We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lone Star Napier

$$ - $$$
Southwestern, Bar, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Marine Parade & Emerson Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
+64 6-835 0088
Website
Today
16:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 16:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 17:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was a little disappointed with parts of our adventure here. Firstly the seating, because we were a large group we were tucked away into a corner where it was difficult to access and meals had to be passed down. Also we found the music too loud and on asking if it could be turned down was told it had to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robyn C
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lone star has our backs literally. If we can't find a place that will suit our family, Lomestar always comes through no matter the location. Napier Lonestar provides meal with a view which is always nice.

Helpful?
Thank Sammjamm
Waipukurau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

18 Months after our last encounter at Lone Star Napier decided it was time to try again. This time we arrived just after 5pm so place was empty, meaning it took awhile for staff to notice us standing at the counter. However as it was a Tuesday night and not busy the service was excellent, and meals upto the Lone... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linpenfam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

After living in Napier all our lives and never been to Lonestar here we decided to Gove it a go. Great service from all the staff including a trainee waitress. Meals to the highest standard and a great atmosphere. We've been to many lonestars across the north island and we'd rate this at the top along with Petone Lonestar if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Z1843NOtoddh
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Such a wonderful review, we are touched by your kind words. Thank you for dining with us and we hope seeing you soon. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

My family and I recently visited Lone Star for an occasion. It was refreshing to be greeted and welcomed in such a friendly way. Our waiter looked after us well and was bang on with the recommendations. The steak I had was the best Ive had for a long time and the thought of it makes me want to return... More 

Helpful?
Thank Craig_fisho
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Thank you Craig for your feedback :-) Lovely when guests enjoy the night with us. Thank you once again for taking time to write kind words. More 

Wappingers Falls, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2017

This is pub grub gone wrong. Service awful. Food not very good. The beer's the only thing I would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank waterdave1
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Hi Dave, thank you for your feedback. Not sure what meal you had to be so disappointed and wish you could give us your feedback when dining we would be more than happy to offer you a different meal to suit your liking. More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Waited two hours for a meal! Not once were we ever told about a wait. Ordered one round of drinks when we ordered our meal. Drank that and never saw a waiter again until an hour and forty-five minutes later. We waved down another waiter and asked when were we receiving our meal. Our original waiter returned and as a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Happir
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience when dining with us. Your feedback says how unsatisfied you were and we are taking all your comments very seriously to improve the service to be the best. I need to say, that we never had food delays for 2 hours (not even the... More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

Have been to this restaurant before and decided to take my brother and family who are visiting from the UK. We had a table by the window and service was first class from beginning to end, (Thanks Chris). Food was delicious especially the trademark Ribs and all was cooked perfectly which isnt easy when there are five different meals all... More 

Helpful?
Thank 555travelight
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for great feedback, we hope seeing you soon again :-) More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Lovely cocktails, just what is needed after a nght wandering the streets of Napier. Nice and relaxing, friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank 653AnnFrank
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and see you again :-) More 

Napier, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Very disappointed with the service. Our drinks order was incorrect on the two occasions we ordered. Our 5 year old got his meal 40 minutes after ordering. Our plates weren't removed for 10-15 minutes after we finished, and we ended up leaving because they couldn't care less that my son had still not had his dessert. The manager was slightly... More 

Helpful?
Thank 20kel68
70ruth, Owner at Lone Star Napier, responded to this review

Hi there, first of all thank you for dining with us and thank you for your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience last night :-( As I have been informed we a had few issues yesterday and we are very sorry that your family were effected too. We take all feedbacks very seriously to make sure... More 

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Napier also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Lone Star Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Southwestern, Bar, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 23:00
Monday
16:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
16:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
16:00 - 23:00
Thursday
16:00 - 23:00
Friday
16:00 - 23:00
Saturday
17:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Marine Parade & Emerson Street, Napier 4110, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
  • Phone Number: +64 6-835 0088

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lone Star Napier and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lone Star Napier staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?