We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nagisa

N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
+61 2 4929 4122
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good36%
  • Average6%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sashimi” (23 reviews)
“bento box” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 210 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We sat and waited and waited for table service. We had to call to the waitress for water. Drinks v.v. pricy.

Thank Elva K
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The tempura prawns for entree were very light and Beautifully presented . The tofu steak was light and fluffy , I found the three pieces way too much , one would have been more then enough but not a complaint , the sauce mushrooms and...More

Thank deeliciousmartin67
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Have been here many times and have not yet been let down. The food is immaculate and the service is always with a smile.

Thank Kateface87
Reviewed 6 days ago

We dined at Nagisa for a Sunday lunch - and yet again it did not disappoint. We had a minor hiccup with booking times and seating but the staff sorted it out quickly and we were back on track. We all had a Bento box...More

Thank Morgan L
Reviewed 1 week ago

I took the family to Nagisa last night for my youngest son's birthday. We booked in advance and our table was ready for us on arrival. The restaurant was full (impressive for a Tuesday night in Newcastle) but the staff were attentive and prompt without...More

Thank Bowdog B
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your super review! We strive hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy the Nagisa experience and such a review is fitting reward for us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know and hope we'll see you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a meal here tonight and had a really great meal. Modern Japanese with very fast service and attentive waiters. Well done. Loved the experience.

Thank Adrian W
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the wonderful review, Adrian. We are delighted you enjoyed the Nagisa experience. :-)

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been here several times in the last few months this restaurant continues to amaze me good is so fresh and is great value for money

Thank Rickyk90
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

We are very pleased with your feedback and grateful for you taking the time to let us know how we performed. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Really yummy! Such a nice space and was really well looked after by the staff. Great botique beers too! Can't wait to go back.

Thank SaraplusJez
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing feedback. We're very pleased you enjoyed your Nagisa experience.

Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Was turned away for lunch because they were holding a school kids function. Can't comment on the food, but seriously- there was an entire separate outside area that was full of empty tables. The bartender helpfully informed us that there was a message (buried) on...More

Thank Siankat71
Glen P, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Hello. We're very sorry for the inconvenience. When we are catering for large school groups our kitchen resources are fully stretched. While there may have been many tables free outside we would have been unable to serve you in a timely fashion because of the...More

Reviewed 29 March 2017

The setting and wait staff were great. We waited 45 minutes for our entrees, burnt gyozas and the other two were cold. For the prices charged these are simple mistakes that just make for an unenjoyable experience. We left after the entrees. Lots of room...More

Thank Ana R
gkp2202, Public Relations Manager at Nagisa, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We're extremely disappointed you had such an unacceptable experience at Nagisa. We pride ourselves on our service and getting food out as fast as we can. A 45-minute wait is clearly not good enough. We recognise we failed...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Meet
245 reviews
.08 km away
MoneyPenny
130 reviews
.05 km away
The Dockyard
212 reviews
.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Newcastle Museum
285 reviews
.11 km away
Christ Church Cathedral
170 reviews
.93 km away
Foreshore Park
77 reviews
.97 km away
Newcastle Art Gallery
65 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Dan F
Do you do authentic Japanese pancakes at all. Thanks so much. Dan.
20 April 2017|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Pete W | Reviewed this property |
Do you mean okinomiyaki? If so I can't recall any on the menu (probably means there are none as this is a favourite of mine!) but Kitami on Bauemont st does a decent one!
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$85
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
View, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 - 15:00
Monday
11:30 - 21:30
Tuesday
11:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
11:30 - 21:30
Thursday
11:30 - 21:30
Friday
11:30 - 21:30
Saturday
11:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: N2 The Boardwalk | 1 Honeysuckle Drive, Newcastle, New South Wales 2300, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  New South Wales  >  Greater Newcastle  >  Newcastle
  • Phone Number: +61 2 4929 4122
  • E-mail
Description
Here in the Honeysuckle Precinct of Newcastle, a modern take on a rich history of cuisine in a restaurant that also brings you the exotic mix of the teppanyaki bar, fresh sashimi and sushi, rare Japanese craft beers, whisky and sake, degustation menus, banquets and a venue for group functions.