We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Melbourne Public

$$ - $$$
Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
11 Dukes Walk | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 9268 7600
Website
Today
12:00 - 01:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was in melbourne for work in February 2017. I was staying at Southbank and my work colleagues took me here for dinner - great pub, excellent food and good value for money. Would definitely eat and drink there again - very good wine list as well...

Helpful?
Thank darren m
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The food was good and along the lines of pub grub. The reason I wouldn't return or recommend to friends is the young bar staff who seem more keen to form a youth club behind the bar then provide decent service. When the food arrived the waiter spoke atleast 10 feet from the table and seemed frustrated when we said... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt C
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this review

Hi Matt. We're sorry to hear that you had a bad experience. Would you be able to send me more information on your waiter - a description and also a date and time that you were here? We take these things very seriously and would like the opportunity to address the staff member regarding this incident. My email address is... More 

1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Rude barman ask for a glass of wine wanted to sell me a jug of something else when I said no he was annoyed ! Why don't you give the customer what they asked for !!!!

Helpful?
Thank Bernadette M
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this review

Hi Bernadette, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your service at Melbourne Public. We appreciate your feedback and will follow up accordingly. Hopefully you will give us another chance soon. Thanks, The MP Team. More 

Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Great location & friendly staff. We sat outside which was really nice. Quick service with our food & was very delicious.

Helpful?
Thank chriss552016
Darcy V, Manager at Melbourne Public, responded to this review

So glad you had a great time! Sounds like the weather was nice for you as you got to enjoy the Terrace. Hopefully see you again soon! More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Good, fun atmosphere here - we visited for drinks and dinner. Bar service was quick and friendly even when the venue was quite busy. Empty glasses were cleared frequently from the table, very efficient. We ordered meals which were good value, very tasty and served pretty quickly. We were impressed and will definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank kristyw83
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

This is our regular weekend stop for breakfast. Coffee is great, service is super efficient and the most tastiest toasties ever. I can't go past the vegetarian option - I need one now. Relaxing atmosphere, I thoroughly enjoy sitting here in the morning reading the paper.

Helpful?
Thank Christine B
Canandaigua, United States
Level Contributor
646 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

This is a huge place on the back row of the South Wharf promenade. There is a large number of out door seats which are perfect for people watching. We tried two of their specialty iced tea drinks which were tasty but too sweet. When I asked the bartender about the level of sweetness she said " I make them... More 

Helpful?
Thank William S
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We had a very relaxing Sunday afternoon meal with both starters and mains all good. Service just ok and venue setup good

Helpful?
Thank Hynet9
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Went there yesterday with special friends. We shared entrees and all had our own mains. Each dish was so tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Julie G
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,215 reviews
558 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 572 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2017

Came here for a work function the week before Christmas. Given the time of year, it wasn't a surprise that the place was packed, even though it's a vast, cavernous barn. Was happy with the food, with a good range on offer including enough variety to keep the vegetarians reasonably happy ... often quite an ask. And location at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JElliot32

Travellers who viewed Melbourne Public also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne Public? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 01:00
Monday
12:00 - 01:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 01:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 01:00
Thursday
12:00 - 01:00
Friday
12:00 - 01:00
Saturday
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 11 Dukes Walk | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Melbourne
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9268 7600

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Melbourne Public staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?