We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1 Causeway Street, Portrush BT56 8AB, Northern Ireland
+44 28 7082 2811
Website
Today
09:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,673: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Went here today thinking it would be a lovely place to eat, meal was ok , service was very slow, we had to remind the waitress to bring grandsons chips which was 20 minutes after we got our food, asked for a glass of orange juice got pure orange asked her to change it and she bought grandsons juice in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liz B
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Visited here for evening meal. The view from this restaurant if you get a seat beside the window is just out of this world. Staff were very friendly and most helpful. Service was excellent and if you book to eat before 6.45 pm the 3 course menu is great value and the food is very good.

Helpful?
Thank Audrey R
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We never were quite sure who was waiting in us...it seemed a different person was coming around each time. But, we were well attended to. The food was good, but nothing remarkable. The views, particularly if you are lucky enough to get a table by the window, are sensational. I don't know about lunch, but they do take reservations for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely restaurant with fantastic service. Cant understand earlier reviews about slow service as this was def not our experience. food was really nice. We had the 3 course deal and was great value. Could not fault this place on any level.

Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review

Hi Michelle, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. I am really glad you had a great experience with us. See you soon hopefully. Peter More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice restaurant - friendly staff, lovely food, quick service and great views. 3 course deal was great value.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nwr31
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your 5-star review. We really appreciate you taking the time. Best wishes, Peter More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I took my 2 big sons here for lunch. Beautiful setting. Dog friendly. Helpful staff. My burger was lovely, one of my sons had a salad which said was excellent. The other had a pizza which was really nice but small. I would have liked to exchange my pudding for a coffee on the 2 courses for a tenner menu,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Keith E
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review

Hi Keith, It is great that you took the time out to leave us such a lovely review. i am really glad you had a good experience with us. The burgers a made a few minutes away in a local butcher, so it is good to hear it was tasty. I know how it feels to have to "try to... More 

Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I was surprised by the mixed reviews on the site as we had a very pleasant meal here. The restaurant is clearly busy and quite noisy, but the food is very nice and the view is lovely. We arrived on a busy night and service was relatively quick. The food was tasty and nicely presented. Overall, I would go back... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Grobie11
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review. I am really glad you had lovely time with us. Apologies about the noise, but I suppose it comes with being so busy. Don't rule out the romantic meal though! :-) Peter More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From we entered the restaurant we were made so welcome. They day we went it was main corse and starter for 10£ I tell you what the portions are seriously massive.. myself and hubby had garlic bread and salad for starter which we shared. Hubby had a hot spicy burger and I had a steak roll could not finish our... More 

Helpful?
Thank PaulaM16
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review

Hi Paula, Thank you so much for your review. It is so refreshing for this forum to be used in a positive way rather than for complaining. I am really glad that you and your family had a nice time with us, and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes, Peter More 

1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I who live locally had decided to go to 55 for a nice evening out. We have eaten there several times in the past and have always enjoyed the experience. However we were extremely disappointed tonight. The service was very slow even though the restaurant was only half full. We had to ask twice for a drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill A
Peter K, General Manager at 55 Degrees North, responded to this review

Hi Jill, Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor. May I start by apologising that your evening seems to have been marred by not getting your drinks in a timely fashion. It is important that I get feedback like this, because as forward looking business, we are always trying to improve and make our customer's experiences enjoyable. I... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I visited here the other day for lunch. Firstly, when we walked in we had to wait 5 minutes before anyone came near us. Our starters arrived within 10 minutes of ordering. The garlic bread was cold and greasy. The chicken wings where horrible- dry and tasteless(my other half had the wings.... he is not hard to... More 

Helpful?
Thank kccjatb

Travellers who viewed 55 Degrees North also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to 55 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Irish, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 21:00
Monday
09:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 21:00
Thursday
09:00 - 21:00
Friday
09:00 - 21:00
Saturday
09:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Causeway Street, Portrush BT56 8AB, Northern Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Northern Ireland  >  County Antrim  >  Portrush
  • Phone Number: +44 28 7082 2811

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of 55 Degrees North and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from 55 Degrees North staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?