We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hippopotamus

90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-802 8935
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good21%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“chateaubriand” (25 reviews)
“crepe suzette” (19 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 AM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
French, European, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Great food, great environment, just great! The hippo is one of the top eateries in Wellington for a very good reason. Its food is stunning. Great fresh produce is expertly prepared and beautifully served. The drinks feature NZ wines, including marlborough and martinborough wines plus...More

Thank PatrickP
Reviewed 5 days ago

The Hippopotamus Restaurant is located in a hotel across from Te Papa Museum. It faces onto the waterfront and offers magnificent views. The cuisine included roasted meats, seafood and a variety of sides. We opted for the Chateaubriand for Two, with sides of roasted potatoes,...More

Thank Steve S
Reviewed 6 days ago

If you have a special occasion coming up and want an experience to remember then Hippopotamus is definitely the place to eat. Beautiful decor and worth dressing up for if you feel inclined (although some were in jeans) . Located inside the QT museum hotel....More

Thank qofdnz
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear qofdnz, Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with us. We're thrilled to be able to treat you to a quality experience on all counts. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip! Until next time, Camille

Reviewed 1 week ago

Love this hotel it is very chic, on point. The art work is endless and staff very friendly. Food is great and wonderful wine list, its not cheap but worth every penny.More

Thank Karen M
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Karen M, Thank you for your kind words. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and attentive service. Dinner is a truly unique experience with a fantastic atmosphere overlooking the harbour and diverse art collection! We look forward to having you dine...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This restaurant is incredible, nothing can be faulted. Starting with the decor.....french electic and comfortable, every table gets a view of Wellington Harbour. Then the service and attentiveness from what felt like 6 people through the course of the dinner.....you know the team who work...More

Thank KrisBB
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear KrisBB, Thank you for your kind words! We’re thrilled to hear we provided you a 5-star experience on all counts. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip for more enjoyable dining experiences! Until next time, Camille

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service is pretty good here and the food preparation and presentation seems to be what I would expect from a restaurant of this calibre. I was a little disappointed in the entree offerings. It was all seafood based or raw, neither off which I...More

Thank MurrayTania J
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear MurrayTania J, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to hear your positive comments regarding the service, We love our Crêpes Suzette too - a deliciously entertaining feast for all the senses! We are disappointed that other aspects...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We was staying just one night in Wellington so did a little research before hand on where to eat we opted for hippopotamus the restaurant is located on an upper floor of a hotel the views from our table was amazing. The decor is glitzy...More

Thank Susan H
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Susan H, Thank you for sharing your recent dining experience with us. We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. Dinner is a truly is an unique experience paired with a fantastic view overlooking the harbour. We look forward to welcoming you...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent food, attentive service and Long Island Iced Tea to die for. The scallops were by far the best we have ever had anywhere ever. Thoroughly enjoyable and will dine again.

Thank kiwis718
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Kiwis718, Thank you for your kind words! We’re thrilled to hear we provided you a 5-star experience on all counts. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip for more enjoyable dining experiences! Kind regards, Camille

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Across the road from Te Papa the location is very central. We had a window table so we could look out over the harbour and watch the lights come on. The restaurant is fine dining but on this occasion let themselves down a little on...More

Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GaryandLesleyTravel, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted to hear your positive comments regarding the service and extensive wine list. We are disappointed the food wasn’t up to our usual high standards on this occasion. Please rest assured...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hi Everyone, Just wanted to update this saying I've just called Hippopotamus to ask about their vegan high teas which looked delicious from the previous reviews and photos on here. I was promptly told they don't change their high tea menu at all for any...More

Thank Eylvie W
QTMuseumWellington, Manager at Hippopotamus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eylvie W, Unfortunately we are unable to provide a vegan alternative with our high tea due to the nature of the traditional French items we offer. However we can arrange a vegan dessert for you as an alternative high tea experience, which will be...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Monsoon Poon
625 reviews
.17 km away
Istana Malaysia Restaurant
465 reviews
.11 km away
Field & Green
129 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa)
10,604 reviews
.14 km away
Harbourside Market Wellington
89 reviews
.06 km away
Circa Theatre
71 reviews
.25 km away
St James Theatre
68 reviews
.29 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jtf2611
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from scribblerz | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but it is wise to book.
0
Votes
jtf2611
10 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from 2007noodle | Reviewed this property |
Yes but must specify when booking
0
Votes
Emma W
8 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from QTMuseumWellington | Property representative |
Absolutely! We have a cocktail bar if you're looking for a glam place to drink!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$20 - US$33
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
View, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 Cable Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-802 8935
  • E-mail
Description
When you are looking for a delicious dining experience in a stunning setting try QT Museum Wellington's flagship, French inspired restaurant – Hippopotamus. Our broad menu is peppered with a delicious mix of comfort food and fine-dining dishes that are designed to satisfy your hunger. Our skilled service team will weave their way in and out of your experience ready to recommend their favourite dish and aperitif. In our adjoining Cocktail Bar mixologists armed with all the hip, new cocktails and a host of firm favourites that can either be enjoyed while you dine, or as a pre and post dining spot.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing