We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

No.4

) #89 of 776 Restaurants in Christchurch $$ - $$$ , European,
4 Mansfield Avenue | Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-355 3720
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good36%
  • Average11%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“whitebait” (4 reviews)
“sliders” (4 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
4 Mansfield Avenue | Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this place completely by mistake after booking into the Top10 Holiday Park, and we were pleased we did. We toured NZ for a couple of weeks and in terms of pubs/bars offering food and drink, this was probably the best we found. Pretty...More

Thank mark w
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Mark W Thanks for an awesome review. We're glad you found us, even by mistake. Will pass onto the team (especially Gillian) your fantastic comments as it means a lot to get a rave review like this and shows that the work the team...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would be a good place to be on a warm afternoon/evening cosy outdoor seating. And platters are great. Great for nibbles and drinks with friendsMore

Thank campbell b
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Campbell b, Great to read your review on your visit to No.4! The outside areas are great in the summer months and really come alive, especially with some live music and few drinks with friends. Glad you enjoyed the Platters, we do think they...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From what i heard i thought this place would be great. I doesn't take much to make me happy. But when you pay good money for average service and food, its not great. Tacos were flavourless and sliders were served on cruncy old bread. Very...More

Thank funandhonesy
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello Funandhonesy, Thank you for reviewing us, I appreciate the time to give us your feedback on your visit. I'm very disappointed to read about your experience, we pride ourselves on excellent service and food. We change things up on our menu regularly and I...More

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

This place is a local and it is convenient to head to regularly. The drinks selection is quite good and staff attentive. Unfortunately there are two things fundamentally wrong with No.4, firstly the food is very average and really overpriced. Secondly, you are always forced...More

Thank MillyNZ
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi MillyNZ Thanks for taking the time to review us. Especially when it highlights our awesome staff. Any chance you could let us know what dishes you found average. We have a very large extensive menu that usually has something on there to cater for...More

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Was down in Christchurch for work and it was arranged to meet a customer at No. 4 Restaurant. What a fabulous place to meet for a relaxed lunch. Decor was great both inside and out. The menu was extensive with great choices available. Our maitre'd...More

Thank Levinite70
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hi Levinite70 Thanks for taking the time to give us a fantastic review. Will definitely pass this onto the team. We endeavour to make sure the menu has a great range of dishes and it sound like you tried a few. I must say the...More

Reviewed 18 May 2017

My booking was for a couple of tables outside for a "get together" with the parents at St Patricks school. To my surprise we were allocated a lovely space outside, private, cozy and away from everyone else. Therese, the lovely girl in charge, was so...More

Thank Cassandra F
Shaun H, Owner at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Hi Cassandra F Appreciate the fantastic review. Always good to here we are achieving high standards and that the team are exceeding the guest expectations. Will pass your kind comments onto the team. See you again soon. Regards S

Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

I have been going to this bar for a long time, they have great staff , Katie remembers everyone's name and loyalty number. She's great.

Thank chimbuwarrior
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I have been here on several trips to Christchurch. The food is outstanding, good choice and generous sized meals. Caters well for gluten free and nothing is too much trouble. Service also excellent.

Thank Judith V
Shaun H, Manager at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Hello Judith, Very kind of you to give us such a nice review, we have recently launched our Autumn menu so very pleased to read your comments. Hope to have you with again soon!

Reviewed 9 April 2017

I recently had lunch here with friends and was very happy with my gluten free meal and the friendly and very helpful staff.I have been here quite a few times in the past and not ever been disappointed,it is such a great place to dine...More

Thank annette r
Shaun H, Manager at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hello Annette, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us, great to hear you have joined us a number of times, we always aim to deliver excellent service, food and drinks consistently and hope to see you back with us soon....More

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Had lunch at this place. The food was okay service was good. We had wine and it came with various glass sizes, Pleasant surroundings. Coffee was good. Hostess outstanding.

Thank Shazza1511
Shaun H, Manager at No.4, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Hi Shazza, Thank you for your review, we will make sure on your next visit the food and service matches our wonderful hostess! We have a new menu going live this Wednesday so will have some lovely new dishes for you to try.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pedro's House of Lamb
804 reviews
.99 km away
Tutto Bene Restaurant Pizzeria
687 reviews
.07 km away
Strawberry Fare
817 reviews
1.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mona Vale
124 reviews
1.59 km away
Victoria Street Clock Tower
92 reviews
1.58 km away
Floral Clock
9 reviews
1.55 km away
Knox Church
5 reviews
1.18 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from No.4 staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 00:00
Monday
10:00 - 00:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 00:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 00:00
Thursday
10:00 - 01:00
Friday
10:00 - 01:00
Saturday
09:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Mansfield Avenue | Merivale, Christchurch, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-355 3720
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing