We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Unwined Cafe

$$ - $$$
Cafe, New Zealand, European
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Unison Vineyard | 2163 State Highway 50, Hastings 4715, New Zealand
+64 6-879 7913
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Wed - Sun 10:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a group of 14 bikers who had booked in advance for morning tea. No effort had been made to bake anything fresh. The only food on offer were two stale scones, 3 stale custard squares and some very sweet slices. NOTHING FRESH. This is not the first time we have received poor treatment, so it's most likely our... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2014marlin
Olivia N, Manager at Unwined Cafe, responded to this review

Hello 2014marlin, Firstly, we would like to apologize for failing to meet your expecations during your morning tea visit. We wish you would have mentioned that your scones and sweet treats were unsatisfactory, as we would have been more than happy to remedy the situation at the time, and we are sorry this was handled incorrectly. Although the savoury food... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

A wonderful place to relax and enjoy great value food and good wine. Sarah provides outstanding service and you feel very welcome. Platters are great, and we had an open sandwich and a salad. All good. Liked the Chardonnay a lot, and the Bordeaux-type blends are rightly highly regarded. Two of our party that do not drink alcohol particularly liked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian T
Olivia N, Manager at Unwined Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review of your experience at Unwined Cafe. We hope to see you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

I think this place only survives as there's not that many places offering food. Please don't stop here. Dreadful food matches with ditzy incompetent service.

Helpful?
Thank rsavage009
Olivia N, Manager at Unwined Cafe, responded to this review

Hello rsavage990, We would like to apologize for your experience as we failed to live up to your expectations on your visit and did not meet our high standards of service. We do find our customers enjoy our relaxed environment and casual family-friendly dining experience, when contrasted with the higher-end, formal winery dining offered nearby. Again, we are sorry that... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

The coffee at this place is delicious and worth at stop just for that reason alone. However it is also worth tasting some of the local wines as well, and the guy at the cellar door knew a lot about the grapes in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Sara D
Olivia N, Manager at Unwined Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Sara, Thank-you very much for taking the time to write a kind review. We share your enthusiasm for our coffee, sourced from local Hawkthorne coffee roasters here in Hawkes Bay. We hope you will join us again soon! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Two families visited for lunch today, meals were over priced and service was pretty poor. Wouldn't recommend.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Olivia N, Manager at Unwined Cafe, responded to this review

Hello, We would like to apologize for your experience of slow service and the impression that our food is overpriced. We do pride oursevles in sourcing our ingredients locally, and offering meals in the price range of $15 - $28, allowing plenty of room to work within a budget. We will review our service standards to ensure that we exceed... More 

Waitakere City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2016

We ended up at Unison after trying three better-known local vineyards for lunch, all of which we left for various reasons, so we were pleased to find that at Unison we were made welcome. The entrance is unassuming and the dining area is hidden behind the winery, but although without any view, it is pleasant and unpretentious. Service was good,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richard F
Olivia N, Manager at Unwined Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Richard, Thank you for your kind words, and we are thrilled to hear you were made to feel comfortable in our Cafe. We hope you see you again soon! More 

Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016

Went for lunch with friends, enjoyed the location, good food nothing to outstanding, good price. Located on the wine trail.

Helpful?
Thank vikj0n
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2016

Went there for lunch with our grandchildren. We ordered a Cheese platter which we have had before but today it was very very disappointing . We were served by a waitress who couldn't really understand English . Compared to other places , for the price it was a rip off. The platter consisted of 2 small pieces of Camembert which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank anstisteam
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

I feel bad writing a poor review of the place as the waitstaff do seem lovely and I am sure it is a struggle to maintain a catering service for a small winery, but I honestly feel let down by the experience. There is no atmosphere to speak of at the cafe, the menu is limited and uninspiring, whilst not... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank HBmun
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

Worst ever. Avoid at all costs unless you want over priced, mediocre food from very rude staff and a wait of nearly 2 hours. This experience ruined our whole day as we ran out of time to visit other wineries. No sympathy from the staff to our situation and no warning we were in for such an exorbitant wait! Our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lexicom-toni

Travellers who viewed Unwined Cafe also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Unwined Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$11 - US$20
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, European
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 17:00
Thursday
10:00 - 17:00
Friday
10:00 - 17:00
Saturday
10:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unison Vineyard | 2163 State Highway 50, Hastings 4715, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Hawke's Bay Region  >  Hastings
  • Phone Number: +64 6-879 7913
Description
Family friendly Winery Cafe at the heart of the GIMBLETT GRAVELS wine district. Open for breakfast/brunch, lunch, dinner (Fri & Sat), platters, selection of home made cakes/slices, coffee/Tea. Winery tours available and bike hire. Free Wi-Fi. All freshly made from local produce, served with hand crafted wines from boutique winery Unison Vineyard

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Unwined Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?