We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Marsden Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
+64 9-402 6797
Website
Today
08:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,120 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,065: English reviews
Whangamata, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

drinks at happy hour were ok but small handles and selection of was ok but food ???? band on the sunday was not very good and with the meal

Helpful?
Thank lex18
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear guest, we apologize for your not so good experience. Firstly, we really appreciate your feedback and we will make sure our kitchen team will work on the points you have made. we did get mixed response on the band, being a small town some time it gets very hard to book a different band every week, we also believe... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We made this our coffee stop for the time we were in Paihia. Very good and very friendly staff. Evening meal was very nice although my medium rare steak was largely well done.

Helpful?
Thank JohnspeedNZ
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you for taking time to write us a feedback/ review. Firstly thank you for a lovely review but we sincerely apologize about your steak. we as a team will make sure such things if ever happen we fix it right away. I really hope you will come back again to try our when you are in the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to dinner on a sunday evening, during happy hour, as the roast dinners were only $15. It was so noisy we could hardly hear ourselves talking, it was very crowded, obviously because of happy hour and the band playing. the place has a marquee type beach frontage so that made it seem a lot louder. The place seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank craftychic2013
Cartagena, Colombia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

We went here with three other couples and must admit we were not impressed. Not sure why this place is popular as the food was some of the worst we have had in Northland. Restaurant looks across busy road to beach, but tables so low down the view is not great. There are much nicer places to go in Paihia

Helpful?
Thank Jane P
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review, that is the only way for us to rectify our mistakes and improve. we sincerely apologize about the outcome of your experience in our restaurant. especially about your review on the food. This level of disappointment is not acceptable and reflect very bad on our core... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Starters were ok, had to wait over 30mins for the mains. Waitress came around twice to ask if we were "still waiting"? Mains (burger and lamb) were not very nice and definitely over priced. Would not recommend and never go again.

Helpful?
Thank iaveryu
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear sir/ madame, Thank you for your review, it is unfortunate you had to witness such bad service. We will make sure our staff is trained better. It is not acceptable and inexcusable but hopefully you give another chance to experience a much better side of us.. Regards TEAM ALFRESCO'S PAIHIA More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
225 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a booking for 16. We arrived on time, to find our table ready and eager staff ready to take our drinks order. The menus were quickly dispensed and explained by the great staff. The seafood plate was popular, but all enjoyed the service and the food. The wine list had a great variety and there were reasonably priced... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was recommended to us by our son and we were sadly disappointed!! Terrible service and terrible food, what more can I say! The service was slow and they forgot part of our order,in fact I think they forgot the whole order as we had to remind them we were still there an hour later! Then they forgot to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shootingstars R
Alfrescos Resta... P, Manager at Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madame, Thank you for you feedback, it is not acceptable the kind of service was provided to your table. We as a team have discussed about your disappointing experience. Following up with what had happened we had few issues in the kitchen which resulted in such an unfortunate experience it was truly not our intentions. we have resolved... More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd meal here in 2 days. What can I say.....nothing but nothing is too much trouble. Fabulous service all round and boy do they turn out some amazing food. My partner had the seafood platter on the first night....it looked like a work of art and apparently tasted the same! On the second night the chef's... More 

Helpful?
Thank andrea b
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a day of sightseeing around Bay of Islands we were looking to end the day on a high by going out for dinner. Alfrecos didn't disappoint Great food but what made it a greater experience was the service by staff which was faultless.They were great and the music set a relaxing atmosphere It will be a place I will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tesi L
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for breakfast for the last 4 days of our visit. Wish we had found it earlier. Food is delicious, of ample size and reasonably priced. The position across the road from the beach is spectacular as the sun rose over the bay. If you like older style food try the mince on toast, it is sensational.

Helpful?
Thank Michael L

Travellers who viewed Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$21
Cuisine
Seafood, European, New Zealand, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 23:00
Monday
08:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 23:00
Thursday
08:00 - 23:00
Friday
08:00 - 23:00
Saturday
08:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Marsden Road, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Northland Region  >  Bay of Islands  >  Paihia
  • Phone Number: +64 9-402 6797
Description
UNLIKE MOST PLACES WE NEVER CHARGE HOLIDAY SURCHARGE
Live Music Every Sunday Afternoon 3pm - 6pm.
Happy Hour Everyday 3pm - 6pm
Alfresco's is a family run business that is open everyday from 8.00Am serving freshly produced food and excellent coffee. We strive to give great service anytime of the day.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar and other visitors
5 questions
Ask a question
Javea, Spain
5 months ago
Javea, Spain
5 months ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Alfresco's Restaurant and Bar staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?