We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spice Garden

2 Pavonia Place, Nightcliff, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
+61 8 8900 8068
Website
Share
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent78%
  • Very good13%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“roti” (4 reviews)
“fish patties” (3 reviews)
“eggplant” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Sri Lankan, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
LOCATION
2 Pavonia Place, Nightcliff, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Gets better each time we come here. Very happy to make certain things on menu mild. If required Getting very popular. Love it. Great service

Thank Priscilla R
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Thank you so much🙏🏼 We really appreciate your feedback ✌🏼

Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

It was that bad of an experience that it has driven me to do my first online review. It was our first time going to SG and it was for a takeaway. We ordered the 2x butter chicken, 1 lamb, 1 goat, 2x roti and...More

2  Thank Tyler F
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

We are sorry you didn’t enjoy our food, we did offer you to dine in with us for free meal & a drink, which you declined. When you presented back, your threatening language & abusive manner was disgraceful & obviously you have an underlying issue...More

Reviewed 15 August 2018

I'm on the fence about this place. The food that we had was tasty, but the very small serving sizes for $24-25 per dish was a shock. It felt like rations. The atmosphere was ordinar, but the staff polite and friendly - although hovered around...More

Thank Lisa B
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We are Sri Lankans. We were in Darwin for 10 days and saw the restaurant details on Darwin festival paper. When we check the menu we thought it looked expensive. But thought of trying it. Very polite friendly service. Loved their fish patties and fish...More

1  Thank Chunty B
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We very much enjoyed our meal here but were quite surprised by the small size of the portions and comparative high prices for the dishes. Nevertheless, the flavours were delicious and there were some unique choices featured. I particularly enjoyed the eggplant which was delicious!

Thank Natalie P
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Decided to grab a takeaway on way home. I was very disappointed. I ordered land curry, beef curry and a yellow rice. When I got home I certainly didn’t get what I ordered. 1 meat dish, one rice, some great balls which tasted like they...More

Thank Eve S
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Hi Eve, I am sorry you did not have a good experience at SG. We always aim to do our best as a small start up business. We have been locals in the area for over 10 years, and use authentic ingredients and cooks. Please...More

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

6 of us last night for dinner and the food and service was superb. This is one of Nightcliff’s best kept secrets

Thank jimdemetriou4
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for your comments 🙏🏼 Look forward to seeing you again 😊

Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Great food we’ve been here a few times Foods always great but the service is a bit slow & needs improving other then that it’s good & not too expensive

Thank traceyadamson
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thanks for your comments Tracey, appreciate the feedback🙏🏼

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

If you’re after delicious Sri Lankan cuisine then you can’t go past the Spice Garden restaurant. My husband and I had a lovely dinner and ordered the goat and chicken curry, both very nice. We especially liked the spicy green beans which wasn’t too hot...More

Thank RubynStu
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words! Glad you both enjoyed your meal 🙏🏼 Look forward to seeing you again😊

Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

My partner and I went for dinner, excited to have Sri Lankan food after visiting Sri Lanka recently! Our curries, roti and coconut sambal was really tasty and the service was great! We will definitely be back!

Thank Megan D
Starliya, Owner at Spice Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Thank you for your kind review!! Look forward to seeing you again soon:)🙏🏼

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 36 hotels in Darwin
Quality Hotel Darwin Airport
269 reviews
2.94 km away
Mercure Darwin Airport Resort
696 reviews
3.67 km away
Novotel Darwin Airport
414 reviews
3.75 km away
The Leprechaun Resort
416 reviews
4.69 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Central
79 reviews
1.18 km away
The Foreshore Restaurant & Cafe
156 reviews
1.15 km away
Lucky Bat Cafe
70 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nightcliff Jetty
195 reviews
.56 km away
Rapid Creek Market
69 reviews
1.22 km away
The Nightcliff Market
76 reviews
.06 km away
Caryota Book Exchange
29 reviews
1.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
donni16
11 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Starliya | Property representative |
5pm-late Tuesday-Sunday:) Hope to see you there! Cheers SG team
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Highchairs Available
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
4:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Pavonia Place, Nightcliff, Darwin, Northern Territory 0810, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Northern Territory  >  Top End  >  Darwin
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8900 8068
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing