We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rose & Crown Pub

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
+44 1225 722153
Website
Today
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 98: English reviews
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have visited here a few times and on the first occasion it was just the new owners first day, lovely and friendly albeit they were very busy and seemed to be chasing after themselves into the unknown world of pub trading, have visited three more times since then and wow they truly have found their feet, it's a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicole m
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here as a group of 11 for a weekend. The pub, both with the accommodation, and the food alike was great, we had a brilliant time, The hosts were friendly and efficient with no request too much bother. We ate in the bar which added atmosphere to our dining experience. The rooms were comfortable, warm, clean and well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim J
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Where to start with the Rose and Crown; this family friendly pub/restaurant has provided us with years of great food, drink and customer service. With the new owners, the standard has only got better, staff always welcoming us with a smile and carry a happy to help attitude.

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

I am told in Spain that the British do not eat properly or know how to cook, all I can say is that they do not go to the right places, try the local pubs, we eat very well in the UK!

Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch today. Now a carvery but very nice. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. Good real ale. We like this pub as it works as a pub and a restaurant. Food quality always consistently good.

Helpful?
Thank Alison R
Miami
Level Contributor
487 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

The service here was fantastic. We stumbled upon this place while driving through. The food was a bit bland but not bad. The dessert wS exquisite! Definitely try the cheesecake.

Helpful?
Thank AJCC1
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016

Just been out for a light Birthday lunch with friends at the Rose and Crown, haven't been for several years after a not so good experience, what a difference, wished we had not left it so long, staff welcoming, great service, cleanliness excellent and the food great could not fault anything, the management have really got it right, can't wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janette M
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016

It was a big family group but this was truly the worst carvery I have ever had. Raw stuffing, yorkshire pudding that tasted a day old, hard cabbage, greasy barely brown 'roast' potatoes, watery gravy. Horrible. The beef was nice and the place and bar staff were lovely but absolutely awful food.

Helpful?
Thank Becky H
Rose and Crown H, Manager at Rose & Crown Pub, responded to this review

Hello Becky, thank you for your review. I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. I have had no feed back regarding this at all. I wish you had spoken to me on the day so I could have rectified any problems. More 

Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2016

Dinner was really really good, the price was great, food was cooked in a normal amount of time. I would describe as a bistro pub. Waitress not the best but very nice and very friendly and didn't spoil our evening in any way.

Helpful?
Thank ali1234567892016
Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2016

Good honest pub food, very friendly welcome, quiet traditional pub resturant. Would come again thank you

Helpful?
Thank Claire C

Travellers who viewed Rose & Crown Pub also viewed

 
Norton St Philip, Bath
 
Norton St Philip, Bath
 

Been to Rose & Crown Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$19
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Monday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Tuesday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Wednesday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Thursday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Friday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Saturday
08:00 - 09:30
12:00 - 21:15
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7SN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath  >  Hinton Charterhouse
  • Phone Number: +44 1225 722153

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rose & Crown Pub and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Rose & Crown Pub staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?