We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Navigation Inn

Thrupp Wharf, Cosgrove MK19 7BE, England
+44 1908 926270
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (57 reviews)
“pork belly” (19 reviews)
“scotch egg” (13 reviews)
Opens in 24 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Mediterranean, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Thrupp Wharf, Cosgrove MK19 7BE, England
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Turned up as part of a group of 11. The restaurant was fairly quiet when we arrived around 3:15 so we was served our drinks at the bar whilst we waited for our table. We had Pre-booked and was sat down almost on time. Service...More

Thank Sprids101
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for these comments - we're proud of where we are, what we have and what we're hoping to do in the future. We hope to have you back again soon. Kind regards, Fabio and The Navigation team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second time me and my daughter been here. I had chargrilled gammon which was the best iv'e ever had. Chips were the best too. Daughter had chicken and gammon pie. Packed with meat. They were on the 2 for £10 menu. Mon-fri. Best value for...More

Thank Velta B
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Dear Velta B, You have left a review for the wrong Navigation Inn - we do not offer Gammon or a 2 for £10 menu. Kind regards, Fabio and The Navigation team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice restaurant, very good location. Food and staff very good. You can sit outside or inside. Lovely view of the canal and busts.

Thank Barbara R
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Hi Barbara, Thanks ever so much for leaving this review. We hope you'll be back again soon. Kind regards, Fabio and The Navigation team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped while passing through, wow a modern, clean and attractive pub/restaurant. Extensive menu and plenty of tables inside and outside on a veranda or tables in the garden with a great view of the canal and boats. Friendly and attentive staff with a clean and...More

Thank Paul A
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review - we're very lucky to have been entrusted with such a wonderful property to take care of. I'm pleased that we were able to make your experience worthy of comment and hope that you'll be visiting us again soon. Kind...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We cycled along the Grand Union canal this morning and called in for breakfast. The staff were friendly and the service and food was excellent. The most impressive thing to note was the attractiveness of the outside eating area. The tables were clean, patio weed...More

Thank dianego2017
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

With a venue like this it's our duty to make sure that it is well kept and presentable at all times and when our guests notice it too, it makes all the hard graft worthwhile. We're very lucky to have such dedicated staff that really...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have been several times before and had been great. This time was very disappointing, ordered a pint of cask beer which was cloudy, know this can happen but barman should have known better than send it out! House burger was OK but over cooked. Fish...More

Thank wendlebury2014
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments and I'm pleased to see that you have felt able to make comment given that you are a valued and regular visitor to us. Our pricing directly reflects the freshness, sustainability and high quality of the ingredients we use and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a beautiful roast dinner could not fault it- even dietary requirements catered for. Only down side was the service. Admittedly it was busy at 2.30! We were kept hanging around like spare parts for over 20 mins no one even offered us a...More

1  Thank Oliverwine
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting and, again, thank you so much for coming back to us - we do appreciate our regulars as they are the litmus test for our entire offering. Our wine is sourced from the highest quality suppliers and this is directly reflected...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am surprised to see a spate of poor reviews. My wife and I have eaten here three times in the last six months, will be going again soon, and have had good food and portions each time. The first occasion was because of vegetarian...More

Thank BrummyExile
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We do try to cater for everyone and are very proud of our dedication to looking after guests with specific dietary requirements. You're right, our Specials Board is the place to go - at the moment - for 'off...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location overlooking the canal. Limited menu. Mainly pizza and pasta although the specials menu offered a few alternatives. Service was slow but friendly. Food was good quality but in our view over priced. The restaurant was incredibly noisy making conversation difficult.More

Thank Linda A
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Our pricing is dictated directly by the quality, freshness and sustainability of the ingredients our chefs use to make the dishes. We believe that we are very competitive in the local market. With a very popular, busy restaurant, we do...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have hiked past here before and being a pre MK new town person this pub featured on many rambles across the fields. Never been in it before. All very nicely done up with fine Italian dining. Designed to appeal to the canal boating fraternity with...More

Thank LondonTell
OISite, General Manager at Navigation Inn, responded to this review

So glad that you finally managed to take the plunge and give us a try. We're very lucky with our location and hearing that the food and service matched your expectations makes what we do so worthwhile. Thank you for the review and we hope...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Barley Mow
108 reviews
1.13 km away
Silver Sea
12 reviews
1.56 km away
Peri Peri Original Milton Keynes
9 reviews
1.58 km away
Nearby Attractions
Milton Keynes Museum
549 reviews
4.55 km away
Coldsmoking
101 reviews
6.47 km away
Cloud 9 Spa
6 reviews
2.79 km away
Forever Gorgeous
12 reviews
3.39 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Peter C
Can we get a gift voucher for the Navigation ?
21 May 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from OISite | Property representative |
Hi Peter C, Yes just pop in and see us and we can arrange this for you. Kind Regards, The Navigation
0
Votes
michaelvernon1
We eat at the Navigation Inn last Autumn with a fellow 2 foodies and had a wonderful evening on a busy Saturday. I am thinking of bringing 3 friends next month, who enjoy good food and real ale. I am slightly put off as there seems to be a high percentage of negative reviews on Trip Advisor about the service and small portions and quality of food. You always get 1 but I have a nigerly feeling and do not want to let my friends down. Do I stick with a very good local restaurant which we all enjoy and in over 5 years never have had a bad meal or try The Navigation?
31 March 2017|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Chris M | Reviewed this property |
Give it a try and tell staff you want to be looked after
1
Vote
Berny226
Are you dog friendly?
15 July 2016|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from TheNavCosgrove | Property representative |
Due to our open concept Kitchen dogs are not permitted indoors, you are most welcome to enjoy our outdoor spaces with your dog however.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 00:00
Monday
08:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 00:00
Thursday
08:00 - 00:00
Friday
08:00 - 00:00
Saturday
08:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Thrupp Wharf, Cosgrove MK19 7BE, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Cosgrove
  • Phone Number: +44 1908 926270
  • E-mail