We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


37 Knifesmithgate, Chesterfield S40 1RL, England
+44 1246 556996
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent55%
  • Very good30%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“sushi” (73 reviews)
“tofu” (5 reviews)
“spring rolls” (8 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM Hours
Chinese, Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
37 Knifesmithgate, Chesterfield S40 1RL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for an early Mothers' Day buffet meal with my family in the evening, service was quick and helpful, food was very nice, although it was a small restaurant which got quite noisy when it was full. But that didn't matter. Will come again

Thank M B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve been here a few times throughout the years and I have never had a bad experience. Although not set in a great location (you have to go through a questionable alley way to get to the restaurant), once inside the environment changes completely. We...More

Thank Jessica S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at the restaurant not knowing what to expect .Entrance through a grubby alleyway, and first impressions of the interior was not good ,very basic and certainly not fine dining .Service was not great but well meaning ,but the food itself was excellent, we had...More

Thank holmandr
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Lovely evening out, and great service. Although it was beautiful, it wasn't unlike many other Chinese Resteraunts I've visited, the service and food was an average standard..

Thank gracie-emzxx
Reviewed 29 January 2018

We arrived 5 mins early they sat us at a table and said we are seating you here until your table is ready, ok we were at a table for 4, 20 mins later we were moved to another table for 4? I don't know...More

Thank Carrie-Anne M
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Decided to go here on a Sunday about noonish! Arrived and there was only one other table seated but it picked up quick, order veg platter to start, king prawn and selection of sushi 🍣 all was great particularly the platter! For main we had...More

Thank Steph N
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We haven't been here for quite a while but our Son is mad on Japanese food and wanted to stop here for his birthday. We are very glad we came along, it was the buffet menu basically you could just keep ordering and I guess...More

1  Thank Paul F
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't Japanese cuisine noted for its excellent and healthy ingredients, all freshly prepared? What we had to endure was a constant stream of greasy, rubbery, over-salted, indigestible foodstuffs swimming in what appeared to be engine oil and for which...More

1  Thank Zenxxx
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Visited for dinner with my son. This is a small restaurant that delivers delicious food. We ate Chinese food that was delivered in excellent time and was very tasty. Service was brisk and friendly, I would definitely recommend this restaurant and also encourage you to...More

Thank Terry G
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The food here is so tasty and always fresh which makes O-Tokuda a place I always return to. However, this particular time I came, the service was quite slow, with us waiting a while for our order to be taken and for the food to...More

Thank Ella H
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Chesterfield
The Portland Hotel
663 reviews
.33 km away
Ibis Chesterfield Centre
857 reviews
.47 km away
Buckingham's Hotel
249 reviews
.69 km away
Abbeydale Hotel
228 reviews
.76 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Stephensons Tea And Coffee House
327 reviews
.09 km away
Bottle & Thyme
169 reviews
.06 km away
Miss Poppy's Coffee Shop
61 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Chesterfield Parish Church/Crooked Spire
531 reviews
.16 km away
Queen's Park
131 reviews
.65 km away
Pomegranate Theatre
133 reviews
.22 km away
Olympia House Antiques & Craft Centre
37 reviews
.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
28 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from robertpugsley | Reviewed this property |
I am 100 per cent sure there is no restriction tho i would still book in advance...sorry for the late reply
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from OTokudaC | Property representative |
We can arrange the back door to go in to avoid the stairs down then. But, please inform us before you come. Hopes this help.
Carol H
15 December 2016|
Response from OTokudaC | Property representative |
Our new year eve all you can eat priced £15.99 per person. Thanks for your enquiry. Kind regards, O-Tokuda
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Buffet
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 37 Knifesmithgate, Chesterfield S40 1RL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Derbyshire  >  Chesterfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1246 556996
  • E-mail
All you can eat menus: - Sunday Early Bird Offer valid leave before 4pm (GMT): £13.99 per head. - Sunday - Thursday: £14.49 per head; - Friday & Saturday: £15.49 per head. - Children under aged 8 will be 50% of the above price. - Under aged 3: free of charge. >> Delicious Japanese food served up by a team of Japanese staff in the relaxing ambience, conveniently located in the town centre, we are just a stone’s throw away from the Crooked Spire. We also have our Homemade Japanese flavour Ice-cream such as Macha, Adzuki, Black and White Sesame Seeds, Wasabi, etc...
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing