We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oscar Taylor Restaurant

Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
+353 1 845 0099
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“ham” (5 reviews)
“potatoes” (7 reviews)
“chicken curry” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
Irish, European
$$ - $$$
Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oscars has been doing a great trade in food for as long as I can remember, Always go hungry as the portions here are fit for a farmer . The steaks ,for which they are famous are full of flavour and that pepper sauce a...More

1  Thank KathyMalahide
Reviewed 2 November 2017

An old family favourite, Oscar Taylor Restaurant in Malahide. A joint family birthday warranted another visit to a well loved restaurant. How it took a turn for the worse. Part One - The Arrival A table was booked for eighteen people a few months in...More

2  Thank Trainfanireland
brogans1, General Manager at Oscar Taylor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi Trainfanireland, Thank you for taking the time to write a very informative review on your experience of when you visited Oscar Taylors Restaurant. We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your experience with us on the day, as you describe Osars as an...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

I go to Oscar Taylor’s every month or two. It is close by, so an easy choice on a rainy night. The food was very average, but suddenly the food was much better. A new chef made the difference. Now I try to get in...More

3  Thank Mike741776 .
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Tried this place twice recently for Sunday lunch , 1st time food ok, last Sunday just terrible .It really needs to be closed for a period to be updated as everything is old , clientele no more than myself are the older generation who maybe...More

1  Thank df1arc
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Recommended by two taxi drivers I guess we irritated our waiter as we took our time to examine the entire menu, but there were only a few occupied tables, or maybe it was because the kitchen closes at 9:30pm. The lady was more pleasant and...More

2  Thank Sweethome71
Reviewed 28 September 2017

There was a good selection for the carvery and an option to have a small portion if you wanted. I had the chicken curry and asked for a small portion but while they used a small plate, they piled it so high that the food...More

1  Thank MrsGiroud
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

I went with friends to Malahide today we stopped for a bit to eat here, the carvery was still on so we said ok. The food we got was cold and brunt and no teast at all. It was my first and last time there

1  Thank Paul B
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant before and we again weren't disappointed. The restaurant is well run and the food is of a decent standard. . The only thing I would pull it up on is having our coffee cups put down on the table...More

1  Thank Rupert C
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I had dinner downstairs in the bar area on the 12/08/2017 I found the food to be stiff cold, and to be total muck. I hate mushy peas the dinner was so bad the mushy peas actually turned out to be the only thing saveable...More

Thank owenscars2014
Ronan K, Manager at Oscar Taylor Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Owenscars In reference to you terrible review of our Carvery on 12th August , it is always our goal that everybody dining with us enjoys there food and quite obviously on this occasion you didn't enjoy yours for which we are very disappointed ....More

Reviewed 27 July 2017

The early bird special is the way to go. I would caution one that the portions are quite large, even by US standards. You will have to make up your mind on the starters. The sea bass is good and cooked well, not overdone. The...More

Thank tmjrobin
Nearby Restaurants
374 reviews
.78 km away
Seabank Bistro
364 reviews
.25 km away
The Greedy Goose
492 reviews
.77 km away
Scotch Bonnet
383 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Malahide Castle Co. Dublin
208 reviews
1.00 km away
Malahide Beach
197 reviews
.24 km away
Clash Gaelic Games
41 reviews
1.38 km away
Toots Malahide Road Train
84 reviews
1.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanne C
Most of my family (The Creans') decided to book for an evening meal on Saturday 25th March (2017) to celebrate mother's day. On arrival the table, seats,and surrounding floor area was littered with food deposits and the table had been set for 9 diners. The meals were served by very pleasant staff and the food was very well presented and tasty. However nearing the end of my meal, I discovered not 1 but 2 human hairs in a piece of sea bass, I was very disappointed and felt ill, this occasion was meant to be my treat from my Children and Grandchildren. The lady (supervisor) was informed and she immediately apologised. My eldest daughter then almost choked on a hair that was discovered in a profiterole. I was offered to have my meal deducted from the total bill and the lady also sent a complimentary cocktail to the table, but, my daughter didn't even get an apology, I understand the pressure on staff during busy periods but I also understand customer service and customer satisfaction. I would like to know the reason for my daughter's complaint being completely ignored?
29 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Linda N | Reviewed this property |
That is very disappointing considering I would have recommended this restaurant to people like yourselves. I have just received a voucher for 50euro from a friend and was looking forward to using it..But now I am so... More
johan c
21 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Liveshealthy | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry, but don't know who this is:(
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$10 - US$25
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Island View Hotel Coast Road, Malahide, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Malahide
  • Phone Number: +353 1 845 0099
  • E-mail
A Restaurant situated in the Island View Hotel with beautiful views of the Malahide coast line.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing