We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Merry Monk

Killala Road, Ballina Co Mayo, Ireland
+353 96 73990
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“beef” (4 reviews)
“salad” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish, Bar, European, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Killala Road, Ballina Co Mayo, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely carvery dinner. Reasonable price. Handy free parking. Nice staff. Just outside Ballina town. Would recommend for lunch or dinner during the day.

Thank Emmie L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really great servings in a fairly friendly, traditional Irish pub. Needs updating. All vegetables are home grown.

Thank Mike_from_Staffs
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

What seems to be important here is low price and quantity . A vast heap in front of you for a certain price. It may appeal to some but Supermacs would be a step up. Positives: easy access for our older 2, loads of parking...More

1  Thank Hobart122
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Coming from the wild north Mayo coast, this was the first eating place we spotted in Ballina, and it had (a) lunch and (b) parking. It was another carvery, but good choices, and I went for the roast bacon and cabbage. Very tasty, and friendly...More

1  Thank AvuncularAmerican
Reviewed 10 October 2017

If looking for friendly atmosphere and natural from local farms,stop in to the Merry Monk. Friends recommended this spot for lunch and we were pleased.with this choice.

Thank mvcoach
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Last night out decided to book the merry monk. When we arrived at 6.pm supervisor informed us we don't take bookings but when she checked the ledger the entry had been taken, not the warmest welcome. restaurant was quiet, a carvery had finished at 4...More

1  Thank Brian H
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We met with family while in Ireland and the Merry Monk was the central point for us to meet. As it turned the Merry Monk was an excellent choice. We had a wonderful meal and the staff was able to accommodate a large group with...More

Thank Nancy-Walt
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We went to the merry monk for tea and a scone. Waited 5 minutes before we were given a menu. Finally we ordered tea and one scone. Got the tea, waited for milk, then when I had almost finished my cup of tea, I got...More

1  Thank cat085
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I was delighted to have visited The Merry Monk at the weekend. What a lovely place, I was there with my husband and family and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was lovely and plenty of it. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Would...More

Thank yvonne n
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Never dissatisfied. Had Saturday afternoon buffet with the family of nine. Everyone enjoyed got a table all together most had the carvery, good choice of meats and vegetables. Desserts lovely too.

Thank Susan O
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Ballina
Belleek Castle
531 reviews
1.29 km away
The Ice House Hotel
1,366 reviews
1.72 km away
Quignalegan House
42 reviews
2.29 km away
Ballina Manor Hotel
510 reviews
2.45 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Dillons Bar & Restaurant
502 reviews
2.21 km away
Belleek Castle Restaurant
318 reviews
1.29 km away
The Broken Jug
300 reviews
2.34 km away
Crockets on the Quay
379 reviews
1.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Belleek Castle Museum
179 reviews
1.29 km away
Jackie Clarke Collection
121 reviews
2.22 km away
Connacht Whiskey Company
52 reviews
1.86 km away
Rosserk Friary
60 reviews
4.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
philipcarleton61
15 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Susan O | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think they have B&B but there is definitely some close by or in the town.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$15
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, European, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Killala Road, Ballina Co Mayo, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Ballina
  • Phone Number: +353 96 73990
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing