We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Picnic Point Toowoomba

$$ - $$$
Cafe, Australian
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
+61 7 4631 5100
Today
08:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 08:00 - 17:00
Mon - Tue 08:30 - 17:00
Wed - Thu 08:30 - 05:00
Fri 08:30 - 21:00
Sat 08:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 277: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We also ordered an individual pizza. Smoky BbQ Chicken with Bocconcini, roasted capsicum & spinash onion which wasn't too bad. We enjoyed the view

Helpful?
Thank Assem N
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We live nearby, had had a coffee here recently. It was good though thought the menu was a bit pricey for what it was. The views are lovely.

Helpful?
1 Thank pammyceevee
Scarborough, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely lunch at the restaurant today. Wait staff were friendly, food was 5 star. Pictured is the grilled Halloumi, it was devine. We will certainly be regular visitors.

Helpful?
Thank Bluejug
Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Plenty of parking available. Awesome views with air conditioned indoor and outdoor seating. Great menu selection and sweet desserts . Friendly staff. Will visit again.

Helpful?
Thank TadvisorReviewer
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

GF scones! Never have I found a place in our travels game enough to serve gf scones..and they were good! Found this place a lovely spot for afternoon tea. Coffee was nice too.

Helpful?
1 Thank TJ1937
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mediocre service, long waits, food expensive in sample amounts, and not brilliant tasting. Breath-taking views, through.

Helpful?
Thank OzzieSam
Catherine K, General Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this review

Hi OzzieSam, Thank you for your feedback, but, it would have been helpful to hear your feedback on the day as we don't know what you ordered. Hope you'll come back again, soon! Thanks, Catherine More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here on New Years Day for breakfast with friends - top marks for actually being open on a Public Holiday :) Staff were polite, friendly and did a great job. The majority of the breakfast menu was in the $15-$20 range (although there was a cheap fruit toast option) and was both plentiful and delicious. Unfortunately whilst the coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect place for a picnic and a hike. Restaurant is crap and expensive. Enjoy the grounds but not the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
Catherine K, General Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this review

Hi Eileen, We appreciate that you loved the views, but it saddened us to know that you didn't like the food and our restaurant. Can you tell us more on what you ordered the day you visited us? We would love it if you approached us and say what you didn't like about it to understand you better. Afterall, Picnic... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited for lunch and it was very quiet. The menu looked quite fancy and the prices were medium to high. Our lunch and coffee was great and the staff were very friendly

Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty 2
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went for breakfast, fantastic views, unfortunate poor service & food going downhill... don't get the potato roti on the breakfast menu, it's just a wet gloopy flour pancake; eek, works well as a flying saucer off the balcony, hence more food going downhill.;)) poached eggs were yummy. Looks nice as a potential function centre, however I'd be questioning the food... More 

Helpful?
Thank akaloba
Catherine K, General Manager at Picnic Point Toowoomba, responded to this review

Hi Akaloba, We appreciate your review of the views at Picnic Point, but, we definitely disagree about the issues you had with our food/services provided. Picnic Point always make it a point to deliver foods and services at best and we always encourage our customers to talk to us if they are not satisfied with our food or the services... More 

Travellers who viewed Picnic Point Toowoomba also viewed

Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 
Toowoomba, Queensland
Toowoomba, Queensland
 

Been to Picnic Point Toowoomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Cafe, Australian
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 17:00
Monday
08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 05:00
Thursday
08:30 - 05:00
Friday
08:30 - 21:00
Saturday
08:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 164 Tourist Rd, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Toowoomba
  • Phone Number: +61 7 4631 5100

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Picnic Point Toowoomba staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?