We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lamb Inn

) #1 of 2 Restaurants in Rainton $$ - $$$ , British,
Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
+44 1845 577284
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good19%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
12:00 - 23:30All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2017

I went here with the family on the way home after the easter weekend. My wife found it located on on of those sites that give you details of pubs and restaurants sited just off the motorway. It's about a couple of miles off the...More

Thank helenandpaul13
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Arrived in our motorhome, having found it through 'Britstops.' We didn't expect a great deal, other than a car park and some pub grub. What a surprise! We were welcomed into the car park and shown where everything is by a friendly chap, who we...More

Thank JRMorris5
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Everyone had a meal, mine was 'ok' had scampi and chips in a basket and that's what I got, very basic, basically 6 pieces of what looked like supermarket frozen scampi and homemade chunky chips in a 70's basket need more presentation , barstaff/waitress was...More

Thank AndreaThirsk
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

A proper sausage barm with Brown sauce. Stayed here 2 nights no complaints good food excellent staff and a lovely pub to visit.

Thank Graeme W
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Arrived Friday afternoon in our motorhome, no charge to stay, toilet and shower facility in spotless condition. Friday offers of BOGOF on drinks 5-7pm and a £5 meal offer 6-7pm. Pub was very quiet and the staff were jovial, Not required by us, but special...More

Thank williamtH5413VF
Reviewed 9 August 2016

.....a quiet pub on a Monday evening was just what I need. I had a naive pint of Black Sheep and I ordered bangers and mash from the menu. The young lady who served me and took my order was very pleasant but my meal...More

Thank _robspeight58
LambInn2012, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

I am so sorry that your experience of your visit here was not as you expected! We served exactly what you ordered, and if you had requested peas or onion gravy we would have been happy to give them to you! You say the waitress...More

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We popped in and had a drink. Lovely atmosphere and very welcoming. We overheard other people having enjoyed a meal 'as usual'. Shame we didn't have time to sample it, but it looked clean and homely.

1  Thank Veronica W
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Travelling to Alnwick today my husband and I left the A1 and found The Lamb Inn after a 5 minute drive. Situated in a very quiet village the service was good and the food was lovely and not expensive. The staff were lovely too and...More

1  Thank erink750117
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Great quality food at very reasonable prices and a good selection of vegetarian options. Friendly service and a welcoming atmosphere, could not have been better!

Thank PoppyF
Reviewed 26 March 2016

As others have said, this makes a great peaceful stopover when on a long journey. We had two dogs with us and had a bit of a walk in the village before settling down for a quiet lunch. Dogs were welcome and the service just...More

Thank Loumx
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Crab & Lobster
1,190 reviews
2.42 km away
The George at Wath Restaurant
102 reviews
5.14 km away
The Bay Horse
15 reviews
.77 km away
Nearby Attractions
Norton Conyers
19 reviews
5.33 km away
Ripon Cathedral
813 reviews
7.16 km away
Ripon Racecourse
296 reviews
6.84 km away
Workhouse Museum
257 reviews
7.02 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Simon F
Please can you respond to reviews on the review itself. The way you are doing it now is by asking a question, which means Trip Advisor asks us to answer it (as we reviewed you before.) This is not only airing your dirty laundry but very irritating. By the way, can I point out that the lady who brought her child and took a 4 seater table but only paid for three meals is a loyal customer. She has come back three times for goodness sake!!
18 August 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Sal F | Reviewed this property |
Not sure what the own told you but the truth is we have only been to the lamb inn once with this owner. We did purchase four drinks but the owner said in his response the kids had water. He also said our kids were over six... More
0
Votes
LambInn2012
Thank you for your review. I am sad to hear your complaints however to let the public know this was the third time you had been in with your children both aged over 6. You had 2 x 3 course adult meal and shared every course with your children as well as getting them a 'free' glass of water. You left a teaspoon of the homemade toffee sauce which i admit had obviously burnt in the pan and said you weren't paying for it the waitress. We charged an extra £1 for the plate as these needed waitress service and to be washed up. Also the fact you only paid for 3 adult meals on 3 occasions you took up a 4 seater table. Your comments are duly noted about another pub and i hear there Sunday lunch is also good. I wonder if they have allowed you to get away on 3 separate occasions what you have done at our honest food establishment. I also note that your children weren't very hungry, the children's menu is designed for under 6's and is £5 per child.
18 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Notgordon | Reviewed this property |
After speaking to the owners it was found out this family only paid for 2 adult meals on all 3 occasions for a 3 course Sunday Lunch which was shared by all 4 people.
0
Votes
LambInn2012
Thank you for your review about our family owned freehouse. Unfortunately unlike a lot of 'pubmaster' owned pubs we do not have the sort of money pub companies have to throw at their pubs, eg The Angel, The Crab and Lobster, The Moor and Pheasant. All our efforts are put into excellent food, good honest portions and superb service. However as you have commented we are good value. We only use local fresh produce and everything is home cooked. We have an excellent wine list, a good range of beers and as you will see on tripadvisor not a lot of other local places can compare with the Sunday lunch. We have 5 stars from the Hygiene people at Harrogate Council four and a half stars with Tripadvisor. I feel if you call in again soon you will be impressed at the refurb we had done last year. If not at least try the Yorkshire Classic Real Ale, the Five Foot Track Shiraz and if you are hungry The Steak and Ale pie or Fish and Chips. Hopefully after your next visit we will get more than 2 stars for our efforts. Steven Bannister (owner)
18 August 2015|
Answer
Response from FrancineW411 | Reviewed this property |
As far as I am aware my score was 5 stars so not sure what has happened there we come on a fairly regular basis and we are always impressed with the service and the food and I left the review because of this so if I can... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$8
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:30
Thursday
12:00 - 23:30
Friday
12:00 - 23:30
Saturday
12:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tithe Barn Avenue | Rainton, Rainton YO7 3PH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Yorkshire  >  North Yorkshire  >  Rainton
  • Phone Number: +44 1845 577284
  • E-mail
Description
A typical english village pub serving homecooked traditional food in a beautiful part of the countryside with close links to all major networks.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing