We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Monaco Kitchen

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
+64 3-547 0792
Website
Today
07:00 - 22:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 22:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The starters we had were absolutely top class, the mains were good (big portions) but unfortunately it seems we got forgotten about after that. When we were finally asked how things were going, we were told it was quite busy and there would be a wait for desserts. A bit disappointing considering the table next to us seemed to have... More 

Helpful?
Thank toni668
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Toni668 It was great to read that your dining experience started well, and that you enjoyed your starters and mains (you're right, they can be big portions); however, it was disappointing to read that it went a bit downhill after that. I've passed your comments on to our Food and Beverage Manager and the restaurant supervisor. Thanks again... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

it's great to find a local restaurant with attentive staff and an original menue, so often you dine out but leave feeling it was just another nice meal, after leaving Monaco kitchen you will ware a smile feeling like you have been looked after and entertained, not to mention the peaceful sea views to keep you relaxed

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Steven W Thanks for your review, "attentive staff and original menu" as music to our ears! We're delighted you enjoyed your dining experience at The Monaco Kitchen, wonderful that you left with a smile on your face, feeling that you been looked after and entertained ... this is precisely what we hope for when guests dine with us,... More 

Wellington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful evening here, the food was great, the service was just right and the location was beautiful. The team even had insect repellent handy for those pesky sandals. It was great. We say outside until dessert and then headed inside (it started raining). My favorite - the aubergine dish. The meals can be shared or not, it's... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SuaveWellington
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there SuaveWellington Thanks for your review, I was delighted to read you had a wonderful evening at The Monaco Kitchen. Yes, being just across the road from the Waimea Inlet, on occasions those pesky sandflys can be a problem, so we keep insect repellent on standby! Great to read that you enjoyed the aubergine dish - I'm keen to... More 

Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place has so much unrealized potential, but I recommend steering clear. The waitress we had was downright impolite in response to a complaint about one of the dishes (the Eggplant Dengaku)--which was sickenly sweet on top and bland and greasy at the bottom. She said, "Ah, well I guess you know not to order it next time." When I... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamiSay
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there SamiSay Thanks for your review, lovely to know that you enjoyed you room overlooking our central Village Green, and the facilities provided. Our internet has been problematic (in terms of signal strength), and this is in large part due to the construction of our property with unusually thick walls reminiscent of an olde English village; we are working... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Grand Mecure and booked a table at Monoco Kitchen via Reception. We had a wonderful meal of both choosing a variety of large and smaller share plates. Despite the restaurant being quite busy, the food and service was fabulous.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Carol W Thanks so much for your review, we couldn't ask for a better compliment than "great food & wonderful service"! It was great to read you had a great time with us at The Monaco Kitchen; our menu is designed to be shared and enjoyed - so mission accomplished! We look forward to seeing you back at TMK... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely food in an eclectic setting. The menu had plenty of options, although were out of stock of quite a few items the night we dined here. But what we were served was delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Carolg67
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi Carolg67 Thanks for your review, "yum" is a great way to describe the food at The Monaco Kitchen, glad to know that after making the hard decision from the many options available, that what you selected proved to be delicious. I've passed your feedback onto the teams. We look forward to welcoming you back again at some stage. Warm... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Given the location of the hotel, out of Nelson in the middle of nowhere, there is little option if you don't want to drive but to eat in the hotel restaurant, there is a pub opposite with what looks like an average pub menu so we ill advisedly chose to believe their superb regional produce blurb. A number of items... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there RobH Thanks for your review, it was disappointing that your dining experience at TMK did not live up to our expectations. Your feedback has been shared with the team at TMK. "I'll tell the chef" is not the answer we would expect of our staff, and we'll be talking with the TMK service staff about how they could... More 

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at the Grand Mercure Hotel and pleased to see a restaurant on site, after a long day of travel from Wellington. No more driving!! Booked a table from reception when checking in and wandered over at our allotted time. Lovely open setting with views of the bay, some outside seating is aviable, but we chose to sit inside. Greeted... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rickawl
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there Rickawl Thanks for your review/feedback - it was lovely to read your review, wow, that's a great opening line from Tommy! Tommy hasn't been with us too long, but he's a star! I've shared your review with the team at The Monaco Kitchen - I hope you enjoyed your 2nd (and perhaps 3rd) night just as much. I... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We loved the Orangerie, and after a too-long absence were curious to see what had replaced it. Most impressed by the experience. The whole Monaco complex is beautiful. We had a perfect spot by the window as the sun was setting. Staff were very friendly and attentive and recommended food and drink. Some of the dishes sounded quirky. Spatchcock? Dengaku... More 

Helpful?
Thank dods903
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Hi there dods903 Thanks so much for your review, we're delighted to read that you decided to come back and experience The Monaco Kitchen ... we're even more delighted that you enjoyed the (new) summer menu. I hope your dengaku nasu turns out well for you. Thanks for the recommendation that Nelsonsonians should get down to try out The Monaco... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I came for tea. Amazing food, great service, thank you Claire for looking after us. Such great flavour in the meal, we loved it.

Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at The Monaco Kitchen, responded to this review

Thanks RuthR for your review. It's great to know that you and your husband had a great dining experience with us. I've passed on to the team here at The Monaco Kitchen how much you enjoyed the food, flavours and service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future for another superb dinner! Warm regards Nick On... More 

Travellers who viewed The Monaco Kitchen also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to The Monaco Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$29
Cuisine
New Zealand, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Seating, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
07:00 - 22:30
Monday
07:00 - 22:30
Tuesday
07:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
07:00 - 22:30
Thursday
07:00 - 22:30
Friday
07:00 - 22:30
Saturday
07:00 - 22:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 6 Point Road | Monaco, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-547 0792
Description
The Monaco Kitchen is in a well-known location on the Monaco peninsula (Nelson, New Zealand), presenting a new dining concept in a stunning location. Championing our local produce we aim to provide a sharing experience with small bites, sharing plates and feasts that you can enjoy with your friends, family or your sweetheart

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Monaco Kitchen staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?