We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe

Stuart Highway, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
+61 8 8641 9117
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good37%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“scones” (16 reviews)
“ice cream” (12 reviews)
“pumpkin salad” (2 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Stuart Highway, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This cafe was a haven from the extreme temperatures of the day and the four of us thoroughly enjoyed our 'taste of the outback' ice creams. The cafe itself is very welcoming and the staff very friendly.

Thank Denise M
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Denise, thanks so much for the lovely review - it's been pretty good ice cream weather 😊

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff, small variety for lunch menu, great sweets and beverage selections. Lemon Meringue pie is made to an old fashioned recipe AAA

Thank Heather S
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Heather, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, it's really appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the Lemon Meringue Pie, it's a bit of a favourite with our visitors!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a hidden gem in the gardens. There is shaded seating inside and outside. Birds visit and the cakes etc are nice. Coffee is good. Well worth it.

Thank ian6633
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for the lovely review - we love it when visitors enjoy their visit. I would have to agree, the shaded outdoor seating is great for just taking it all in and watching the birds. Hope to see you again some time.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On a 38c day long walks were not possible. It is approximately 300m from car park to visitors centre, maybe this could be indicated ? The visitors centre is mainly a cafe & gift shop & seemed low on educational information. Guess I was looking...More

Thank Marie C
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Marie Thank you for taking the time to provide a review, any feedback is an opportunity for us to improve the experiences we offer. Hopefully you might get another chance to visit us in cooler conditions which are perfect for an informative guided tour...More

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Drive over from Ceduna to visit the botanical gardens and saw hat they had a cafe. The cafe was nice inside, staff very pleasant and helpful. My wife had the pumpkin salad, perfectly dressed and delicious. I chose the curried chicken pie - also very...More

Thank Smoltman
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi Smoltman, thanks so much for the lovely review. We are so pleased when visitors enjoy their experience.

Reviewed 17 December 2017

Service, pricing and food were all excellent. We arrived at a busy time and luckily we made reservations by phone. There was a good selection of dishes with everyone in our group commenting on the quality and size of the portions.

Thank L4940AKjenniferb
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to give a review. We love it when visitors enjoy their visit, maybe we'll see you again one day.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Meal was slow to arrive at our table but the view and birdlife was worth the wait. the meal was a little small , still it was very nice.

Thank Larry M
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Hi Larry M Thanks for taking the time to review. I apologise for the time it took to receive your meal but am so glad you enjoyed the beautiful view & birdlife. All the best.

Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the cafe closed for meals before we had a chance to get there at about 230 in the afternoon. They were only offering coffees and scones by that time so we chose to look elsewhere for lunch

Thank Sharronholl
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Hi Sharronholl I'm so sorry you missed out on trying our tasty lunches, our lunch menu finishes 2pm on weekends & 3pm on weekdays. Hopefully you'll have an opportunity to visit again some time.

Reviewed 15 October 2017

What a wonderful time we had here. They have the best local indigenous Tucker here. Give yourself a treat, and drop-in to enjoy. Funguy and Di

Thank Funguy_Di
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Funguy_Di Thanks so much for the review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit (& the food).

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

We had a light lunch at the cafe. Staff helpful and friendly. Food tasty. Lovely views of the surrounding area from inside via the large floor to ceiling glass windows. Can sit outdoors also. Small souvenir shop and toilets inside the building also.

Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
Bernie144, Front Office Manager at Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Enjoy_the_breeze Thanks for taking the time to provide a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 hotels in Port Augusta
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
193 reviews
2.18 km away
Acacia Ridge Motor Inn
337 reviews
2.32 km away
Crossroads Ecomotel
211 reviews
2.43 km away
Poinsettia Motel
54 reviews
2.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Standpipe Golf Motor Inn
145 reviews
6.88 km away
Archers' Table
72 reviews
2.87 km away
Indian Indulgences
58 reviews
5.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Australian Arid Lands Botanic Garden
299 reviews
.85 km away
Wadlata Outback Centre
197 reviews
3.96 km away
Water Tower Lookout
59 reviews
2.65 km away
Port Augusta Cultural Centre - Yarta Purtli
9 reviews
3.77 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Arid Lands Botanic Garden Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stuart Highway, Port Augusta, South Australia 5700, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  South Australia  >  Port Augusta
  • Phone Number: +61 8 8641 9117
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing