We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Albany

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Queens Road, Thames Ditton KT7 0QY, England
+44 20 8972 9163
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

473 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 470: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this place on a sunday, 3 kids and 6 adults. We arrived before our reservation time so had drinks at the bar. The whole place is used as a restaurant so no indoor seating area for just drinks. All the tables were being used but we were a large group and didnt mind standing/using some of the bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2mumstravel
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rory looked after us as if we were hi own personal guests. Fabulous, delicious food, really comfortable tables whether you're sitting in the 'dedicated Restaurant area' or in the Bar area, which still has the same level of impeccable service. Lovely ambiance, wonderful friendly & accommodating staff & of course the best view of HAMPTON COURT PALACE from the opposite... More 

Helpful?
Thank jesamy1326
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi jesamy 1326, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a feedback. I'm glad that you enjoyed our food, service and ambience. We hope to see you in the summer time when you can enjoy sitting outside by the river. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I meet friends for lunch regularly and as on previous visits the food was delicious and the staff lovely.Although it was extremely busy they were relaxed and efficient.We had mushrooms and the fried brie to start and the fish,chicken a nd wagyu burger for mains and all were great.

Helpful?
Thank SUELEWIS936
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Suelewis936, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit at the Albany even if it was extremely busy. I will pass your comments to our head chef and staff who will be happy to hear that they made your visit pleasant. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Another lovely meal at the Albany We always meet here with family who live in Sussex as a nice meeting point. We all had the scallops to start and all happy with our mains which were either steak or the vegetable tarte . Children are if kids menu but my 7 year old insisted on Salmon which we explained was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jilldecroos
TheAlbany, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi jilldecroos, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are all happy that you enjoyed your meal at the Albany. I passed your comments to our chefs and a waitress which was serving you that day and they were all glad to hear that you spent a lovely time at our pub. We all hope... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the Albany pub for a cheeky feed on a Thursday afternoon, the staff where absolutely lovely and the food was both prompt and delectable. Although the venue seemed busy the staff seemed organised and well managed. I would definitely recommend to a friend and I will be back for a return visit.

Helpful?
Thank Tim J
General Manager A, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Tim J, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your Thursday afternoon at the Albany.and that you found our staff to be lovely and efficient even if it was busy. I hope to see you in the future. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went with 4 other people, and while the service was good the food was not. We all had roasts; the three beef ones were good, and most of the lamb meal was good except for the lamb itself, which was fatty and poorly cooked. My meal, however, was terrible. The nut roast was more of a cheese sauce than... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Helena E
TheAlbany, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Helena E, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I am sorry to hear about the circumstances surrounding your father's meal and that you found the nut roast disappointing. Unfortunately we do not list all ingredients on our menu and our recommendation is for those suffering from allergies or intolerances advise their server when ordering... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place has a great location and the staff are very friendly and helpful. However, I believe that this place is lost between being a pub and a restaurant. There needs to be more of a drinking area inside. Would be great in the summer as there is lots of space out there!

Helpful?
Thank Francis T
TheAlbany, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Francis T, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the setting and found the team friendly. We look forward to seeing you in summer when you'll be able to enjoy a drink next to the river. Best wishes, Rory O'Neill General Manager More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great location on the river but its not a pub and its not really a restaurant and as a result has rather a dull atmosphere. Lacks identity.

Helpful?
Thank John W
TheAlbany, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi John W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the view and location. We are always trying to find ways to improve our guests' experience and I will certainly bear your comments in mind when considering changes to décor in the future. If you would like to... More 

1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Had Christmas Dinner there in 2016' brilliant service, great staff. But best of all the food was excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa N
TheAlbany, Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Teresa N, Thank you for taking the time to write as a feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your Christmas dinner at The Albany. I have passed your comment on to our head chef who is delighted. We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Claudia Laskowska Deputy Manager More 

Federated States of Micronesia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I awoke, far too early - and worse - hellishly hung-over. A day of rest, after drinking at my lair, until the early hours. A can of Diet Cola - consumed in 'one.' Felt better, and decided to have lunch, here, and consider some matters........ This is a venue, which I have always enjoyed - nice interior, and a spot... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Johan_Van_Der_Smut
TheAlbany, General Manager at The Albany, responded to this review

Hi Michael B, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit. I am delighted to read that you found the food and service to your liking. Furthermore I found your review to be an entertaining read. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer when you might better be able to enjoy our outdoor... More 

Travellers who viewed The Albany also viewed

Thames Ditton, Surrey
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Thames Ditton, Surrey
Thames Ditton, Surrey
 
East Molesey, Surrey
 

Been to The Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$34
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, View
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 22:30
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Queens Road, Thames Ditton KT7 0QY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Thames Ditton
  • Phone Number: +44 20 8972 9163
Description
You will find The Albany at the end of Queens Road, on the River Thames. Sat in between two boat clubs and with Hampton Court Palace on the other side of the river there’s not many better places to sit back, relax and watch the world go by. The warm hospitality, internal decor, fresh food, daily specials, continental lagers, log fires, real ales and outside terrace & beer garden make this a great pub for all occasions and seasons.Come down and check it out for yourself.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Albany and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Albany staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?