We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Estabar Gelati and Espresso

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 1 61 Shortland Esp, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4927 1222
Website
Today
06:30 - 16:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Thu 06:30 - 16:00
Fri - Sun 06:30 - 18:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 130: English reviews
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stopped here for breakfast. Amazing view of the beach from the window bench seats. Great coffee. I had scrambled eggs on toast with ham, was good sized serving and came on thick toast. The ham was divine.

Helpful?
Thank Aron C
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came for breakfast. We both ordered poached eggs with smoked ham toast and labne with a cappuccino. After quite a wait our breakfast arrived. The eggs were hard boiled and very dry. The ham was not very nice, tasted like it was going off. So it was a plate with some cold ham that was not very nice, two hard... More 

Helpful?
Thank Melissa H
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came here with my friend who has a mental disability and the staff were very nice and accommodating. The brownie we purchased was immaculate and thick with flavour. The only downside is the small size of this establishment, but they have done a good job without seating plan to reduce the clutter.

Helpful?
Thank Sterling S
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Thanks for squeezing in to see us Sterling S ;) we are a tad on the small size which means we all get rather close, which is maybe nice! I'm glad we looked after you well and you enjoyed your brownie. Hope to see you again soon, Cheers Bec More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017

Had a wonderful brekky with a great view. Terrific service and not too expensive either. Totally recommend!

Helpful?
Thank John A
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Woo! Thanks John A, glad you had a good time with us, Bec More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2017

Great coffee, chai latte, location and views. Excellent healthy food as well. Quite small and can be busy but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Anthony P!! Bec More 

Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2017

We've had many family breakfasts at Estabar - so, on our last visit, we took the grandchildren. The breakfast menu covers all ages; the food and service are faultless but it is the location - directly opposite Newcastle beach - that add the icing to the toast. The grandkids got a real kick from watching the early morning beach parade... More 

Helpful?
Thank MemorableDestination
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Oh that's beautiful Memorable Destination, thank you x More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

There is much to like about Estabar. It's busy but the service is good. The food and coffee are fine and well priced. Some of the staff are easy on the eye and all of them are charming. The view over Newcastle City Beach is a delight. The only down side is it can be a bit hot in summer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rick O
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2016

The staff here are really friendly, and kept us up-to-date when our order was running late (these things happen), and offered us a free drink when timing got a little out of hand - which was much appreciated. The coffee was lovely, and the lunches (from breakfast menu)we had were very tasty when they arrived. The only reason for 4... More 

Helpful?
Thank IntoTheWorldUK
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Hey thanks for your review and thanks for being fair and understanding. I'm sorry about the ruined egg. Are you in town for a while? Can i make it up to you with gelato? Text me if i can, 0412 130 120. Bec More 

Level Contributor
272 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2016

I have eaten here many times and on more occasions had coffee. The eggs - poached - were hard boiled, the butter put on the wrong bread, the delivery of the coffee proceeded the meal by almost 20 minutes so on this occasion in effect it failed on all levels in stark contrast as to how things were for many... More 

Helpful?
Thank DTG59
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Hi there DTG59, That was a bad day, I'm sorry your food came out so poorly. We always make it right where we can, so I've organised a breakfast for two voucher to wait at estabar for your next visit. It's tagged DTG59. Again, i'm very sorry. Bec More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

We had breakfast and lunch here. The produce is fresh and locally sourced where possible.... and you can tell. Everything tastes delicious. There is also a great drinks menu with interesting frappes and good coffee.

Helpful?
Thank gilds282
EstabarEspresso, Owner at Estabar Gelati and Espresso, responded to this review

Hey Gilds282! Thanks so much for that wonderful review, so glad you enjoyed our produce. Happy Summertime! Bec More 

Travellers who viewed Estabar Gelati and Espresso also viewed

Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Estabar Gelati and Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Takeout
Good for
View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
06:30 - 18:00
Monday
06:30 - 16:00
Tuesday
06:30 - 16:00
Wednesday
06:30 - 16:00
Thursday
06:30 - 16:00
Friday
06:30 - 18:00
Saturday
06:30 - 18:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 1 61 Shortland Esp, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4927 1222

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Estabar Gelati and Espresso staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?