We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Under The Red Verandah

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
502 Worcester St | Corner of Worcester and Tancred Streets, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
+64 3-381 1109
Website
Today
07:30 - 16:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 07:30 - 16:00
Sat - Sun 08:30 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 195: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Located in a run down street but do not let that fool you - their foods were delicious and the yard was very original. Enjoyed the freshly baked tiny breads and savories. A little hidden gem.

Helpful?
Thank RichardEvan
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our friends who live in Christchurch took us here for brunch. It was a nice day and it was good to see enough outdoor seating. I don't eat bread but they make their own so thought I'd try it. My friend and I had eggs benedict and my husband had a big breakfast. Initially I thought t was overpriced but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Legna00
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant food, eat here on two occasions on a trip to ChCh and it was great both times. Really good coffee and cracking brunch. The staff were always really friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank StevieGrif
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
167 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came for a family breakfast and they were all soooo nice. They also catered really well for gluten-free and our two toddler sizes grand children. Coffees were excellent and my bowl sized hot chocolate was excellent. Only point to improve would be more high chairs for weeks ones. We nabbed the two they had and others missed out. We will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your last visit. We have 4 high chairs for babies and 5 for toddlers, but maybe they were tucked out of view, or in the cottage dining rooms, our apologies about that we should have noticed you needed more. Look forwarded to seeing you again. Regards Mandy More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been before and loved it but this time we were a little disappointed - they seemed to have plenty of staff but the food took almost an hour and then wasn't as good as we hoped for. Staff were very friendly but I wondered who was in charge - maybe more staff in the kitchen than outside delivering... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dave J
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to review your experience on your last visit to our cafe. It's always great disappointment when we have unhappy customers, especially when you were not happy with the quality of your meals (it would be good to know what you ordered so I can have a chat with the chefs around quality). Our weekends are... More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Always good - service and food- love ❤️ it - nothing is ever a problem - the staff help make this a great little local cafe

Helpful?
Thank MrsJimE
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Thank you sooo much for such a kind review. This is why we love what we do so much great customers like you. This year Under the Red Verandah turns 20, yeeha, so it's so great to know that we're still doing a good job. Big thanks Mandy More 

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

My partner and I ate here while visiting CHCH and I ordered the kedgeree. She suffered severe food envy and I ended up giving over my plate of kedgeree in exchange for her lunch (which was equally amazing by the way) It has been a recurring topic of conversation since then (December) and is definitely worth a return visit!!

Helpful?
Thank Feesgirl
heasleymandy, Owner at Under The Red Verandah, responded to this review

Delicious isn't it. Thank you for your great review. Come visit us again next time you are down. Regards Mandy More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome place for a relaxing lunch. It was so nice to sit down and have our order taken rather than have to queue up at the counter. The service was very friendly and helpful and the lunch delicious. Lovely cottage setting.

Helpful?
Thank 591brigitteg
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

Nice little eatery and cafe. Pleasant environment to take a lie surely brunch and sip coffee. Good service but it does get busy....

Helpful?
Thank Hartshay
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

I think there were 7 of us. We were seated in the wee cottage attached which was good as it meant it was quite quiet until another group arrived. The food was amazing- my friend raved about the Kedgeree. My Moroccan lamb salad was divine- fresh and tasty (although I did have to pick out the olives which I hadn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank MissTinkerbelle

Travellers who viewed Under The Red Verandah also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Under The Red Verandah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$5 - US$22
Cuisine
Cafe, European, New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 16:00
Monday
07:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
07:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
07:30 - 16:00
Thursday
07:30 - 16:00
Friday
07:30 - 16:00
Saturday
08:30 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 502 Worcester St | Corner of Worcester and Tancred Streets, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Christchurch
  • Phone Number: +64 3-381 1109

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Under The Red Verandah staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?