We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Marina

Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
+254 20 2434726
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (23 reviews)
“steak” (9 reviews)
“soup” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2017

The staff and scenery are lovely. The food is not great...overpriced and average. It is a lovely place to go and sit by the water for a couple of drinks. We preferred not to eat there. Try the "Dawa", a tropical drink from Kenya.

Thank debsitar
Reviewed 18 May 2017

My judgement of four is for the food. For arrangement: I asked the restaurant to fix 65 persons. Alice is the most wonderful host, giving everything she has to make your evening the best. 5 stars. The food was nice. The best I have had...More

Thank Ditte M
Reviewed 20 April 2017

The directions to the Restaurant not clearly marked. However, a great location serving Italian and Sea food

Thank Sanjeet S
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We were a large group, so had done booking in advance. The day was just perfect for a lunch near the ocean and the place was just amazing. The view of the creek, nice cool breeze and the outdoors :) The food was just perfect......More

Thank Zulfikar H
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Again we had a fantastic lunch with four friends. Wonderful food and great service. This place cannot be faulted. My favorite restaurant on the Kenyan Coast

Thank IanGG
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

Had lunch for four people. Four main meals and drinks. Steak with pepper sauce and sides - well cooked. 1500 ks Steak with mustard sauce and sides - well cooked. 1500 ks Calamari as a light main meal with fries (300ks) total meal 680ks Chicken...More

1  Thank Mmm_72_70
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

As many others have said: great location, good menu and good cooking, right down by the creek. My only complaint is the music - just turn it off completely and let guests enjoy the sounds of nature: the coast breeze through the palms, the birds,...More

1  Thank thomas Y
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Loved the place and the food. Though kind of pricey I enjoyed the view and the breez from the sea. The service was great

1  Thank Daido A
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Never seen a place like that in Kenya beautiful location clean and quite sea food was delicious those people can cook definitely will come back again it was 👌More

2  Thank Kiango K
lamarinarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at La Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you so much Kiango, we appreciate your awesome comments and glad that you had a memorable experience at La Marina restaurant Mtwapa. We always try to maintain high quality food standard and are delighted that we met your expectations.Will surely look forward to your...More

Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Best place i ever seen in Kenya what I liked most is the location beautiful clean and quite. Food was delicious those people can cook had very nice coffee. Definitely will come back 👌👌More

Thank Kipingu2016
lamarinarestaurant, Public Relations Manager at La Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Thank you so much Kipingu2016.We are humbled by your good comments and the best words to describe La Marina restaurant. We are grateful to the fact that you enjoyed every bit of your dining with us including the location,ambiance , food and coffee. We look...More

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
linneothieno
1 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Munir T | Reviewed this property |
depending on what you eat but our experience has been kenya shillings 4,000/=(ksh four thousand only)
1
Vote
Eve J
8 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elcaboos L | Reviewed this property |
yes they do
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$31 - US$55
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Full Bar, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mtwapa 80109, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Coast Province  >  Mtwapa
  • Phone Number: +254 20 2434726
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing