We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St Germain

255 St Asaph Street | Christchurch Central, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 3-377 7008
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (32 reviews)
“cassoulet” (15 reviews)
“snails” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
French, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
255 St Asaph Street | Christchurch Central, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went as a group of 5 and had the 8 course degustation menu. The food was delicious, well paced and just the right amount to fill an entire evening. Choosing a degustation menu was good for us as we did not understand the French...More

1  Thank Rohan S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A large group of us (17) went to St Germains for our end of year Christmas function.Our orders were taken at or just before 7.30pm for our mains, we then waited in anticipation for what promised to be a taste experience, and we waited and...More

3  Thank Kim v
Reviewed 30 October 2017

The food is fantastic and the service spot on. I would highly recommend the steak cooked in salt!! tho could do with a chicken dish for those who are slightly pickier with food.

2  Thank thehungrybear88
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

A bit off the beaten track but well worth the effort of finding for a special occasion meal. The food was beautifully prepared and presented and the taste didn't let the promise of good things to come down.

2  Thank MuzzaL53
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Bonjour MuzzaL53. Thank you very much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again. Merci Frederic

Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

My entire family came to celebrate my Fathers birthday. We were seated in a separated area in the back of the restaurant which was a nice touch on their part. We all had the degustation, and it was delicious. We had just returned from Paris...More

2  Thank OAS87
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Bonjour OAS87, Thank you so much for your comment and we are so happy that you've enjoyed your evening for this special occasion. Look forward to seeing again. Merci Frederic

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

I have been to the restaurant run by three French Brothers on multiple visits with work colleagues, and always enjoyed our meals each and every time so far! We always walk away very much sated. I have been to both locations, when it was at...More

2  Thank Cam T
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Bonjour Cam T, Thank you very much for your taking the time to review St Germain and we are delighted that you've enjoyed your evening with us, Look forward to seeing again. Merci Frederic

Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

As expected top service top venue top food good move guys very little more to say if you haven't been and experienced it you need to go ( missed the French onion soup)

2  Thank Barry and Mar... J
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Bonjour Bary, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we are delighted that you've enjoyed your evening with us and we look forward to seeing again. Merci Frederic

Reviewed 18 September 2017

5 of us dined here on Friday night and had a lovely time. The food was very good, well presented and tasty. There is an extensive wine list and we enjoyed a lovely French Bordeaux. This is one of the nicer places to dine in...More

2  Thank mckiwi2016
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Bonjour mckiwi2016, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and we are glad that you've enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to seeing again. Merci Frederic

Reviewed 16 September 2017

A nice cosy feel and look, first visit since the move into the CBD, the food was good, the menu looks like it will be an adventure over the next few months as we will return Great steak, perhaps a little over cooked for my...More

1  Thank Tim O
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Bonjour Tim O, Thank you very much for reviewing us and are thrilled that you enjoyed your evening with us but a little disappointed about the cooking of your beef fillet. We look forward to seeing again. Merci Frederic

Reviewed 6 September 2017

What a shame, we (5 of us) were out to celebrate a friends wedding anniversary and were looking forward to a meal in 'One of the best'. Alas our waitress spilt red wine on our hosts dress and didn't know what to use to clean...More

2  Thank Steve M
Stgermainresto, Owner at St Germain, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Good afternoon Steve M, Thank you very much for taking the time to review St Germain and we are very disappointed as we haven't provide our usual standard. You did wait for your entree to come out , in fact it took around 45 mins...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Bacon Brothers
221 reviews
.05 km away
The Little High Eatery
123 reviews
.06 km away
Coriander's
497 reviews
.11 km away
BASE Woodfired Pizza
247 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial
1,305 reviews
.35 km away
Cardboard Cathedral
1,635 reviews
.45 km away
Cashel Street
420 reviews
.48 km away
Christchurch Cathedral
722 reviews
.63 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lifeanddesire
5 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Barry and Mar... J | Reviewed this property |
Quite steep not sure how many a few
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$29
Meals
Drinks, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Wednesday
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Thursday
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Friday
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 255 St Asaph Street | Christchurch Central, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-377 7008
  • E-mail
Description
St Germain was opened in September 2008 by French brothers Frederic and Vincent. Born and raised in Brittany, the brothers aim to provide you a real French dining experience using local products in an elegant and cosy atmosphere. St Germain's diversity makes it the perfect place to enjoy food and wine, whether you would like to share a fabulous meal with friends, for a romantic dinner, or when dining with a larger group. We can cater for all.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing