We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Samuel Lloyd

The Samuel Lloyd Building Rockingham Road | Gretton Brook Road, Corby NN17 1AG, England
+44 1536 447910
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent29%
  • Very good34%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“curry” (9 reviews)
“peas” (5 reviews)
Open Now
8:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Samuel Lloyd Building Rockingham Road | Gretton Brook Road, Corby NN17 1AG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited for the first time today, service was good staff were friendly, food unfortunately was cold and my son had egg shell bits in his fried egg. How was this not seen when egg was cooking.More

Thank cazcab
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good evening and thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd' I would like to personally apologise for this occurrence as this is not the standard of food we usually serve and is a rare occurrence. I would personally like to look further into this for...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So we waited an hour for food complained twice and told no staff. When it arrived it was cold had to send four of six meals back! Usually good service but today dreadful. Staff could have warned us there was a long wait. What I...More

Thank Jaynie I
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Good evening. Thankyou for taking the time to review 'The Samuel Lloyd'. I apologise on behalf of the team for your unfortunate experience on this visit. Unfortunately sometimes we do become understaffed and I can assure you the staff working are trying their best to...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went a couple of times. Food is average and service also. I guess its true that you get what you pay for. Food is cheap drink not sure lol. Can be very noisy at times so don’t go here for a romantic dinner lol

Thank Mirela G
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'.

Reviewed 15 October 2017

Visited here 3 times while staying in Corby, lovely light atmosphere, staff very friendly and pleasant, meals good especially the lamb shank which was so tender. Excellent selection of food and drink as with all Wetherspoons. Keep up the good work.

Thank george12071688
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive review. We hope you come visit us again soon.

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great staff, always busy. Great food and excellent value for money. If only they had all of the food that is on the menu available! They never have fish and chips available, and last Sunday there was no steak and ale pie either. Other than...More

Thank markpturner62
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'. We're glad you can forgive the absence of some of our menu items. I am sure the next time you visit this we will have the items available. We look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 5 October 2017

The pub was not particularly busy as it was late afternoon. The food was overcooked cold and very disappointing. The staff weren't very helpful. The only good thing about our visit was that the beer was good. It will be a long time before we...More

Thank Yvonne B
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'.

Reviewed 3 September 2017

I work for a local authority and I am very happy to bring my community group to this restaurant. We are greeted with a welcome and a smile and my service users are treated with respect, not always the case in other establishments. The food...More

Thank ruthsant1959
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for your review of 'The Samuel Lloyd' We are happy that we have provided you with a pleasant visit and really appreciate the comments above as all our staff strive to give you the best service they can. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

I visited on 31/8/2017 Served at the bar quickly by a lovely dark haired young member of staff. Very polite Served me quickly and double checked my order was correct . Whilst he was serving me unfortunately the young team leader( blondeish) and a tall...More

Thank Steph S
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'. We will be looking further into the comments you have written above, thank you for providing us with this information. We are happy you enjoyed your meal and drink with us and hope to see you return again...More

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

This is a typical Wetherspoons. You get exactly what it says on the tin. A good, cheap meal and a good pint of real ale included in the price. However, I did feel that portions were slightly smaller than in some other Wetherspoon pubs and...More

Thank Gary K
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

I really wanted to give a higher rating... the staff are lovely. They were nothing but nice both nights. First the good. The prices are very reasonable for what you get. The staff are very nice, friendly and attentive. It's much larger inside than I...More

Thank edkennedy99
chloe f, Manager at The Samuel Lloyd, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Thank you for reviewing 'The Samuel Lloyd'. I am sorry your visit was not the best and you experienced a mishap on your meals both nights with us. Please feel free to contact us with a little more information directly. I can assure you we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Barn Tea Room At Rockingham
7 reviews
1.57 km away
Sondes Arms
432 reviews
1.59 km away
Hungry hossee
60 reviews
1.25 km away
A Tasca
110 reviews
1.51 km away
Nearby Attractions
Rockingham Castle
274 reviews
1.34 km away
Fineshade Wood
145 reviews
1.35 km away
Fineshade Woods
18 reviews
1.26 km away
Planet Bounce Corby
100 reviews
.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Samuel Lloyd staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$2 - US$12
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Samuel Lloyd Building Rockingham Road | Gretton Brook Road, Corby NN17 1AG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northamptonshire  >  Corby
  • Phone Number: +44 1536 447910
  • E-mail
Description
It was Samuel Lloyd who began the transformation of Corby, from a sleepy village in Rockingham Forest into a modern, industrial town. Stewart & Lloyds (the successor to Lloyds Ironstone Company) built many of the houses, as well as the school and sports ground in the vicinity of the Wetherspoon pub.The original village of Corby gets its name from 'Kori', the leader of the Danish invaders who settled in a Rockingham Forest clearing. Corby remained a village until the arrival of Samuel Lloyd, in the 1880s, when the new ironstone industry developed to dominate life in Corby, until the closure of the iron and steelworks in 1980.This wetherspoon, opened in July 2008, is completely new and is a gas-free site, it has an extrodinary design to traditional pubs to mark both its individuality, and to tie in with the concept of glass use in the building of some of corbys' landmark sites (cube/swimming pool)
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing