We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moorings Hotel Restaurant

Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
+44 1397 772797
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good37%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“ribeye steak” (4 reviews)
“scones” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Website says it is number 1 restaurant. Maybe we were in the wrong part of it, but it had limited, uninteresting choices very averagely presented and above average prices. Wouldn't recommend.

Thank KayA A
Reviewed 6 days ago

Moorings was used for dinners during our time in Ft Wiiliam. There is ample car parking. However reservations were needed. No sign of chips with meals- a big plus. Staff were friendly and attentive to our needs. Their orange coloured ties added plenty of atmosphere....More

Thank David R
Reviewed 1 week ago

On a very cold blowy AUGUST afternoon it was a welcome haven for a very good cappuccino and a tea. Quick service and everywhere seemed clean

Thank Yorkshirediner
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying locally in a B&B, asked for a recommendation, and weren't disappointed. The location is wonderful, overlooking the Caledonian Canal at the 'Neptune's Staircase' series of locks, with Ben Nevis behind swirling in and out of the clouds. We ate in the Bistro...More

Thank Dave B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped for an unplanned coffee, which turned into brunch once we saw the menu. Service was wonderful, very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast rolls were excellent, very tasty bacon and just what we needed!

Thank Jon G
Reviewed 1 week ago

popped in to the bistro for a quick snack lunch. Service was a bit slow but the food once delivered was worth the wait. Worth a visit but be prepared for a wait at busy periods. The views are excellent

Thank ch00chter
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying nearby it was an easy choice to pop in for dinner. Very glad we did but it wasn't easy as the place was very full. The staff were very accommodating and we made ourselves comfortable while looking through the menu. When our table was...More

Thank Iain W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The seafood is really good! We had sea bass and scallops. Hotel environment is excellent. Staff service perfect. A wonderful place for a few old pals who haven't seen each other for decades to chit chat and enjoy a great night. My friends would stay...More

1  Thank Sanchez Joseph U
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here just after we arrived at the nearby hostel, staff very friendldy and helpful. Great to sit outside and watch the boats on Neptune's Staircase. Next day went for dinner, again staff so friendly and got us a seat by the window to watch...More

Thank Aislingich
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Staff too busy trying to keep bistro serviced while public bar gets poor attention.No genuine service skills - happy to take money for extortionately priced beer.Sitting on its laurels now - used to be a good spot but knows it will always get passing tourist...More

1  Thank Scharminkel
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Lochy
233 reviews
.39 km away
Sammy's Fish and Chip Shop
83 reviews
.98 km away
Deli Barqen Chinese Takeaway & Fish Bar
28 reviews
1.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Neptune's Staircase
816 reviews
.25 km away
Abacus Mountain Guides - Day Tours
69 reviews
1.39 km away
Treasures of the Earth
302 reviews
1.89 km away
West Highland Museum
716 reviews
3.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
B M
21 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Moorings_Manager_12 |
Hi there, Yes we have a Set Christmas Menu running from the 1st of December through until the 23rd. The Menu can be found on our website under the offers section. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you require any... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$23 - US$39
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Scottish Highlands  >  Lochaber  >  Fort William  >  Banavie
  • Phone Number: +44 1397 772797
  • E-mail
Description
The Moorings offers mouth-watering cuisine in our Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. The Upper Deck Lounge bar also serves a range of tasty bar meals including fish, chicken and pasta dishes.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing