We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
+44 7974 314277
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (136 reviews)
“chowder” (98 reviews)
“salad” (58 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 805 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Have returned time and again to Rachel’s. I love the prawn selection, but the salads are great too! Definitely on our list of favourite eateries.

Thank Lymeduff
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your excellent review. It’s nice to know we are on your list of favourite places to eat and we look froward to seeing you this coming season.

Reviewed 2 January 2018

To all those good people who were hoping to see first hand why Rachel's get such good reviews and didn't make it there in 2017, only one word will do, 'commisery' to quote the TV advert. Maybe 'commiserations' is more grammatically correct! A New Year's...More

5  Thank John W
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your excellent review, critique and recommendation.it is always a pleasure to be reminded that the food we produce and the service we provide is highly valued by our customers. As a team we really appreciate it and look forward to...More

Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

Me and the misses come to the bay often either to go fishing or to enjoy the costal walks and we tend to stop this shack as it offers quick service, Nice food!

Thank Jay P
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to see you again.

Reviewed 20 November 2017

Outstanding value for money .... great food on the quayside. Chowders, soups, seafood platters ... all good.

1  Thank Karen D
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Many thanks Karen for your outstanding review. We look forward to welcoming you back next season.

Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

We turned up for a coffee as this place was about to close, but the kind lady made us a coffee we both requested. Was very grateful for this, as at this point the sun had gone to sleep and we started getting chilly. 2...More

Thank cwhack05
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

We are delighted we enabled you to warm up a little. Many thanks for your lovely review.

Reviewed 1 November 2017

we love Rachel's. Their Chowder is awesome as is all the food. I've eaten the whole menu! Had a fantastic meal Saturday. shame their shut for the winter. Roll on March.

Thank MarkandVic
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Many thanks for your excellent review. We really appreciate receiving such fabulous comments. Look forward to seeing you next year.

Reviewed 28 October 2017

The seating area is a bit chaotic, over 10 min wait for fish n chips, £7.50 a pop, not as large a portion as we'd like for the money but the chips were very good, cod small but good. Tartar sauce lacked zing. Good but...More

Thank priceey2003
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your fish and chips but sorry you feel our portions small to your standards. Our fish portions are all of an equal size as John cuts, prepares and weighs it fresh every morning so it...More

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

What a treat to be able to get top quality food to eat outdoors at West Bay overlooking the harbour. There may be a wait for a table but the queuing system is fair and transparent. All the staff are really friendly and the whole...More

Thank SidBarras
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Many thanks for your excellent review. We really appreciate your fabulous comments and hope to see you again next season.

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

I visited Rachel’s with family over the weekend having read the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor (not sure whether another recent reviewer visited the same place!) Ate the fish of the day (cod) and my Auntie had the Bajan Fish Curry - both were wonderful!!...More

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Many thanks for your outstanding review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 23 October 2017

Visited for the first time and not disappointed. We had fish of the day (cod) and chips, just delicious. The lady who asked if she could share our table had the chowder, which looked and smelled wonderful, that’s what I’ll order next time.... Thanks everyone,...More

1  Thank JF1953
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your first visit to us. We are closing for the season at the end of the week so you may have to wait for that chowder! Many thanks for your excellent review and we look forward to seeing you again.

PreviousNext
12345681
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all West Bay Hotels
The West Bay Hotel
303 reviews
.32 km away
Seacroft Bed & Breakfast
24 reviews
.33 km away
Haddon House Hotel
525 reviews
.37 km away
Eype's Mouth Country Hotel
375 reviews
1.63 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Baboo Gelato Ltd
122 reviews
.14 km away
Riverside Restaurant
750 reviews
.20 km away
Seagulls Restaurant
390 reviews
.27 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
153 reviews
.19 km away
West Bay Harbour
979 reviews
.08 km away
West Bay Canoes
103 reviews
.14 km away
The Customs House
60 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Honeypie100
25 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
I’m terribly sorry we close on the 28th October for the season. Opening again in the spring. Hopefully you’ll be able to make it for a meal then. Kind regards.
0
Votes
GavCla11
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hello. I don't believe so as it's been a very hectic summer and everyone is shattered by closing time. Sorry to disappoint.
0
Votes
Nick H
8 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Debs B | Reviewed this property |
yes there were dogs there when we visited.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$17
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
Rachel's is open daily from 12md to 3pm. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons. We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook. Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service. Rachels will close for the 2017season on the 28th October.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing