We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
+61 7 4099 6330
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

988 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 972: English reviews
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love this place excellent food all three courses I couldn't fault , flavour in each dish excellent my Barra was cooked to perfection and best tiramisu I have ever had , husband had Italian meringue just lovely, staff very friendly, timing between dishes great would recommend

Helpful?
Thank Merelyne B
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for a Great 5 star review & such high praise. It's very pleasing to read that our Tiramisu was the 'best you have ever had' & that you enjoyed our friendly staff's service. thanks for the recommendation.Cheers. More 

Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed the food but on the night we went the service was very poor, wrong wine and food brought - waitress must have had a very off-night! Dinners at two other tables had similar experience. May not be typical as others have praised it. Food was good when we got the right dish.

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin K M
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review & my apologies in the mix up of your order which obviously can happen sometimes. It certainly isn't a typical thing we do, as you have correctly pointed out as we do try our best to ensure our guests are happy as you have mostly read previously, but mistakes happen unfortunately. I'm happy that you enjoyed... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I visited in the off season and it was a lovely quiet spot where you can sit and people watch. We were seated straight away and really waited on. I understand it wasn't busy but it felt really personal and the main chef was happy to just have a chat with us and talk about the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your good review & I'm pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I'm happy to have a chat about the local area so our guests can explore what we have in the area & have a great time whilst they are here. Cheers. More 

Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
460 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a few different dishes here and they were all fine but nothing that would draw us back in a hurry. There are many other restaurants in Port Douglas we enjoyed more.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mikey88
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review & I'm glad you thought we served Good Food. I presume you have incorrectly spelled Nothing Special when you have written but Noting special. It's a shame that you cannot just serve Good Food anymore it seems without a Want to be critic taking a swipe on the internet. I have looked at what you have... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An impromptu visit here left us completely spent. My husband ordered the gnocchi with prosciutto, pumpkin and Parmesan and his eyes said it all. I entered heaven with a large serve of 8 seared scallops on prosciutto and cauliflower truffle purée. Service was top notch without being obtrusive. Great find. Do your tastebuds a favour

Helpful?
1 Thank Suz S
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your Great 5 star review. I'm very happy that your Husband enjoyed the Gnocchi & that you were in heaven eating the Scallops. Thanks for adding the photo, it does look delicious. Cheers. More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I visited Bel Cibo with my husband and my girlfriend, who is Vegetarian. We ordered vegetarian gnocchi, which were served with a few leaves of spinach. There was no sauce and gnocchi tasted like nothing. My husband had calamari as a main dish and had to pay extra for chips. That meal came to $40 and the calamari were not... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Gabriele W
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Sadly this review says more about the reviewer than bel cibo. It's best you read the menu & if you do not have any idea what you are ordering then ask. Flash Fried Calamari does not translate to Deep Fried Calamari. Did your husband ask for Calamari & Chips? Our Main size Calamari is only $32, not the $40 you... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate here a couple of weeks ago. The food was fine but lacked attention to detail. The staff seemed distracted and not enough for the customers present. Worth a visit for a not so cheap bite to eat.

Helpful?
3 Thank Sal_Winchester
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review & I'm glad you thought the food was Fine & that we are worth a visit.Sometimes we could use an extra staff member as being a tourist town very few customers see the need to book which obviously for the restaurant makes a big difference to staffing numbers required. Cheers. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really beautiful italian restaurant, i had the gnocci which was perfection. The service was good and the place was clean with a good vibe, my partner proposed here and it was just perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Laura C
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for you Great 5 star review & I'm very pleased you enjoyed such a wonderful night with us. Congratulations on your engagement & we hope to see you again for a special memory night in the future. Cheers. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is very good and staff do a good job. Prices are fair and the location allows you to watch the world go by. Try to avoid being at dusk as the birds in the trees are very, very loud for about 30 minutes or so. But they are open for lunch so no excuse to miss this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank BowenMJ
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thanks for your good & I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meals & some good service. The birds can be quite noisy at dusk but some people find it absolutely amazing how many of them fly into the trees at night right along Macrossan street. They quieten down soon enough & all part of dining outside in the tropics. Cheers. More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
196 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely restaurant nice view over the Main Street which serves good Italian food. Good value for money too and quick service.

Helpful?
Thank baggers21
Kiwichef, Owner at bel cibo, responded to this review

Thank you for your Great 5 star review. I' glad you enjoyed your Pizzas & hopefully we will see you again soon. Cheers. More 

Travellers who viewed bel cibo also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to bel cibo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$16 - US$27
Cuisine
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 00:00
Monday
12:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 00:00
Thursday
12:00 - 00:00
Friday
12:00 - 00:00
Saturday
12:00 - 00:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 26- 30 Macrossan St | Saltwater, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Port Douglas
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4099 6330
Description
bel cibo is a stylish yet informal Italian restaurant in the heart of Port Douglas with superb food, great service & alfresco dining, on the mezzanine floor of the Saltwater building, perfect for watching the day go by or the activity along the Macrossan Street.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of bel cibo and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Sydney, Australia

Having reviewed the negative reviews of this restaurant it is clear the owner cannot take any criticism at all. Maheno - OCT 2015 wrote that she was unhappy as they were charged for a side dish that came after the meal wash finished and the owner stated she must be mistaken it cannot be his restaurant. Impossible for such a thing to happen in HIS restaurant. He then goes on to try and shift the blame onto ANOTHER restaurant!?

I wrote a bad review for my experience at this restaurant earlier in the year and the owner attacks me for it. Even attacking my appearance in my profile pic!

@ KiwiChef, people are entitled to write their opinions and complain if they have had a bad experience. Your response to those opinions and complaints reflects your customer service skills, your ability to take and handle criticism and just your general maturity. You attack every person who has a negative opinion about their experience at your restaurant. I'm sure if I go again I might have a better or even a perfect experience, but the time I visited I didn't and you shouldn't attack people who don't praise you, your food, staff and venue.

Last thing, it's extremely low and scummy behavior to try and blame another restaurant for a bad review YOU received (as mentioned above). You actually say of the bad review "there is another Italian Restaurant in Port Douglas - Bucci, they seem to have many negative reviews on their TA page about food & service.I agree with you & just cannot fathom that happening here.Ciao" I notice it is not the first time you try to blame this restaurant. I'll be letting them know so they can report you.

I'm sure you're going to have a charming and professional response ready for me after hearing some hard truth. I feel sorry for the poor staff member you're going to force to reply to this.

I hope people catch on to you. Kiwi "Chef".

over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from bel cibo staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?