We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Fleece Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Seafood, Grill
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
8-10 Broad Street | Boxford, Babergh District CO10 5DX, England
+44 1787 211183
Website
Today
12:00 - 22:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 101: English reviews
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had some great food, locals were really friendly drinking at the bar after, good fun night out. Highly recommend! Plenty of daily specials!

Helpful?
Thank bestdogever
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We decided to go to the fleece for our date night, we was really not disappointed by our choice, great friendly service always polite! As for the food we was not disappointed by the quality and presentation.. Definitely a cut above your standard pub food, we will be returning for many years to come. So nice to see pub food... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
Lound, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Here for dinner on a Saturday evening; bar really busy but dining room empty; we were to find out why! Started badly. Ordered bottle of red wine which was placed unopened on the table, no offer to taste the wine, as waitress retreated hastily to the kitchen. Shared starter of baked camembert, served with celery and apples; nothing added to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scottieburnett
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry you didn't feel you had a very good experience at The Fleece. We always strive to provide the best service and sorry you didn't feel this way. We only wish that you could of told us at the time that your meals weren't up to standard and we could of rectified this at the time. We hope this... More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited with the family after searching and we was not let down. The food was amazing and reasonable prices. The staff were friendly and could not complain at all. Would recommend to anyone and they hold entertainment night at the weekend and it's set in a lovely location of boxford opposite the river and not hard to find.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl A
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to The Fleece and enjoyed your meals. We hope to see you again very soon! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My partner and I (and our dog) had a great lunch at The Fleece Hotel. I had the fish of the day which was superbly fresh Plaice lightly battered and a mound of chips and peas. My partner had homemade Steak and Guinness pie, fresh veg and chips in stead of mash - just what we needed on a cold... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaG25
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your recent visit to The Fleece and enjoyed your meals off of our new winter menu! We hope to see you again very soon to try some of the other dishes we have to offer! More 

Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was so surprised by this pub. It is a proper country pub in the hands of attentive owners. They listen to their customers. My guest is unusual,he likes his chips well done and quite brown. This is the only place I have ever found that did them as he wanted. I like extra gravy and got gravy boat. 10... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas S
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're very pleased you had a pleasant experience upon your recent visit to The Fleece. We are forever striving to provide a brilliant service and attend to every customers needs. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Was just stopping by for a spot of dinner and found this gem on trip advisor. The service was exceptional with a warm welcome, great food with a good selection of ales and a friendly atmosphere. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We're very pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to The Fleece. We like to make sure that every customer receives the best possible service from our staff. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2016

Visited here after reading good reviews. Sadly our meal was awful. My husband is a real steak and chips guy but said this was one of the worst steaks he had ever had. Meat was wafer thin , poorly cooked and grey in colour. We were not asked how our meal was until we paid. Very poor value for money.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Travelbugs1847739
The-Fleece, Owner at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry for your poor experience, our steaks are locally sourced and are 8oz if you asked at the time we could have changed your meal. Thank you for your review and we shall make changes. Ben Director LIL CATERING LTD More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2016

Lovely friendly staff. However the roast beef was served with inappropriate accompaniments. Would suggest trad vegetables rather than fancy undercooked vegetables.

Helpful?
2 Thank jrdh2016
The-Fleece, Public Relations Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

We have restructured our Sunday roast Please come and try again. More 

colchester/swaffham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016

My friends wanted to go to the White Horse at Edwardstone - a pub I used to go to often, so we duly pitched up, only to be treated like dirt. So, we decamped to The Fleece and what a difference! Lovely, friendly staff, excellent beer choices and lovely food. So different and so refreshingly good. Nothing is too much... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank funsizebikerbabe
The-Fleece, Manager at The Fleece Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of The Fleece. We're glad you enjoyed the food and drinks we had to offer and received good service from our lovely staff. We hope to see you again soon More 

Travellers who viewed The Fleece Hotel also viewed

Sudbury, Babergh District
 
Sudbury, Babergh District
Sudbury, Babergh District
 

Been to The Fleece Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Seafood, Grill
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8-10 Broad Street | Boxford, Babergh District CO10 5DX, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Babergh District  >  Sudbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1787 211183
Description
This is a real pub! We stay loyal to the buildings roots and ensure it has the atmosphere we all relish from a pub. We serve quality local and national real ales including a number from our own brewery just 2 miles up the road, as well as excellent lagers, wines, whiskies and more. Our food is homemade and prepared fresh to order, of excellent quality taking advantage of local and seasonal produce , Offering value for money in a relaxed and casual atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Fleece Hotel and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Middle East

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Fleece Hotel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?