We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ground Floor Cafe

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
47 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
+64 3-343 0048
Website
Today
08:30 - 15:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 07:00 - 15:00
Sat - Sun 08:30 - 15:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're hungry don't order the pancakes here, the order was three small pancakes with a thimble of maple syrup, they should really delete this from their menu as it is an embarrassment to the place. The other breakfast was substantial but the eggs were over cooked which we sent back. The table beside us sent back two orders just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bruce_reviews
GFCTeam, Manager at Ground Floor Cafe, responded to this review

Dear customer, Appreciate for your review as we do treasure suggestions of every customer. We all feel quite sad to read your 2-star review. In fact, we would be more than happy to offer you more maple syrup if you requested at that time. Actually, there was the other thing made us impressed as you ordered Fried eggs, Sunny side... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are live at Roma motel so just cross road for brunch in this couple days,the staffs always helpful and friendly,good coffee and nice mango crush,love the GFC foccacia and bene there!! definitely will recommend to others!

Helpful?
Thank 炜 成
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went there on this Wednesday for brunch as we stay at Ashley hotel,really friendly and helpful staff ,lovely outside table with flowers,smoked salmon benedict is the best !! My husband ordered Thai beef salad and he think it's amazing! Mango crush taste good,will try something different next time:)Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank JennyR9091
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second time to been here for breakfast on 22nd Feb, after Bruce Springsteen's show. So busy on that day! Hard to find a seat inside or outside! Been told there was a 30mins wait for food. But it's fine, quick service , friendly staff and the Cute Bear on my coffee! Anyway, thanks team! Definitely gonna come... More 

Helpful?
Thank Winnnnnnnnnnnnns
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid this place if its busy unless you dont mind an hours wait for breakfast. Food wasnt anything special either

Helpful?
Thank P7026IWsophieh
GFCTeam, Manager at Ground Floor Cafe, responded to this review

Dear customer, Very sorry to hear you had a bad experience and that is disappointing to read it. We were actually so busy on that day because of the Rock. Our staff were also trying to let every customers know there was a wait for meal at least from 20 mins. Anyway, we still feel so sorry about this to... More 

Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stayed there for business meeting at a hotel near by and this was perfect handy to it for a 7am breakfast. The drinks are lovely and the smoothies tasty (and filling). Colleagues had some granola type thing and it looked very nice!

Helpful?
Thank NZ1981
Geraldine, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017

I have visited this cafe twice in three days and had Moroccan eggs. They are spicy and most delicious. Their coffee is strong and wonderful.

Helpful?
Thank Hawean
north yorks
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2017

opposite motel stayed in good breakfast served quickly and with style . coffee excellant too. clean and tidy

Helpful?
Thank alfie08
Matamata, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Certainly service with a smile and prompt delivery of menus and water. We had breakfast here on a Sunday morning and sat outside although there was room inside also. You do have to share with the dog owner brigade but fine by us. Very nice hotcakes with plenty of syrup. Pretty flower petals on the plate and flowers on tables... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glenda C
christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Visited on a public holiday they advised the wait for food 20 mins got lunch after 45 min wait. Asked what sauces came in the burger advised a mango chutney asked for something different but also when it came out it had garlic aioli - I wish I had been advised this when asked what sauces were in the burger.... More 

Helpful?
Thank relaxed09

Travellers who viewed Ground Floor Cafe also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Ground Floor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 15:00
Monday
07:00 - 15:00
Tuesday
07:00 - 15:00
Wednesday
07:00 - 15:00
Thursday
07:00 - 15:00
Friday
07:00 - 15:00
Saturday
08:30 - 15:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 Riccarton Road, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-343 0048

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ground Floor Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?