We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oyster Inn

) #1 of 1 Restaurants in Butley $$ - $$$ , , British
Woodbridge Road, Butley IP12 3NZ, England
+44 1394 459722
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good26%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“oysters” (19 reviews)
“pork burger” (2 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 - 23:00All hours
CUISINES
Pub, Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Woodbridge Road, Butley IP12 3NZ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Stopped off here after a visit to rendlesham forest, hadn't booked but we were seated without trouble. Great selection of food. Thai curry was amazing. Pub is beautifully decorated with beautiful views. Manager Rob was really friendly and informative over local area. We will definitely...More

Thank fabalistic
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at the Oyster - we really appreciate it. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes.

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

This pub was derelict for years. It is in beautiful countryside and made the ideal stop off for cyclists and walkers So happy to see it reopen. Nicely refurbished inside and out. Delicious roast beef Well kept real ale. Friendly staff. The chocolate tart dessert...More

Thank Joy A
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for this lovely review - we really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back! Best wishes.

Reviewed 3 days ago

The Oyster at Butley has only recently reopened and been restored very well. Some work is still ongoing at the back of the pub. The menu isn't extensive, but there are many vegetarian options. Have eaten their twice in the last month since discovering it...More

Thank Nigel B
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are delighted that you are pleased to see the Oyster re-opened, and appreciate your encouragement to others to support us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Poor service. Not impressed with choice of food and presentation was poor too. Very disappointed... will not be returning..More

Thank sarahso80
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to the Oyster Inn, and that you didn't like the menu. It is indeed a simple pub food menu but obviously we aim to always present it well and with a smile, so apologies...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Food was less than average and over priced. Real shame. We visited to celebrate a special occasion, less than warm welcome. Looks good, fails in every other aspect. Staff young and inexperienced. Needs a management shakeup.

Thank Sandersandco
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit - that is obviously very disappointing for us as we want everyone to have a good experience when they visit. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Best wishes.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This has been beautifully restored after it was neglected for years, lovely garden area. Friendly staff, good locally sourced food. Will be back.

Thank KB1850
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for this lovely review. As you say, it was derelict for so long - we are pleased that you like what we have done. Many thanks for your support and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for the first time in years. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The menu, though not extensive, was very good honest pub food. The only problem we had was that we could not see a children's menu but I suppose we should have...More

Thank Michael C
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for coming back to the Oyster and thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. Yes, there is a children's menu - they are tucked into the children's annuals to keep them amused while you order! We look forward to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

First time we have visited since the reopening & what a lovely surprise. A very tasteful makeover, keeping it's historic character intact without over doing the shabby Chic. The menu was not large but perfectly adequate, the food was very good and we were both...More

Thank Iris G
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for sharing your feedback after your first visit to the "new" Oyster. We are delighted that you liked what we have done, and look forward to welcoming you back to see the barns when they are finished! Thank you again for your support.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

staff very attentive good service good food , only problem we had were the amount of flies a bit off putting

Thank paulawytchard
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Many thanks for sharing your feedback, the staff will appreciate that. I am sorry to hear that the flies were a pain, and hope it didn't spoil your visit. Best wishes.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a delicious early supper here tonight, myself, my son and his two children. The service was swift, friendly and efficient. Adults had delicious fish and chips, the children's menu was good and generous portions and delightfully, the menu was hidden in a Horrible...More

Thank Sarah O
Judi2000, Owner at The Oyster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your encouragement to others. Many thanks and best wishes.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Rendlesham Wok Centre
9 reviews
3.88 km away
Pump Street Bakery
303 reviews
5.38 km away
Ship Inn Blaxhall
65 reviews
6.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jars of Clay
29 reviews
4.07 km away
Orford Castle
351 reviews
5.23 km away
Suffolk Punch Trust
146 reviews
6.11 km away
Snape Maltings
471 reviews
6.96 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Oyster Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$13 - US$20
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:30
Saturday
11:00 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Woodbridge Road, Butley IP12 3NZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Suffolk  >  Butley
  • Phone Number: +44 1394 459722
  • E-mail
Description
The Oyster Inn re-opened in March 2017 as a traditional village pub, serving real ale and home-style pub food. Located next to Rendlesham Forest, it has always been popular with cyclists and ramblers and was famous for its folk nights.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing