We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant

) #15 of 697 Restaurants in Wellington $$$$ Seafood, , European
Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
+64 4-499 9069
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (69 reviews)
“tuna” (32 reviews)
“bluff oysters” (17 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, New Zealand, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 790 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Our hotel recommended this restaurant for good seafood but, it wasn't good, it was excellent! The staff and atmosphere were also fantastic.

Thank III-Mick-III
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Dined here on Friday night taking advantage of Wellington on a Plate. Very friendly service by staff that want to be there and enjoy what they're doing. Food was excellent. Have to mention Jessica & Tye, both of whom are excellent ambassadors for this establishment....More

Thank John5947
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had dinner here with friends. There were 8 of us. The welcome and service from our French waitress was friendly and attentive but not over the top. The oysters were excellent. The wine list superb and my dessert was so good. I had the...More

Thank Weetbix7
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there Thank you for your comments, it's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us, particularly your delicious meals! We look forward to seeing you again very soon! Best wishes from all at Shed 5.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have just been for dinner and drinks here and to say I've been amazed is an understatement. Absolutely fabulous food and service! Special mention to our waitor Oscar from France who was so knowledgable regarding the food and wine matches, and our Maitre D...More

Thank Raed23
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there Thank you for review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and enjoyed the friendly, efficient service of our wonderful staff! We hope to see you again very soon for more delicious dishes and wine matches! Best wishes from all...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I had our final dinner in New Zealand at the Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant. The place was very nice with the great service and food. We had the Wither Hills Sauvignon Blanc. My wife had the Chicken Wellington while I had...More

Thank Sandro M
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Sandro Thank you for your comments, I'm pleased to hear that you chose to spend the last evening of your trip with us at Shed 5 and enjoyed the whole experience including some fantastic NZ seafood. As you said we do indeed always encourage...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Short walk from our hotel on a cold winter night. Into the warm large restaurant with large windows facing the bay. Service was excellent, good recommendations from our waiter. Food and wine excellent.More

Thank Bez490
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there Thank you for your comments, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience in our lovely cozy restaurant, it is a fantastic place to while away some time on a cold winter's evening with delicious food and wine! We look forward to seeing...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On a cold night this was a lovely cosy restaurant. The menu has some excellent choices and the service was really good. We were given recommendations and a great wine matching. Entrees we had - gnocchi and beetroot dishes - were excellent. Mains not so...More

Thank Murray P
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Murray Thank you for your review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your entrees and desserts as well as the service. I do apologise that the mains didn't live up to yours or our expectations - it is a great shame that they put a...More

A TripAdvisor Member
4
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing dinner sashimi salad was really fresh..we both had the fish specials one with salmon and one with tuna, both were good sized portions and very tasty. Amazing service and great atmosphere

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi there Thank you for your review, I'm pleased that everything hit the spot for you and you enjoyed our deliciously fresh seafood offerings! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Best wishes from all at Shed 5.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had expected a great lunch here, as friends had recommended Shed 5 recently. Disinterested distracted staff clearly not happy in their job greeted us with lukewarm smiles (or grimaces?). Amazing venue, drinks were good, however the meals were very sub standard. The market fish came...More

2  Thank LarlieD
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Larlie Thank you for your review. I am deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy your meals and I remember having a good chat with you about the problems when you came up to pay at the desk. I recall your waitress offering to take...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time in Wellington, walking on waterfront, and thinking where to have dinner with teen-agers 13 and 17... Choice of my husband was excellent, he wanted fish. We had here groper and tuna, both were very nicely cooked with yummy side dishes (you have choice...More

Thank WrOlena
shed5crabshack, Manager at Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Thank you for your review, it sounds like you made a fantastic choice on Sunday! Our daily-changing market fish options with a choice of three garnishes is a lovely way to try something special. Our fish is filleted in-house and freshly prepared every...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Charley Noble Eatery & Bar
730 reviews
.14 km away
Chameleon Restaurant
319 reviews
.16 km away
The Crab Shack
1,248 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wellington Museum
978 reviews
.15 km away
City to Sea Bridge
186 reviews
.36 km away
Wellington City Library
237 reviews
.48 km away
Frank Kitts Park
164 reviews
.30 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Prof50
9 February 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Fiona M | Reviewed this property |
Hi smart casual would be fine. I agree no jandals (thongs/flipflops) or tatty jeans.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$22 - US$62
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Accepts Discover, Highchairs Available
Good for
Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Jervois Quay | Queens Wharf, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Greater Wellington  >  Wellington
  • Phone Number: +64 4-499 9069
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing