We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Fisherman

Mill Road, Shabbington, Aylesbury HP18 9HJ, England
+44 1844 201247
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good25%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“coleslaw” (5 reviews)
“sunday roast” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Mill Road, Shabbington, Aylesbury HP18 9HJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent menu and friendly staff. You may have a bit of a wait if they are short staffed but there is always somewhere to sit and enjoy a drink while you wait.

1  Thank gretasmith
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely words Greta, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a Table booked for 6 persons, which was reserved for the party. It was busy lots of people, we ordered our drinks, and then I went to the bar to order the food for everyone. I was told there would be a half...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm very sorry to hear that we fell short of the high standards that we set ourselves. I invite you to contact me directly at the pub so I can investigate thoroughly as none of my management team have made me aware of such an...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took two friends there on Friday 25th - one of them was born in the village and remembered the pub when it was a tiny place! Although we arrived at about 12:30 it was already busy but there is ample parking and (on a nice...More

2  Thank Maurice J
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your lovely words of praise Maurice. Please do call in again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After returning from a long holiday drive we decided to drop in to the Old Fisherman for a meal on a Thursday late afternoon to avoid cooking when we returned home. A lovely selection of food, attentive staff and nice decor inside and pleasant outdoor...More

2  Thank WerdnaTrips
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review of The Old Fisherman. Sounds like we got it right for you. Please do visit again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Busy Sunday with the sun out, car park full so parked on the extensive grasslands. Walking inside I was surprised to see no que at the bar, with 2 people taking food orders and a third person putting glasses away and calling people down to...More

2  Thank Boomboxmedia
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a smashing review - thank you, i'm blushing. I'm over the moon that you enjoyed your visit so much, I wish every guest left as happy. We look forward to you returning with the family.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I will keep this simple! Went for lunch today. They ran out of the beer we wanted, the food took an hour (although they did warn us it would be 45mins) and when it came the bread was stale and the chips were horrible Staff...More

Thank Archybald
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Please accept my apologies that you were not satisfied. Having investigated your visit thoroughly I see that you enjoyed an extra drink of our IPA despite being disappointed that we had sold out of our guest beer. I'm sorry that your meals took 5 minutes...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The Old Fisherman is off the beaten track but worth the detour down the country road to find it. So peaceful down by the river in the middle of nowhere, a real gem of a beer garden when the sun is shining. Having stopped off...More

3  Thank martyn_dudley
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What lovely words, many thanks Martyn. Myself and the team look forward to seeing you soon.

Reviewed 16 August 2017

We have been a few times over the last 18 months, the first time we had a nice evening and the food was good consequently we returned with some friends and again a lovely meal was had. However, they were both about a 10-12 months...More

Thank rdlt68
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm really very sorry to hear that you have had some visits where we have failed to deliver for you; I would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you. Please feel free to email me a 6673@greeneking.co.uk so as we may open...More

Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

What a night. We booked our large booking weeks before as we know the fisherman gets very busy, we was asked to pre-order our meal choices which we thought was a great idea and was more then happy to do. The staff were amazing, food...More

1  Thank 1992Phoebe
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Phoebe, we lobe to cater for every kind of event whether it be a quick bite to eat in the week or an occasion such as a Birthday party. It makes great reading that you all had such a great time. See you again...More

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Visited this pub last Thursday night and had a meal off th e main menu. Excellent food and very good service. Visited agin tonight at teatime with our 4 year old grand daughter. Good choice on children's menu and my partner and I both ate...More

2  Thank Alan B
Rich W, General Manager at The Old Fisherman, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Alan, I'm very pleased to read that you have had two great visits to The Old Fisherman. I hope that visit number 3 is equally as good.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rising Sun at Ickford
31 reviews
2.12 km away
The Clifden Arms
132 reviews
3.29 km away
The Angel Restaurant
322 reviews
3.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Oxford Belfry Spa
116 reviews
3.39 km away
Waterperry Gardens
183 reviews
3.72 km away
Waterperry Gardens
10 reviews
3.73 km away
The Big Shoot - Aylesbury
8 reviews
4.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanda S
5 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Rich W | Property representative |
Morning Amanda, we serve food from 11am right through until 10pm seven days a week. Bookings are strongly recomended.
0
Votes
Peter B
2 July 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 425PaulB | Reviewed this property |
I'm a diner not the patron - Suggest you contact the owners!
1
Vote
Alangelson
21 April 2015|
Answer
Response from FoodPro75 |
Hi, many thanks for your question. We are able to offer a number of menu choices for people who wish to avoid gluten. All of our team are able to advise on the known allergens and suitable dishes.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:00
Monday
11:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 22:00
Thursday
11:00 - 22:00
Friday
11:00 - 22:00
Saturday
11:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Mill Road, Shabbington, Aylesbury HP18 9HJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Buckinghamshire  >  Aylesbury Vale  >  Aylesbury  >  Shabbington
  • Phone Number: +44 1844 201247
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing