We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenfalloch Restaurants

430 Portobello Road | Macandrew Bay, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
+64 3-476 1006
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good11%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lunch” (16 reviews)
Open Now
5:00 PM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, International, European, Contemporary, Cafe, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
430 Portobello Road | Macandrew Bay, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

Called in for coffee. We were the only ones there, however the waitress clearly wished we weren’t. The coffee was good and the gardens magnificent.More

Thank S3haron
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies for the service you received. We pride ourselves on our food and service and we're very disappointed we let ourselves down this time. We are addressing the training of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a beautiful setting. We went on a sunny calm day and honestly there is nowhere better to be. The gardens are very beautiful, the birdsong fantastic and the cafe setting delightful. The food is bordering on being worth its cost. The bread and dips...More

Thank Kushla R
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner for two in the courtyard. The food was nice enough although pretty pricy. Especially the salmon salad which had minimal salmon and loads of greens yet it came with a hefty price tag. The waitress was very cheerful and helpful. However when...More

Thank SouthernDuo
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora Thank you for your feedback. We are very sad to receive this low rating from you as we pride ourselves on delivering exceptional food and customer experience. We usually receive rave reviews and we deeply apologise that the experience was disappointing for you....More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a cup of soup, and both the bread and soup were divine. the best part is, the modern setting, artsy, in the the gardens!More

Thank monkeysmom21
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Wow! This was a lovely experience! - the delicious food, the ambiance, garden views, and the lovely staff. Excellent value for money. Thanks this was a night to remember :-)More

Thank Cathy T
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Website looked promising, as well as reviews, maybe the standards are not as high here in Dunedin as other cities we visited but we were disappointed with our meal. There was a dated feel to the food, all the puff with foams and fancy plates...More

Thank thewhiteduke
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback and apologise that you did not find your meal as enjoyable as other diners and reviews. Our chef Hannes and the team pride themselves on delivering wonderful food...More

Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is the second time I have visited and the reason I came back is the same - outstanding service. The food is very good, restaurant is quite noisy but with high ceiling it would be difficult to do anything about the sound, bland décor...More

1  Thank _davinanz1
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 7 September 2017

from the lights to the gardens to the lovely Canadian waitress, this place was great. we had a three course chef choice selection which was wonderful. One of the best meals I have ever eaten. Beautiful presentation and perfectly balanced.More

1  Thank JexAllison
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Everything about this restaurant is excellent. The decor is interesting but not overpowering, with an open fire and views out over Otago harbour. The food is inventive without being too over-the-top with unusual ingredients, locally sourced produce and gorgeous presentation. Our Canadian wait-person was attentive,...More

1  Thank Lynnaire J
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Friends out for a birthday dinner Great food and service We had the set chiefs dinner The food was great everyone loved each course Good wine selection and the service from the girls was fantasticMore

1  Thank Russiemac
OtagoPeninsulaTrust, Public Relations Manager at Glenfalloch Restaurants, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Kia ora and thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We really appreciate your fantastic feedback and are so pleased you had such a great experience– Glenfalloch Restaurant is a wonderful place and we are very proud of our team. We...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Good Earth Cafe
191 reviews
5.80 km away
The Bay Cafe
95 reviews
1.08 km away
Emersons Taproom and Restaurant
187 reviews
5.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Port Chalmers' Seafaring Museum
16 reviews
2.11 km away
Otago Museum
861 reviews
5.92 km away
Dunedin Botanic Garden
865 reviews
5.78 km away
Larnach Castle & Gardens
2,029 reviews
3.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glenfalloch Restaurants staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Validated Parking, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Wednesday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Thursday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 430 Portobello Road | Macandrew Bay, Dunedin 9016, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Dunedin
  • Phone Number: +64 3-476 1006
  • E-mail
Description
Dine in one of New Zealand's most beautiful gardens. Enjoy superb cuisine created with fresh local produce from artisan suppliers and imaginatively crafted by an award winning chef. Glenfalloch's menus change regularly to showcase the best of Otago's seasonal ingredients and local delicacies. Try our "Trust the Chef" menu and experience taste sensations. Renowned for warm hospitality, excellent food and a gorgeous historic garden. Open for lunches, dinners and celebrations. Booking recommended. Free garden entry. Glenfalloch is Gaelic for 'hidden valley' only 15 minutes drive from the City Centre. - was established in 1871 as a gentleman's country residence. Today, the Garden's maturity means photographers are spoilt for choice.Casual dining in the Restaurant, Open daily from 9.30am till 3.30pm. Dinner Thursdays and Fridays from 5pm. Weddings, celebrations and festivities are a speciality.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing