We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The CUT on Federal

#130 of 1,664 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
+64 9-375 5966
Website
Today
06:00 - 23:00
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 122: English reviews
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Cut is the restaurant within The Rydges Hotel, we visited on a Friday night and having made a booking decided it did not warrant one as there were only a few other diners. The service and food were good although there was no particular ambience but that is what you expect from a restaurant that starts life as the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mazas63
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Made a last minute decision to have dinner at The Cut and were not disappointed, the service was utterly professional but not too obtrusive. The food was divine and certainly above what we had expected. Great GF selection and wine list. Will definitely be back, thank you for a great night.

Helpful?
Thank ShellzD
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear ShellzD, What a great last minute decision!!! Thank you for the great review. We're over the moon that you decided to dine with us and we look forward to looking after you again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Vince Patena Food & Beverage Manager Rydges Auckland More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Part of the Rydges Hotel where we stayed, we ate here for breakfast each day and although the lunch and dinner menus always looked great and good value, we did not manage to eat there, but always looked busy.

Helpful?
Thank HollyHants
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear HollyHants, Thank you for your great review. You might have missed out on our dinner menu this time but we look forward to having you join us in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Vince Patena Food & Beverage Manager Rydges Auckland More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While I stayed at the hotel for two nights I had the chance to try the $59 grill deal. The portions were impressive, you would struggle to complete unless you are a really big eater. The steak I ordered was medium seemed rarer than expected. So I recommend asking for one level up if you don't like too rare like... More 

Helpful?
Thank schung89
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear schung89, Thank you for your great review. Our $59 special has earned a lot of praise and we are happy to see that it satisfied your needs on your recent visits. We hope that we are able to take care of you again when you are in our area next. Kind regards, Vince Patena Food & Beverage Manager Rydges... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago

As most hotels have, Cut on Federal has a fairly extensive buffet breakfast - which was fine. However, having just spent 7 weeks in Europe, this really was overpriced - very high end of the pricing scale, so wouldn't go back here again.

Helpful?
Thank LindaGuirey
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear LindaGuirey, Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast buffet. Having worked in a number of hotels in central Auckland over the past 9 years I have come to realise that the subject of breakfast buffet pricing is often an issue for which customers are less than happy. You made comment about our buffet being "fairly extensive" which is... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016

Had a pizza for dinner and it was not great. Also had included breakfast which was also disappointing. Would recommend you get out of the hotel for your meals

Helpful?
Thank Ptanau
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear Ptanau, Thank you for your review. I apologise however that your dining experience hasn't been to your satisfaction. If you had time to share more about your experience, I would be grateful if you were able to contact me. vince_patena@evt.com and I would be happy to address your concerns. Kind Regards, Vince Patena Food & Beverage Manager, Rydges Auckland More 

Churton Park
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

We love our buffet breakfasts here at Rydges.Hot bacon eggs mushrooms sausage breakfasts, pancake machine, cold meats pastries, congee,Bircher muesli and fruit just to name a few oh and the chocolate fondue. Feijoa smoothies and spirulina along with strawberry milk and if you want to pay extra then espresso coffee. Great way to start the day.

Helpful?
Thank Cynthia N
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia N, Thank you for your great review. Our breakfast team in the kitchen take a lot of pride in the preparation of our breakfast buffet and we appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge their efforts. We look forward to having you join us again. Kind regards, Vince Patena Food & Beverage Manager Rydges Auckland More 

Avoca Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Staying @ Rydges Auckland and blown away by the quality of food & service. Our waiter Sam, with his professionalism & attention made it a bench mark experience. Award winning wines & generous seafood chowder like no other.

Helpful?
Thank BlairPuata
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear Blair Puata, Thank you for the great review! We are glad that your dining experience was an enjoyable evening and we are grateful for your positive comments. I will be sure to share these comments with Sam Dousti our enthusiastic team member that looked after you. Kind regards, Vince Patena Food & Beverage Manager Rydges Auckland More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016

My Partner and I were staying at The Rydges Hotel when we saw their Restaurant 'The CUT' advertised in the lifts as we were going up to our room. There was a special for a three course dinner and as it was our Anniversary weekend, we thought 'why not?'. We were greeted by name (as we called from our room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maurael
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Dear Maurael, Congratulations on your Anniversary and thank you very much for your great review. Our $59 3-course menu has proven very successful for us over the winter season and we look forward to updating this as we head into the summer months. We appreciate your feedback about the service you received from our wait staff but I am confident... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

As far as Hotel restaurants goes this one is not bad. The Cut is aiming for a 4 or 5 star experience but it's just not there. The meals and experience in the restaurant remind you your in an chain hotel. The service was fantastic and I couldn't and wouldn't fault the wait staff. They were very polite, knowledgeable and... More 

Helpful?
Thank KaihoparaKiwi
Vince P, Manager at The CUT on Federal, responded to this review

Tena Koe KaihoparaKiwi, Thank you for your awesome review about our restaurant. We are grateful for every piece of feedback, be it good or bad as it enables us to strive to improve our guest dining experience. I'm sorry we weren't quite worthy of a 5 star rating but rest assured we are in the process of building a strong... More 

Travellers who viewed The CUT on Federal also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 

Been to The CUT on Federal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$13 - US$31
Cuisine
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Waitstaff, Valet Parking
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
06:00 - 23:00
Monday
06:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
06:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
06:00 - 23:00
Thursday
06:00 - 23:00
Friday
06:00 - 23:00
Saturday
06:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Auckland
  • Phone Number: +64 9-375 5966
Description
THE SHARPEST RESTAURANT ON FEDERAL STREET Like its identity The CUT is a defining mark changing the scene of social dining in Auckland. With its modern cuisines, attention to detail, stylish presentation and an engaging level of service are all genuine elements of The CUT, complemented by a suite of menus that showcase a genuine social dimension to both the classical and more CUTting edge dishes. Where modern cuisine is created from the very best locally farmed produce then crafted using unsurpassed skills and sole from a team of truly food-passionate chefs, delivering explosive flavours and textures that incite socialism amongst friends, family and colleagues. The CUT is the place to enjoy great company with exceptional food and genuine friendly service.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The CUT on Federal staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?