We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Original Bakewell Pudding Shop

The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
+44 1629 812193
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“bakewell pudding” (379 reviews)
“cakes” (144 reviews)
“bread” (51 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I have visited this place many times over the years and never disappointed. While it’s not the only menu item by a long shot, most people, like us, come just for the hot Bakewell Pudding with custard. This is one of the...More

Thank yorkiejohn1
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really appreciate your continued support, we really love to read that people have visited us many times so thank you. It's also really classy of you to leave nice feedback on here thanks for taking the time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very helpful service in this traditional historical and atmospheric restaurant. Comfortable dining room with beamed ceiling and stone fireplace. Traditional Bakewell menu options, including tarts, puddings and pies but also other substantial things like hot food and ploughmans etc. Great range of drinks and teas...More

Thank Tim L
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for visiting Tim and leaving nice feedback on here, the team here at the pudding shop are all really grateful to you for taking the time. Really glad you enjoyed your time here with us, we hope it was just a small...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

That's all I need to say. £8 for a light bite jacket potato! I have had a better jacket potato from a truck stop for £2.50. Order wrong. There were about 7 beans on my jacket. No butter. Very dry. Salad was the nicest part....More

Thank lstory89
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry you didn't enjoy your time with is here at the Bakewell Pudding Shop. We sell dozens of Jacket potatoes a week and they're normally very popular but we're sorry if your wasn't what you were expecting. You seem dissapointed with the value for money...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

WOW !!!! what a very disappointing visit . my wife and me decided to stop in Bakewell to eat the Bakewell pudding . the waiter recommented to us to try the share pudding ( more filing apparently ) and he was right . The pudding...More

1  Thank stephanieSpan
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sincerely sorry to read that you didn't enjoy your Bakewell pudding. They are very sweet by nature and like any food item peoples enjoyment of them is subjective. We're sorry you didn't give us this feedback on the day as it could be that this...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Been here quite a lot over the years. We always buy our Bakewell Pudding from them as I think they’re on par with other bakers, but have a better food range. The cafe is good too.More

Thank Rayding1
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We really appreciate the feedback, thank you. We like to thing of ourselves as a friendly bunch and we are certainly proud of our produce so thanks for taking the time to say something nice about it. Thanks for visiting we look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having visited the shop many years ago, it is always nice to treat yourself to the best desert in the world. Bakewell pudding is on a whole other level...go on...you know you want to! :)

Thank 024Matt
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

This is a very wise review. We're grateful to you for leaving a review on here and being an evangelist for the noble pudding!! Thanks for coming in we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well when in Bakewell you've got to try the Bakewell Pudding. I had a small pudding which was served warm with a choice of cream or custard. It was lovely and should definitely be tried. The cost of the pudding drastically increases to eat in...More

Thank Sazzyw
StephenCraig1, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for coming in and giving our Bakewell Pudding we're really glad you enjoyed it! Your right to point out that are puddings are much cheaper to take away and this is because whilst the base product is the same there is extra...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had the big breakfast today, 5* really tasty. Quick service, hot food, every food element was cooked to perfection. I had never tried oat pancakes before and enjoyed them immensely. Scrambled eggs were excellent, as were the award winning sausage. Definitely a place to visit....More

Thank Gary A
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for leaving such a nice review on here Gary we really appreciate it. We're very proud of the breakfasts we serve here and we're really glad you highlighted the Derbyshire oatcake as we love them! We think it adds a unique element along with...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to visit because our usual restaurant was busy and the menu for this one was appealing. There were 5 of us and we were seated quickly. After a short wait a waitress arrived to take the order. We ordered the large breakfast, small...More

Thank bladess26
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting and we're really sorry to read about the mix up with your toast, we should have handled that much better. We like to pride ourselves on being a friendly bunch in here to so we're really sorry if you feel like we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for a hot drink and some of the famous Bakewell pudding. The pudding comes in a sharing portion, with jugs of custard and cream (best with custard!), served warm it’s better than the more commonly known Bakewell Tart. As you’d expect it’s a...More

Thank Radders987
ChristyDawes, Manager at Original Bakewell Pudding Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to visit and leave such a nice review on here we really appreciate it. It's really great to read you enjoyed our Bakewell pudding, thanks for giving it a try! Hope your time spent with us was just...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Bakewell
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
949 reviews
.10 km away
Bagshaw Hall
423 reviews
.22 km away
The Lathkil Hotel
184 reviews
2.39 km away
Hassop Hall Hotel
510 reviews
3.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Piedaniel's Restaurant
502 reviews
.07 km away
Ricci's
551 reviews
.05 km away
The Peacock
1,299 reviews
.07 km away
Eastern Court Chinese
85 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bakewell Old House Museum
187 reviews
.33 km away
River Wye
91 reviews
.17 km away
All Saints Church
112 reviews
.22 km away
Thornbridge Brewery
76 reviews
1.00 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paula H
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 720yvonnec | Reviewed this property |
Simply I don't know because I am not part of the restaurant. I suggest you ring them and ask?
-1
Votes
885David
28 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ste_C1985 | Property representative |
Yes we serve coffee and all other drinks in our restaurants upstairs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$16
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Square, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 812193
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing