We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nelson High Teas - Warwick House

$$ - $$$
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
64 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
+64 3-548 3164
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

7 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 7: English reviews
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2016

warwick house has been restored to a high standard and is a house with a big history the house and gardens are amazing to be able to see what it did look like to what it is today is nothing short of a great passion to the family that restored it .well worth the stay and visit

Helpful?
Thank macodim
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2015

This was a private function to meet a variety of ages (40s - 90s). Very accessible, great catering and the owner gave us a very informative talk on the history and restoration of Warwick House

Helpful?
Thank Marg P
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arranged a high tea for our guests as a pre-wedding activity. (Approx 25 people) All guests were very happy. The food was lovely, the service friendly and diligent. Host looked the part in formal top hat and tails. It's was a stunning venue with a lovely view of the city and cosy atmosphere. We loved it and would thoroughly... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmeliaJHH
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A rip off at $25. Service non-existent, the 'host' spent more time chatting to the staff. The green tea and red bush tea were served out of varying sized and patterned pots with the "Bombay Black" poured out of an/a aluminium/stainless steel tea pot similar to those used at community functions and in boarding houses and schools. The home baked... More 

Helpful?
Thank needt0kn0w
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked for tea as part of Nelson heritage week. It was FANTASTIC and offered something unique and special. The food was lovely, the setting amazing and the hosts knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. They dealt with a very difficult member of the public (not one of our party) with grace and dignity and did everything to fix the perceived problem.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate H
NickFerrier, Owner at Nelson High Teas - Warwick House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. It was a very nice group that we had for this Heritage High Tea. It is a lot of work for us to set up for a special occasion like this and the bake everything from 'scratch' in the days before hand. We are available for group bookings for High Tea and sometimes have... More 

Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Had a lovely afternoon with my sister despite it raining cats and dogs outside. Would certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank Lenore H
NickFerrier, Owner at Nelson High Teas - Warwick House, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments. It was nice to have a live pianist for the afternoon High Tea, We always try to give the young students from the Nelson School of Music the chance to come and play at our High Teas. We often hold themed High Teas' such as 'Mad Hatters tea. or a 'Downtown Abbey theme tea.... More 

On Tour
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We were so disappointed we paid and left after 25 minutes. A Victorian afternoon tea was promised and as it was Valentines Day we decided to be 'romatintic' and take advantage. The room consisted of tables that were shared. One pot of tea each (no refill offered) tiny scones, tiny biscuits and a savoury that was indescribable. The pianist was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MoanaOnTour
avalon1234, Owner at Nelson High Teas - Warwick House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that these guests didn't enjoy their experience, however we do remember that they arrived before the High Tea was actually due to start and before the regular pianist arrived. Refills for the various fresh teas are always available - on request - or once guests have been seated for a period of time. Fresh biscuits,... More 

Travellers who viewed Nelson High Teas - Warwick House also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Nelson High Teas - Warwick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$18
Good for
Groups, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 64 Brougham Street, Nelson 7010, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Nelson-Tasman Region  >  Nelson
  • Phone Number: +64 3-548 3164
Description
Located just 5-10 mins riverside walk from the beautiful Nelson city center is one of New Zealands' largest and most spectacular early Victorian homes. The property features views over Nelson city to the sea, a fully renovated Grand Ballroom where gourmet home cooked breakfasts are served to classical music as well as the 4 storey original octagonal 'Rapunzel' tower. It offers guests a choice of 4 separate large suites and 2 standard double rooms with ensuite, room only rates are available. Hosts Nick and Jenny Ferrier are very knowledgeable about the Nelson area. Free WIFI and extensive off street parking are available.High Teas and specialist functions are regularly held for private groups.High Teas are open to the public on certain occasions, please call to check dates.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nelson High Teas - Warwick House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?