to a place at back of bar area next to toilets. Manager said she tried to call but no evidence of this. No message and...More

1  Thank Paul F
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hang on a second, you were told when you booked that it might be a table in the bar, and yes we did call you but you didn't answer, and tell me why wild salmon on a menu is a bad thing, and you were...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a little concerned what the Old Sailors would be like given the mixed bag of reviews but it was simply perfect. The location is unbeatable - just off a secluded sandy beach with perfect sunsets across the bay. And the food and service...More

Thank DreadnoughtDE
Adam F, Owner at The Old Sailors, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for a great review, glad you enjoyed everything, the bread with the mussels and a couple of other dishes isn't a frozen product but a pre half baked product, we have tried a couple of local bakeries and just find it too difficult to...More

Nearby Restaurants
The Freemasons Arms
108 reviews
1.32 km away
The Canteen
396 reviews
5.25 km away
Siop Fach Tearoom
94 reviews
5.36 km away
Nearby Attractions
57 reviews
6.24 km away
Bluestone Brewing Company Ltd
27 reviews
7.90 km away
Havard Stables
16 reviews
2.60 km away
54 reviews
5.84 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
24 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from John H | Reviewed this property |
I am pretty sure there was a dog under one of the tables when I was there, it may depend on how full it is but the staff were very helpful. But you can always eat outside...........................Pembrokeshire weather... More
27 April 2017|
Response from Adam F | Property representative |
Tuesday to Sunday 12-3, Wednesday to sat 6:30-8:30 for food, head for the village of dinas cross, Sa420se is the post code, turn opposite the mace store, for pwllgwaelod head all the way to the beach and we are there, please... More
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$15 - US$39
Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
11:00 - 15:00
11:00 - 15:00
11:00 - 15:00
11:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 20:30
11:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 20:30
11:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 20:30
11:00 - 15:00
18:30 - 20:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Pwllgwaelod, Dinas Cross, Newport SA42 0SE, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Newport  >  Dinas Cross
  • Phone Number: +44 1348 811491
We are a beachside bar and restaurant serving the best of local seafood & a variety of other dishes including meat dishes & vegetarian dishes. We also serve cakes, tea & coffee & have a fully licensed bar. We are located in Pwllgwaelod right on the beach with ample parking & outside seating available.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing