We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rachel's

3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
+44 7974 314277
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good11%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish stew” (123 reviews)
“chowder” (89 reviews)
“stews” (33 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 759 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Great quality food in a lovely setting by the harbour (outdoors), fast service,generous size portions, friendly, perfect! With good local ale and cider.

Thank Andrew L
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Looks can be deceiving. I wouldn't have normally chosen somewhere outside to eat, however Rachel's came highly recommended. I had fish and chips and they were the best I have ever had. We also had sea food platter, wow so fresh and the place has...More

Thank Lisaandtony44
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Many thanks for your excellent review and recommendation. We appreciate you giving us a try even though you wouldn't normally choose to eat outside and we're pleased you enjoyed your experience. Maybe see you again one day?

Reviewed 4 days ago

Lovely little place down on west bay fresh water out side for dogs friendly staff and a different variety of food

Thank Becky J
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind review Becky.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Return visit , west bay was busy but a table was found promptly , a bottle of bubbles to start and the full range of platters and sea food and crusty bread , then some very good coffees I mean it's heaven ,informal but great...More

Thank david2811
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We appreciate your fabulous review David and look forward to your future return visits and hope the weather will be kinder to you.

Reviewed 4 days ago

Visited as a family of four. When walking up to it we thought it was going to be a typical fish and chips place but the menu is very varied and there are lots of other healthy options. My husband and children chose the fish...More

1  Thank bris2lmum
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. Our opening hours are weather dependant and we have parasols available over the larger tables to enable diners to enjoy their meals should the weather become wet when we are open.

Reviewed 5 days ago

Had to wait a little bit, but the staff were brilliant, esp. the girl serving at the hatch. Simple menu, done well. Fresh and very well cooked. I had the fish stew which was delicious - although I often wonder do people here eat the...More

Thank ads7788
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your fantastic review and recommendation. Fish stew is one of my favourite dishes and Ive never eaten the prawns with their shells on but I do agree they are a fiddle to deshell. Jane 😀

Reviewed 1 week ago

second time eating here the food is fantastic and the staff helpful and friendly, I would like to try more of the menu but cant seem to get past the fish stew (my favorite) my wife says the fish and chips are excellent, I also...More

Thank Dean H
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We appreciate your excellent feedback and look forward to seeing you again. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not sure why this is so rated . Ok food but nothing to cross Dorset for. seems to struggle serving customers for a bit of,fried fish amped chips. Maybe an off day.More

1  Thank jon p
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Sorry to see that you've given Rachel's a 'terrible' rating even though you think the food is okay! I'm left wondering why you thinks it's a struggle to serve fish and chips or whether you didn't like the fact that there was too long a...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have eaten here a few times and the food has been excellent each time. It does get busy here though and there is limited seating so book ahead to avoid any disappointment or long waits. There is a nice atmosphere looking into the harbour and...More

Thank nickjt84
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate your excellent review and recommendation. Many thanks.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been here several times over the last 2 months - absolutely love it! The smoked haddock chowder is epic and the trio of seafood heavenly. The staff are super friendly and the view over West Bay harbour just adds to the awesome atmosphere.

Thank Victoria A
Rachelwestbay, Guest Relations Manager at Rachel's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your excellent review Victoria. We appreciate your fabulous comments.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Station Kitchen
504 reviews
.38 km away
Baboo Gelato Ltd
101 reviews
.14 km away
Riverside Restaurant
712 reviews
.20 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyme Bay Rib Charter
129 reviews
.33 km away
West Bay Harbour
880 reviews
.08 km away
West Bay Canoes
91 reviews
.14 km away
The Customs House
44 reviews
.28 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
GavCla11
13 August 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Hello. I don't believe so as it's been a very hectic summer and everyone is shattered by closing time. Sorry to disappoint.
0
Votes
Nick H
8 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from rod990 | Reviewed this property |
We have two Clumber Spaniels and they were made welcome.
0
Votes
Magpiesaint
30 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Rachelwestbay | Property representative |
Looking at Facebook they are open from 11.30-3.30 fri to mon but opening daily from April. Weather dependant. Hope this helps.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$15
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Cash Only, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 03:00
Monday
00:00 - 03:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 03:00
Thursday
00:00 - 03:00
Friday
00:00 - 03:00
Saturday
00:00 - 03:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3, The Mound | Dt6 4, West Bay, Bridport, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Dorset  >  Bridport  >  West Bay
  • Phone Number: +44 7974 314277
Description
Rachel's is open daily from 11.30am till 3.30pm until further notice. Opening is weather dependant and there will be occasional days that they close for personal reasons.
We will endeavour to advertise these closures on Facebook.
Customers are welcome to telephone the advertised mobile number to discuss needs or book a table between 10.30 - 11.30am. Prior to start of service.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing