We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Indonesia Restaurant

409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
+64 6-835 8303
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent77%
  • Very good18%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rijsttafel” (303 reviews)
“nasi goreng” (11 reviews)
Open Now
5:30 PM - 9:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Asian, Indonesian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this restaurant. Food is excellent, good value and authentic. The service is excellent also. Can't fault it.

Thank Michael S
Reviewed 1 week ago

Being welcomed by the owner was a lovely touch as we stepped into their Indonesian themed restaurant. Highly recommend the Rijsttafel as it allows for the tasting of a range of dishes, all very good. Do book as the restaurant is popular.

Thank MoAlCanberra
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently visited Restaurant Indonesia after a long absence from what was once our favourite place to dine with friends and family. Although there has been a change of owners since our last visit, the level of service and quality of meals presented to us...More

Thank Dobb0
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My first time eating Indonesian and it was really good! Owner and staff were really nice! Didn't had to wait long for my food and had a great view over the coast of Napier.

Thank Lyynn9
Reviewed 8 October 2017

I booked a table in the morning, which was lucky as the restaurant was packed when we got there. The restaurant has a great Indonesian themed decor, and was bright and warm and welcoming. We chose the rijstafel, which consists of lots of small dishes,...More

Thank Stephen H
Reviewed 17 September 2017

As vegetarians we find the options In Napier to find tasty, interesting meat-free meals to be pretty limited. There are good Indian and Turkish options but if you want something different ... It's been a while since we visited Restaurant Indonesia and we weren't disappointed...More

Thank Gavatron07
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

After a few days of conference in Napier, we headed for a kind of Asian food. Indonesia Restaurant did not let us down. The chicken soup was very good. Main courses were not bad but there was too much Dutch influence from our perspective. Overall,...More

Thank Navadon S
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

First review.... Back after our winter break to Sulawesi, Bunaken and Bali.... Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dining experience. The style of eating "Rijsttafel" kind of sampler platter is a very Dutch way of eating Indonesian food while...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

There is a lot of good food to be had in NZ; in fact, there is a lot to be had just in Napier... even Marine Parade street itself has more than its fair share of enticing restaurants! But Indonesia Restaurant is an excellent choice:...More

Thank pablo_fishmeister
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Maybe a bit late... I still like to take this opportunity to thank you for writing this lovely review about your dining experience at our restaurant. I'm happy you enjoyed your evening with us. And you are very welcome back....in the near future. Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Came back for the second time and it's just as good as I remember. Got the supreme rijsttafel. So much food and such good value. The fish curry and the sweet and sour fish are amazing.More

1  Thank NiamhButtons
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your return visit. I'm happy to read also this second time it was as good as you remembered! Looking forward to you 3rd, 4th and 5th visit... once we are open again after our annual winter break, First of September! Kind regards,...More

Reviewed 25 May 2017

We had the Rijsttafel which is a type of buffet with about a dozen little dishes served together. Each dish was very tasty and was joy to eat. The service was fine, the decor and atmosphere was also good. We definitely enjoyed the meal and...More

Thank Roger W
Hieke W, Owner at Indonesia Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Thank you for dining with us and writing a review. it is very hard for us to get the amount of food right. We aim for the majority... some groups finish everything and ask for more, for some it is just enough. In your case,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
MINT Restaurant
428 reviews
.67 km away
Pacifica Kaimoana Restaurant
408 reviews
.63 km away
Kilim
338 reviews
.73 km away
Nearby Attractions
Napier i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
196 reviews
.89 km away
National Aquarium
1,064 reviews
.29 km away
Sunken Gardens
152 reviews
.77 km away
MTG Hawke's Bay
201 reviews
1.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Quizas1
4 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Yes we can!
0
Votes
charmanda
2 January 2017|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Thank's for your concern. It's not illegal but not the most hygienic, I agree. We do change the towel every day and have tried a paper towel dispenser. This unfortunately has blocked out ladies toilet twice within a year... More
0
Votes
Tom R
8 November 2016|
Answer
Response from Hieke W | Property representative |
Sorry justsaw your message now! YES we are open, you're most welcome!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$5 - US$20
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Street Parking, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Romantic, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
5:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 409 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Napier
  • Phone Number: +64 6-835 8303
  • E-mail
Description
Temporarily Closed

We are on our annual winter break at the moment.
Open again on the First of September.
We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing