We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lion & Lamb

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stortford Road, Little Canfield CM6 1SR, England
+44 1279 870257
Website
Today
11:00 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Sat 11:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 228: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I stopped here on our way through to Suffolk. Nice cute pub, but food leaves a lot to be desired. Despite being one of two couples in the pub we had a wait for a food. I had the fish and chips and my partner had the burger. My fish looked the part but was a bit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jafa312
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

have just recently moved into the area and could not wait to try our new local - we were greeted by friendly staff and management - Kat introduced herself and had time to let us know about the pub and her experience - very refreshing - a lovely village local with food to die for - well cooked , well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan W
lindawilk, Manager at Lion & Lamb, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback, Siobhan. Glad you're enjoying your new local & look forward to seeing you again! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelling on the bleak A120 on a Bank Holiday Monday we deliberately turned off to follow the parallel B1256 so that we could look for somewhere for a late-ish lunch. We soon came across the Lion and Lamb, where we had no problem finding a table in the bar area. We ordered what we thought would be light snacks. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrAndrewHaynes
lindawilk, Manager at Lion & Lamb, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for your wait, it was a busy day for us; very glad you enjoyed your lunch! More 

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got to the pub at 7 o'clock and our drinks order taken straight away. Half an hour later I had to go to the bar to ask for our order to be taken! We were the only people in the restaurant. The waitress comes over takes our order and asks if we'd like some complimentary starters for the wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
lindawilk, Owner at Lion & Lamb, responded to this review

We apologize for the delay in your order being taken, the waitress had forgotten you were waiting to order. She had apologized to you at the time & tried to make amends by offering you a complimentary starter, which we we hope you enjoyed. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy the lamb & the steak & found them not... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Starting with the drinks, £9 for a bottled cider and a Diet Pepsi?! Really?? Serious overcharge there. Our group sat down for our meal and the orders promptly taken. When the food did arrive, it wasn't the best quality. Two had fish and chips; of which the fish was barely cooked, and the chips had been re-fried and were hard.... More 

Helpful?
Thank james s
lindawilk, Manager at Lion & Lamb, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I would like to apologize that you didn't find your most recent visit to us was up to our usual high standard. Sorry that you found the cost of our beverages to be over priced - the cider ordered was a large bottle of Rekorderlig & a pint of Diet Pepsi, at £ 8.95, that... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

Lovely meal in lovely setting, great staff so glad we found this rather than a chain pub/restaurant at the airport.

Helpful?
Thank James P
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately very disappointed by my recent meal here and on this occasion I felt that the prices charged were not representative of the quality of the meals we received. The starters were good but mains not so! The steak I had was overcooked and bland, with an accompanying sauce that was watery and tasteless. The chips were also overcooked. All... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ChiliPepper3
lindawilk, Manager at Lion & Lamb, responded to this review

Sorry that on this occasions, your food was not cooked to your liking - if this is brought to our attention at the time we will always replace the meal with a fresh one. It sounds as though you have been here before so you will know this is not up to our usual standard. We hope you will visit... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

The lion & Lamb is a local pub to us but regardless, if it wasn't up to scratch I'd say so. The food is excellent, Sunday lunches are top notch. If you really fancy an indulgent treat then try the lasagne, it's nearly as good as my own(!). The staff are friendly and there's really no reason not to try... More 

Helpful?
Thank goodchis
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

First time here and it didnt disapoint. Food was lovely with huge portions and choice. Chairs could be a bit more comfortable but thats my only gripe. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Roch69
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We stayed locally prior to flying to Greece , we walked up the road to the local pub, the owner was very helpful and the food great , if a little overpriced, the atmosphere was great . The staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs

Helpful?
Thank AnthonypJ1105GU

Travellers who viewed Lion & Lamb also viewed

 

Been to Lion & Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$9 - US$39
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 23:00
Monday
11:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 23:00
Thursday
11:00 - 23:00
Friday
11:00 - 23:00
Saturday
11:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stortford Road, Little Canfield CM6 1SR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Little Canfield
  • Phone Number: +44 1279 870257

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Lion & Lamb and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Braintree, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lion & Lamb staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?