We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1OS, England
+44 1629 813600
Website
Today
09:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

185 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 185: English reviews
West Midlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited yesterday with our two young daughters. The pub is spacious and inviting. My wife and I had burgers and the kids had fish and chips. The food was lovely and the kids meals were free which was a bonus. The staff were friendly and welcoming. My only complaint was the burgers being served on a board not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jim H
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us a five star review! Feel free to ask us for a plate rather than a board next time you dine with us, we'll be more than happy to sort that for you. I'm so glad you found the staff friendly and welcoming. Hopefully we will see you and your family again soon. Many thanks, Jessica More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Just come back from a lovely day in Bakewell with the family.. called in here for some lunch... had to wait over an hour for our food to arrive!! Which wasn't cheap! After going back to the bar for another round of drinks whilst waiting for our food we thought we would check the bill.. we had 2 large glasses... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jlojerrett
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

I have spoken with the member of staff who accidentally pressed the wrong button on the till and he asked me to pass on his apologies. It was completely unintentional but an annoying human error for you non-the-less. It is our policy to inform every customer of the wait time if it is over the standard cooking time, I can... More 

Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited last night, having spent the day walking and decided last minute to have an evening meal before driving home. The pub was fairly busy and we were warned that there would be a 30 to 40 minute delay on food but we were happy to wait and had a drink. We had the sharing nacho's to start which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the five star review! I'm glad you were informed about the delay and still decided to stay and enjoyed it so much! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, maybe you can try one of the other dishes you saw leave the kitchen. Many thanks, Jessica More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We waited for over an hour and a half for our meals! There was no indication when ordering that there would be such a delay! Although staff were very apologetic and gave us bread to tide us over, the wait ruined the experience! A ridiculous period of time to wait!! Staff need to tell customers if this is the case... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rover-CG
JessicaReay, General Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

It is our policy to make every customer aware of any wait over the standard cooking time when they are greeted by a member of staff at the door and shown to a table. On occasion people do make there way to a table with out contact with a member of staff, so I can only apologise that you weren't... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Average food and service for a Wednesday steak night. Not a good dinning experience. Pity really as Bakewell is lovely and the pub is inviting from the outside. We were made to feel as if it was a hassle that we were ordering food. Steaks undercooked and a dirty wine glass. This may have been a one off, but first... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DaveNSNO
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We saw a sign outside advertising a steak night there were no times stipulated. We went on a Wednesday night (steak night), went out what we think is a normal time for a meal & got in there for 7.50pm, we didn't get offered any menus & when we went to the bar to ask for them to decide what... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok, the previous reviews for this experience are mixed, but with regret I have to side with those who would not return. We visited, having chosen this "experience" from an "Experiences" gift. When we arrived at 4pm on market day the rooms were almost empty which didn't bode well. Service was prompt but lacking any kind of style or engagement.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank paul186364
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your review, we are a pub that offers afternoon tea and we do get very good feedback on our offering and have recently extended our offering. I'm saddened to read that you didn't enjoy your visit with us on this occasions but I am glad you received prompt service. 4pm on a Monday does... More 

Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on a Sunday afternoon with mixed feelings. The quaint furniture is great but the service and quality of food don't quite match!

Helpful?
Thank Perfectlifelondon007
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's really disappointing to read that you didn't experience our usual standard of food and service. Hopefully if you visit us in the future we will be able to allow you the chance to see us at our best. Many Thanks, Jessica More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Droped in just by chance, while visiting family, and we had a great time, great food and great company. The ploughman's was outstanding! Really friendly staff😀

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

Thank you for the five stars! The ploughman's is very popular, glad you enjoyed it. I have to agree with you, I think our staff are friendly to. Many Thanks, Jessica More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in April 2017 as a small family (2+1). Its a convenient central Bakewell location just off the main high street. Its quite spacious and decorated smartly, whilst still holding a traditional pub feeling. Drinks prices are a bit pricey, 2 pints being £8 but this is comparable to most other pubs we visited in Bakewell. Food is reasonable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dishonoured
JessicaReay, Manager at Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. I was so happy to read that you enjoyed all of your food, even the kids meal. We do feel we are competitively priced for the area, thank you for noting. Marstons do supply us with our lovely beers you're correct, we're not Marstons run as it were, meaning we can... More 

Travellers who viewed Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Calver, Hope Valley
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 23:00
Monday
09:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 23:00
Thursday
09:00 - 23:00
Friday
09:00 - 23:00
Saturday
09:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1OS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Peak District National Park  >  Bakewell
  • Phone Number: +44 1629 813600

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wheatsheaf Pub & Pantry staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?