We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar

$$ - $$$Cafe, ,
1 Federation Way | Atop the Line of Lode, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
+61 411 823 152
Call
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good51%
  • Average8%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“tapas” (4 reviews)
“pork belly” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Diner, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
1 Federation Way | Atop the Line of Lode, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Coffee remains hit or miss here and at $4 can be a let down. Flat whites can offer a reflection of oneself they are so flat. One barista is trained but others need work urgently. Coffee is Vittoria and when made well is fine and...More

Thank blackcocky
Reviewed 1 week ago

I really like this place. We always take our visitors that are new to Broken Hill to this restaurant if they are in town on a Thursday / Friday / Saturday night. The view is wonderful, the food is excellent, and I just love the...More

Thank Justin W
Caitlin H, Owner at Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much for your honest feedback. These are some great points and just as something to look forward to we have a new team coming in Next week to look at some different options for the air conditioning (although we do understand it can...More

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Have eaten in many restaurants but surprisingly have never ever been to a Tapas bar/restaurant before...even though I do know what Tapas is !. So as a first timer cautiously ordered one serve of a selection of dishes from the menu. Was blown away the...More

Thank SMOAI76
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Poor air condition, you could find a bigger selection of food at a school tuckshop. No tourist information and souvenirs were displayed in a half empty cabinet. Very disappointed. Turn up take some pics of broken hill and go an experience something better!

Thank bill s
Caitlin H, Owner at Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Sorry you felt that way! We are a coffee shop during the day with a Tapas Menu weekends so we don’t have a full lunch menu. The tourist information Centre has information if that’s what you’re looking for!

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Food was excellent, service was really good too. My recommendation is go in time to finish your meal before sunset and then stroll over to the memorial for sunset.

Thank Luckysully
Caitlin H, Owner at Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

So glad you enjoyed everything! we agree, The memorial is such a magical spot to watch the sunset!

Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

I really don’t like to give bad reviews but I was really excited to have lunch up at broken earth again. We were so disappointed, they had nothing on the menu we arrived about 13.10 the only thing to eat was the cut sandwiches (...More

Thank kelzz73
Caitlin H, Owner at Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Unfortunately we don’t have a lunch menu but rather “lighter food options” such as cakes, quiche, sandwiches and savoury pastries served with salad and are available all day. I’m sorry you didn’t find what you were after but hopefully next time you will stay for...More

Reviewed 22 December 2017

We visited recently when we went to have a look at the miners memorial. When we arrived at the memorial, the building with the cafe in it looked all closed up. However, when we walked back from the memorial we found the door was open...More

Thank Lori M
Caitlin H, Owner at Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Glad you enjoyed your coffees, we are looking into some big signs but it’s a bit of a process, just happy you found us!

Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

Great service and fantastic coffee to go with the view. Delicious range of tapas and wines, well worth a visit.

Thank Eric H
Caitlin H, Owner at Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017
Google Translation

So glad you enjoyed your experience Eric!

Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

This cafe has reopened in late 2017 with new proprietors. This is a coffee review. Vittoria. $4. Milk based tried often. Flavour not bad. Male barista serves consistent coffees , other staff hit or miss. Every visit is worth the panoramic view over the main...More

Thank blackcocky
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Perfect spot for a sunset dinner in Broken Hill. Historic site right on the top of the old mullock Heap above the line of load in the centre of town with great views in a very amazingly architect designed building. Selection of tapas varied ,...More

Thank BJbelmont
PreviousNext
12
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Broken Hill
The Argent Motel
25 reviews
.38 km away
The Palace Hotel Broken Hill
184 reviews
.42 km away
Ibis Styles Broken Hill
267 reviews
.42 km away
Daydream Motel
182 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Silly Goat
444 reviews
.72 km away
S-Que Restaurant
111 reviews
.42 km away
The Palace Hotel Restaurant
425 reviews
.43 km away
Gloria Jeans Broken Hill
63 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Broken Hill Visitor Information Centre
475 reviews
.48 km away
Broken Hill Miner's Memorial
418 reviews
.33 km away
Sulphide Street Railway & Historical Museum
139 reviews
.60 km away
Broken Hill Regional Art Gallery
103 reviews
.89 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Broken Earth Cafe & Wine Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
US$4 - US$8
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Credit Cards, Takeout, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1 Federation Way | Atop the Line of Lode, Broken Hill, New South Wales 2880, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Broken Hill
  • Phone Number: +61 411 823 152
  • E-mail
Description
Open daily from 9-5 with cafe style foods, great coffee and amazing views of Broken Hill. Open from 6pm-late, Thursday, Friday & Saturday nights for Sunset views and Tapas, find the perfect pairing from our wine menu.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing